We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the RITZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Bowie, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's the RITZ”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We recently spent three nights here at the Ritz. The hotel is fantastic, as are the amenities. The staff is very pleasant. The 3 o'clock ice cream is still going on, which was a nice treat in the heat. The food is good but pricey of course. We ended up going to the local grocery store to stock up on snacks, sodas, and lunches. We walked a few minutes down the road for two fantastic dinners that were much more affordable. Felt safe walking on the street. Would go back!

Room Tip: Have to splurge for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubbaBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,215
    431
    172
    52
    32
See reviews for
935
1,232
46
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We didn't actually stay here, but visited it and took a pic from the beach (uploaded). Very beautiful hotel in a perfect location on the beach! There are also a few very nice restaurants inside the hotel, we both enjoyed the jerk chicken at Seven.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank korelinlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz May 13, 2013-May 19, 2013. It was not crowded AT ALL at this time. (They told us it was their low season.) We never had any problem finding chairs or umbrellas at the beach or pool at any time of day as mentioned by previous reviewers. This is a really beautiful property. The grounds and rooms are immaculate. They provided rum punch and cookies at check-in, free wifi, free bottled water in the rooms, housekeeping twice daily, free ice cream at the pool around 3, plus fresh fruit and slushies at the pool at random times. The bed was comfortable, beachfront room was immaculate. We stayed in 719. The balcony was a nice place to watch the sunset. My only complaint was that it was REALLY spread out. Half of the hotel is on the beach, a covered walkway spans the road, and the other half sits across the road, opposite of the ocean. If you want free coffee in the morning or need to speak with the concierge about booking excursions and are staying oceanside, be prepared to hike. The poolside restaurant, BarJack, was a little pricey, but the food was great.... the best poolside restaurant I've ever experienced. We enjoyed the local beer, White Tip. The other restaurants in the hotel were over the top expensive. We did end up walking just down the street to Cooper Falls Steakhouse (fantastic!), Eduardo's (ok), Sunshine Cafe (Great!) Lone Star Bar and Grill (good), and Decker's (awesome). There is also a grocery store and liquor store within walking distance. We did the snorkel/Sting Ray City/catamaran tour with Sunrays Tours and it was outstanding. There did seem to be a lot of young kids here, which annoyed us only because we are used to visiting adults-only all-inclusives. It did result in the pool being closed one day for an "incident". There is a "quiet pool" on the property (non-beach side) that was supposed to be for adults only but we saw children there every day and didn't want to walk all the way over there anyway. We did use the free paddle boards which was fun. They also have sailing lessons, snorkeling, and kayaks included in your $50/day resort fee. Beach is beautiful and clean. Water is clear and floating tables/rafts are fun. The spa is beautiful but overpriced. There are a few free exercise classes included in the resort fee and the workout room was impressive. The kids program was pricey, but looked really incredible. The staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive.

Room Tip: You need to get AT LEAST an ocean view, ocean front if you can swing it. Upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ignore any negative reviews about this hotel. It is EXCELLENT and what makes it excellent are their terrific employees who cater to your every need. WE were upgraded to a Blue Tip Suite, don't know why but I didn't care to ask. The suite was beautiful. Housekeeping twice per day were great.Best bunch of housekeepers I have ever encountered. Our suite couldn't have been taken care of any better then they did. We called every day and requested specific times when to do our suite and it was done when we wanted. All you have to do is ask and it's done. There was just way too much excellence to list here. The bottom line we were treated like royalty. One of our finest hotel experiences of our lives.
! thing I do need to add, Periwinkles staff and food is the very best. Make sure you go there. At 530pm every day they feed the tarpons, it is something you don't want to miss.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slicerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend the Ritz Grand Cayman to anyone who wants top-notch hospitality experience. The hospitality started the moment we walked out of the taxi and didn't stop during our five day stay. Staff is uniformly gracious, accomodating and pleasant at every turn. Comp upgrade to a suite was an excellent plus. Is it inexpensive? Definitely not, but you get what you pay for. Pool area is beautiful and has plenty of staff to take care of you. Restaurants are very good, although I could not justify eating at Blue (>$600 per couple is just not worth it). DJ on Friday night was a lot of fun. If you are thinking about booking the Ritz, go for it. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I will try to be concise in this review as there are way too many positive things to say. First, this should easily be #1, only reason it isn't is because of stats ( number of reviews for #1-which is really a lovely CONDO bldg,VERY important difference ). There are rooms on beachside, with amazing views. Hotel on other side of road, not far, no ocean view but lovely ). I've Stayed both sides, prefer Oceanside. If you want to go all out, there is a center two bedroom suite, dining room, kitchen, living room, 2 1/2 baths. Staff will grocery shop for you! That stay was a special occasion and I will say the regular, non beach rooms are beautifully appointed. I would highly recommend upgrading to " club level" breakfasts , lunches and munchies and drinks pay for the upgrade 20x over cost! Also, pay extra for private boat, leave as early as possible for tour, stingray city, other parts of island etc We were lucky enough to reach stingray city before ANYONE. Also, never book any boat trip on days that cruises come in-way too crowded. Spa is world class , excellent restaurants, top conceirge service. If you are traveling with family and want a long stay, consider the Ritz Condos which are beachside for the most part. 24 hour room service, car service, private dining options, amenities galore including Jaques Cousteau Ritz Kids Program-this is number 1 hotel by far in all Cayman! ( I've stayed at 6 other places, been back only to this one, year after year).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefintraining4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I'll start off by saying that I have stayed in hotels all over the world and the quality of service that my fiance and I received at the Ritz GC was beyond what I have experienced previously. We stayed 10 nights at the beginning of May.

The day before we were due to arrive I received a phone call from the Ritz asking if I had any queries or requests. After getting over the shock of a hotel calling ahead to ask and confirm with me (rather than the other way around {insert the Waldorf Astoria NYC}) I said there was nothing as I had been to the island a number of times previously. I was also asked if there was a special occasion, which it was, and we said goodday.

Upon Check-in the next day the front door staff, including Pepe, was very pleasant and helpful. We were upgraded to a suite in the private residence tower on the north side on seven mile and escorted to our room by the lady that had called the previous day. All-in-all it was a very smooth and enjoyable check-in experience. Our bags were delivered very quickly to the room although we saw many people in large groups check-in throughout our stay. With a larger number of bags to move and process I can imagine you could wait some time for your bags.

We found the concierge in the north tower and main lobby to be extremely helpful and willing to help even if we didn't ask for it. One evening the power went out so we decided to get out to a liquor store to get some wine. Unfortunately the liquor store on the island close at 7pm for the most part so the concierge called Jorge to come over and drive us to Treasure Island as they had a store that was still open. Again, we were capable of getting a bus or taxi but they insisted (without charge) on driving us. From booking/cancelling reservations at restaurants, to getting general advice, to just sitting and having a chat, they were wonderful.

One thing I would note is that the prices at the Ritz are extraordinarily high. Case and Point: a coffee mug in the Cupboard at the Ritz cost about 25% more than the same mug at the Redsail store in the Westin, just 2 doors up the beach. This is a general trend throughout the hotel. Where some things are 'worth it', others just are not - plain and simple. Fosters is about a 5 minute walk and is great for getting snacks or even a salad bar lunch to take to the pool or beach. The Sunshine Grille has great fish tacos, and is a couple of minutes walk. Eats was OK, nothing special. Eduardos is an Italian about 5 mins walk south and was decent. If you have a wheat and gluten allergy then you will find most places are very accommodating.

The fitness centre would rival a small public gym. It is very well equiped and tends to be busy after it opens at 8am and slower late afternoon until the 5pm yoga class. Also, if you plan on running in the morning then take advantage of the towels and water at the front door (until 10am).

I read many complaints about the 'long walk' across the bridge if you are on the east side of the resort. Well, I walked across the bridge every morning to get coffee and it is not a chore.

If you plan on snorkelling take a walk up past the Westin to Governors Beach and head about 100-200m out for some better sealife. Cemetary reef is also a good place to float around.

All-in-all this was a very good experience. I was aware of the costs going in so it was no surprise but if you are not planning ahead or aware of such things as the $50/day resort fee then you might get a shock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing