We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cayman Cookout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
347 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Cayman Cookout”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I visit the Ritz in Grand Cayman for the Cayman Cookout this Jan 17th- 20th, the hotel service and staff was great as usual, but the food and wine program with Anthony Bourdain,Eric Ripert as well as many other chef was out of this world. The presentatons, made it the place to be in Janaury for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean front phacing the the pool and beach is a must, 4th floor or hight even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,152
    426
    171
    51
    33
See reviews for
905
1,201
46
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for a seminar that my husband was attending. The staff service was impecable. The hotel is split between two areas with a road running in between. We were booked into the "cheap" rooms on the other side of road which required somewhat of a hike to the beach. Shops and restaurants are dispersed throughout the hotel and somewhat difficult to find. It is very hard to find restaurant menus with prices attached. The concierge staff maintained somewhat of a haughty attitude.

The day to day staff and large amenity filled rooms makes a significant difference. A spa appointment was lovely but a bit over-staffed - in other words every time I turned around someone was in my space. Lastly, the infrastructure is getting a bit worn. Hallway carpets were a bit dirty and starting to fray, not a good sign for a first class hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is our third time visiting the Ritz on Grand Cayman, and we are sure to return again, soon. The service is amazing; the staff can't do enough to make you happy, from the reception and guest services personnel, to the housekeeping staff, to the pool attendants. Granted, the rates are high (but everything is expensive on Grand Cayman), I feel it is totally worth it.

Room Tip: Would book a resort side room, and usually a good chance to be upgraded (if you are paying full pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This Ritz did not disappoint - flawless service - great beach and a staff that really likes what they do! Smiling faces and a can do attitude are just what you would expect and get. Rooms are elegant and understated. Housekeeping was excellent - five stars for that and I am really picky being in the business. Would be a perfect family vacation spot as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Service here is great. Room was very nice. Beach nice but a bit tightly packed with all the chairs. Blue restaurant tasting menu fantastic.
Not much golf on the island but beaches, water and diving are world class. Free ice cream in the afternoon by the pool and cranberry juoce deleived to your beach lounge chair are nice touches.
Prices are through the roof but you won't find a better place in Grand Cayman.

Room Tip: Oceanfront tower is best bet if you are planning on beaching it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I went there in October 2012 for our honeymoon. The service, food and beach are outstanding! I highy reccomend the blackend mahi tacos from Bar Jack by the pool. The drinks and food are expensive but well worth it. Outside of the Ritz I reccomend Eats Cafe for breakfast and Calypso for dinner. Only neg was the room was $450us per night. When you add all the taxes and other fees, its more like $600us. Other than that place is awesome and cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: I reccomend the ocean front view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brent a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our family stayed at this property Jan14-19 after spending a few nights next door at the Westin (reviewed separately). While the Westin was nice, there's really no comparison between the two (but to be fair, that goes for the room rate as well, which was at least double at the Ritz). To describe this hotel in a word: "incredible"! As another recent reviewer so aptly put it: "you get what you pay for".
The positive mojo started right away, when at check-in the pleasant front desk lady upgraded us to an oceanfront room. She, and every other staff member we encountered, were so genuinely friendly and helpful. They all knew our names within a day. Special thanks for extraordinary service goes to Davinda (Dave) at Periwinkles (delicious italian, open air restaurant at the resort side of the hotel). He seemed to be able to read our kids' minds, serving them their favorite appetizers and desserts even before we thought to order them. Also, Jordan and Megan at the beach house for helping us with towels, snorkel equipment and little tips and recommendations. Danny, who always set up our beach chairs with a smile on his face. and Nick, the amazing beach/pool server who was always around when we needed him and quick with another tasty cocktail.
The resort is huge, almost overwhelming, and trekking from the ocean side to the resort side multiple times each day ensures you get your exercise. I can see where some may find that unappealing.
There's no getting around the high cost associated with this resort. But so much is included in the price that it was refreshing not feeling like we were being nickel and dimed, as we felt at other places. examples: each beach lounger comes with it's own shade umbrella (extra cost at the Westin). All nonmotorized water equipment (snorkel gear, paddle boards, kayaks, hobie cats) are included (extra cost at the Westin). You take what towels you need and don't worry about leaving one behind at your chair (Westin gives you the ridiculous towel cards and is strict with them).
As amazing as the resort is, the beach is still the big seller here: White, sugar-like sand. Clear, turgoise water. Absolutely perfect! (except the last two days of our stay when on off-shore storm caused the calm waters to get angry. We tried riding those waves and the coral that had been kicked up did a number on our feet and legs). Additionally, when there are no waves (which is the norm), the Ritz puts five shaded water loungers/tables in the water off their beach where your group can sit around a table, in the water together. (very popular and a nice touch).
It's hard to think of anything negative to write about this place (except wishing the price was more palatable). If you're looking for seclusion, you're not going to find much of it here. This place is big, it's posh and polished, it's dramatic. There's nothing subtle here. Despite its sophistication though, it's still very family and kid friendly.
We've been fortunate to have visited many beautiful resorts around the world and I place this one at or near the very top. For our next Caribbean vacation, we'll likely pick something less developed, but that's only because we only get down there once or twice a year and like to vary our experiences. We'd highly recommend this resort to anyone and hope to visit it again someday.

Room Tip: Ocean front room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomandMichK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1209, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman, a luxury two-tower resort on Grand Cayman in the Cayman Islands. Here, sparkling blue waters blend seamlessly with the sand and sky to create your perfect Caribbean oasis. Located on an archipelago of three picturesque islands, our Cayman Islands resort hotel offers a breathtaking location unlike anywhere else on earth. From the white sands of Seven Mile Beach to world-renowned restaurants including Blue, by renowned seafood chef Eric Ripert, The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman luxury resort offers guests an unforgettable escape from the everyday. With a resort side including resort and garden view rooms and an ocean side for ocean view rooms the property runs from sound to sea. Residential towers are located on the ocean side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, TravelUp, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Ritz Carlton
Ritz Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing