We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and Service Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taikun

Taikun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Food and Service Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had a lovely dinner with my other half and a good friend last week. We ate at the sushi bar which was great under the circumstances as the restaurant was packed with families for President's Week. Despite the number of people, we were served on a timely basis by delightful, professional chefs and servers. The local fish thinly sliced with ponzi was delightful. Their soup is great and all three of us had sushi (no rolls for us although despite the heavy demand, the rolls did look delicious and the presentation was awesome). The chefs are fantastic and it is the in my mind the best sushi on the island by a long shot. Thanks to the chefs and to Anna, Marie Therese, Keisha and of course, especially Carina!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Retrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
560 reviews
473 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Very nice place to have a dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

The service was absolutely superb, with all the possible attention. We had a Hamacki tartar, tuna tataki, spider maki, shashimis, and we chose a silver oak cabernet sauvignon from alexander valley. For the desserts we chose mochis and a kind of ginger genoise. Very romantic atmosphere, very quiet, in front of a bar where a few people were having a drink.
We enjoyed very much everything and we recommend this restaurant to anybody who wants to have nice Japanese food in a quiet atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyler
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good sushi, great saki & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very good sushi, but great service & great saki. Kind of incorporated into bar. Will definitely return

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Much improved over 3 years ago, but still has a ways to go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We thought we would give Taikun another try as the reviews have been getting better. Yes, the fish is sublime. The rice is finally acceptable and there is much more creativity in the menu. We had the omakase dinner and were very pleased. However, even with the huge assortment of sakes available only one server was well versed in sake. The same went for the whole menu. There is one very long table in the center of the room and unfortunately there was a very boisterous group sitting at it which definitely detracted from our experience.

Helpful?
Thank maxiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“I'm confused!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I love this Ritz-Carlton, I adore Blue, and the amazing assortment of terrific restaurants is the reason we keep going back to Grand Cayman - but the praise for Taikun mystifies me. It's not that it's bad, but in comparison to what's readily available nearby, I don't recommend wasting the evening. The room is pretty and the fish is fresh, and I suppose if you ordinarily go to places where they don't grate fresh wasabi, that aspect can be a treat (remember, never mix fresh wasabi in your soy, place a little directly on the fish, then dip - soaking real grated wasabi in soy completely ruins the fresh flavor). But there's nothing very interesting about the menu, the execution of the sushi isn't great (o.k., but not great), the servers are very pleasant, but not very well trained (they know surprisingly little about what they're serving) and if you DO have access to a great sushi restaurant at home (or elsewhere), Taikun is going to be a disappointment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LSS100NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taikun also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Taikun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing