We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Nearby Hotels
Sunshine Suites Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$263
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$412
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$231
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
$300
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas of the Galleon(Seven Mile Beach)
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa(Seven Mile Beach)
$467
$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$784
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,236)
Filter reviews
3,236 results
Traveler rating
2,479
469
191
60
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,479
469
191
60
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar jackthe ritzclub levelbeach sideresort viewgrand caymanocean frontsushi restauranttasting menusteam roomresort feefour seasonsfront rowrum punchpaddle boardsfitness centerbeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
2,907 - 2,912 of 3,236 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2008

Just returned from a 5-night stay. Seven Mile Beach is the most beautiful stretch of beach in Grand Cayman (IMHO) and the Ritz is well positioned - further south, it gets a bit rocky, and further north, it gets almost desolate. Service was great - most notable were the stellar staff/management members we repeatedly encountered during our stay, who were the ideal level of attentive, helpful, and friendly. Arjun (sp?) who manages the bar and other areas was so great and professional and snuck us vanilla ice cream into the bar on late nights for our affogato; Brian at the bar gave us great restaurant tips; Phillip at concierge gave us great directions on sights around the island; and Robert on the beach who set up our beach chairs was professional and always steered us toward the best chairs/areas.

I highly recommend the ocean view rooms, the extra $$ was worth it. The views are gorgeous and you're conveniently located by the beach and ocean-side pool (the "resort" side of the Ritz is across the street from the beach (although connected to the beach side by hallway)). If you want to snorkel, jet ski, or engage in other water sports the Red Sail outpost is at the Westin just two resorts up (5 min. walk); if you want to rent a car, Avis is located on the 5th floor at the Ritz. Everything was very conveniently arranged.

If you play tennis and want to take lessons the pros (most of them German) are jovial and great hitters, and the clay courts are well kept.

As for the food, the resort fare is definitely decent - the food at the beach (from Bar Jack) is solid and Periwinkle has good dinner. The buffet breakfast for $24 C.I. ($30 US) seemed steep after a couple mornings, so we walked to a nearby cafe (Azzurro - best lattes) our last few days. Food overall on the island was pretty expensive but that's no surprise.

I wouldn't pay upwards of $1000+ during peak season but going just before that at a much reduced rate was the perfect caribbean vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank califoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

We had a great time at this property, in large part due to a great time of year to visit.

We booked the Reconnect Package, which included the breakfast buffet each day (delicious), and a $100 resort credit per day.

High Points:

1. Rooms
2. Wonderful service
3. Beautiful public areas, particularly the lounge
4. Pristine beach

Low Points:

1. Prices of everything (particularly alcohol) really high on the island
2. Too many rows of beach chairs on the beach
3. The fact that the resort review rooms, lobby, and most restaurants were not on the beach, and were across the street connected by a 10-minute "gallery"

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelgirlLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

This place has it all. We have been there twice and have loved it on both occasions. Whether you are looking to spend your entire stay at the beach, or looking for an active vacation, you will not regret it. Perhaps the most accommodating, qualified, friendly, solicitous staff I have ever encountered in a hotel. The pool is stunning. The beach is amazing. I love their cabana and canopy beds! The rooms are nice, spacious, with good views, comfortable furniture, and are superbly maintained. The tennis center is top-notch. The food, while sometimes a little pretentious for a resort restaurant, is good and offers enough diversity that you can actually eat on the resort for a few days without having to repeat any of the experiences.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Nabok_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

My wife and I had been to the Cayman Islands two times prior to this trip and we love the place. We got engaged here last year and knew we wanted to return for our Honeymoon. We wanted to go first class for this once in a lifetime trip. The Ritz did not disappoint. Our entire stay was awesome! We went in the middle of November and the resort as a whole was not very busy.

The first thing we noticed about the Ritz is the service. Their entire staff is just outstanding. They knew who we were the whole time and eveyone kept congratulating us. They go over and above at every corner: a towel like cover of the beach chairs, free tastings served around the pool, staff who come by and clean your sunglasses, and on and on. Every single person was great.

The room was very nice although not overly big. It was very clean and they kept everything tidy on a daily basis. We especially liked the turn down service when they put a bucket of ice with bottles of water in your room. Things like that went a long way.

We were upgraded to the Club Lounge, which served food and drinks (alcoholic) all day, complimentary. We were not sure of the cost it would take to upgrade to this level again, but we are sure it would be worth it. The staff in the Club Lounge was awesome. They knew us as newlyweds right away and kept asking us how things were. The food quality and presentation was awesome and they changed it up daily. There were five servings of food (breakfast, lunch, afternoon snacks, appetizers at dinner and finally desserts). We made meals of this for breakfast and lunch everyday and then had pre-dinner snacks in the evening. The drinks available are good and the wine is quality. Again, if you plan to stay here and eat at the resort, it is worth upgrading.

The resort restaurants are good although very expensive (as you would expect at the Ritz). You cannot go wrong with any of them.

The spa is amazing. We had an hour massage each and they were awesome. After our massage, we were taken to a little area with rose petals and champaigne. The place is really cool and the locker rooms are wonderful (steam, sauna and whirlpool). We had access to this area and went down several times.

The pool and beach areas are really nice. The staff was always checking on us. We had a few drinks which were good a couple of times but they are pricy!

If you have not been to the Caymans, you should check out the little town. It is nice, clean and has some decent shopping. We have eaten out on past trips so we stayed close but some decent places all over. Our favorite bar (probably my favorite in the whole world) is My Bar at the Sunset House. The place is perfect for watching the sunsets and having a few drinks.

The only true negative is the cost but we certainly got our money's worth. I would highly recommend the Ritz (ESPECIALLY FOR A HONEYMOON) and I am sure it will not be our last stay there.

Safe and fun travels to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RandEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Excellent food, upscale service, great beach, staff extremely friendly and service 24/7, great pool as well

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 061864la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews