We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and very friendly”
Review of Southern Spice

Southern Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Southern Spice Indian Restaurant definitely means taste, flavor, affection, pleasure, delight, happiness, charm, sentiment, pathos, beauty and essence of Indian Cuisine.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good and very friendly”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went for dinner. I found out at the end of our dinner that they will pick you up/drop you off so call ahead if you are interested.

We had a couple of appetizers (Vindaloo Shrimp and Lamb Samosa) - both very good. Entrees were also very good (Butter Chicken, Chicken Tikka Masala and Paneer Butter Masala).

They were also giving you a free beer or 2-for-1 glass of wine with your entree (and they gave me another glass on the house).

The team is incredibly friendly, seemed very thankful that we were their (it was about 25% full on a Tuesday night).

All in all - a very nice experience. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mciesemier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    59
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best Indian food ever”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I like hot spice but traditional foods, and Southern spice has it all, good sized restaurant, reasonably priced and great service

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaveH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Indian in Caribbean”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We tried this place and really enjoyed the food. Located in a strip mall on the main drag, it was a it of a walk from the Marriott. Good selection of traditional dishes. The appetizer Combo Platter Two was a good choice to start for 4 People. Chicken Tikki Masala, Lamb Biryani and Peshawari Naan were all great. Portions of main dishes were really enough for two people. Very good service from the staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neighbour_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian food we ever ate!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We love good Indian food but it's hard to find. When we ate at Soutern Spice we hoped that the reviews were telling it like it is and they were! Fantastic food at very reasonable prices with a very nice atmosphere. We started with wine and the Wine List had good selections with decent prices. The owner brought a small appetizer, marinated chick peas which was gratis and it was delicious! We ordered Naan bread, Truffle and the other, Goat cheese with chili's and cilantro which came with our dinner. The best Naan we have ever eaten! If you go there, definitely order the Truffle and go for the Goat cheese naan also!
The main courses were Chicken Tikka Masala and Lamb with Mango sauce. Both were prepared perfectly and could not be fresher! We could not get enough of the fantastic taste of the entree's we ordered. The rice was perfect also. The owner and staff were so willing to help and very pleasant to deal with. We wanted to go back and try something else on the menu but did not get to. We will most definitely be going again in the future though! Thanks to a wonderful chef and owner for a great meal that exceeded our expectations!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbgarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mmmmm good!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was so delicious we went twice. The service is excellent and the food is worth the two mile walk (one way) from our hotel. Though it's not what you thought you'd eat on an island - I highly recommend this one. It's also very close to where the cruise ships let out if you are taking a ship to Grand Cayman.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beckamgop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Spice also viewed

East End, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Southern Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing