We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time!!!”

Carib Select Watersports & Photos
Ranked #21 of 29 Tours in Seven Mile Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carib Select Watersports specializes in guided Stingray City tours with professional photographers who capture every moment of your adventure!Gain a Caribbean perspective and feel the island through your soul while experiencing a fun-filled day of snorkeling and history all captured with beautiful photos. Take home more than memories. Take home a piece of The Cayman Islands.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
“We had a great time!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed this excursion! The photographer and the captain on the boat were very friendly and helpful to those who needed it for example life jackets, snorkeling gear, children, and they provided light refreshments. They allowed everyone enough time to take pictures and touch the stingrays. The photographer Krista did a great job taking photos especially one of my husband french kissing a stingray!!! It was great, we felt very comfortable and safe the whole time. We made it back to the port with plenty of time left to get back to our ship. The price of the trip and pictures were a great deal! I defenitely recommend Carib Select Watersports.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gloria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    6
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value - Needs some Refinement”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We (wife, daughter & family) had a great time "visiting" with the Stingrays and then snorkeling. The price for a 3 hour tour was definitely a bargain. The guide was excellent and the boat captain was very entertaining and good with the stingrays.The pictures were expensive but there was no pressure to buy and they did allow you to take your own pictures. I would suggest they start the tour earlier. On our trip the other boat broke down and we had a lot of people on our boat, this made the picture taking with the stingrays last longer than usual and we almost missed our tender back to the cruise ship. If they start earlier there would be room for unforeseen events.
Overall I wouls recommend Carib and use them again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hankp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best way to see sting rays - beware of photo prices!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Well first off, Ementina was a joy to speak to in order to book our trip, we had very limited time in grand cayman because we were a group of 9 people on a cruise who wanted to do it all! Ementina helped coordinate everything in a way that worked like clockwork!

The sting rays were beyond amazing and a definite recommendation if you’re ever visiting grand cayman! Booking private tour like this meant that all 9 of us got to hold, pet and kiss Cassandra (a very particularly amazing sting ray!) as opposed to other tours we could see where people were just looking! Krista our guide was lovely and our captain Ottis was quite a character! They both made our day there fantastic with fun facts and jokes and the works!

The only complaint I have is that we were somewhat convinced out of taking our own underwater photos since Krista had her own underwater camera, but then were charged $25 per person ($225 total!) to get the photos on a CD! They were very good photos, far better than we would have captured on our disposable cameras and this is actually on their website, but at the time we thought it was a favour. I suppose its not really their fault but we still would have liked to be informed straight up that it would cost that much and not after we had taken no photos of our own!

All in all, I definitely think this is the best way to see the sting rays!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beware of over charge for their digital photos taken on adventure be prepared to pay at least over 150 for 20 pictures”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The people make the adventure fun but it is a cover up of what is to come. That is they will milk you for the photos taken of you swimming with the stingrays for less than one minute. You will think you had a good time but they want way too much money for taking those photos. Negotiate your price. I have seen people pay different price for the same quantities of photos. They will start with an usual high price of $200. Then it will drop to $120. You will then think you got a deal. It is not a deal when it is just photos on a cd. Do the math. Imagine we all pay their price they would have made a killing selling digital photos which you know cost next to nothing. Bottomline DO Not buy in to their sale pitch. It is the Carib way of doing business.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank TT-Mississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great adventure and friendly Captain and staff”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

One of the only tours to Stingray City with so few people on boat and such a good price. The first mate even dove for a conch, cleaned it up and cut it up for us. It was great!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanaK995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carib Select Watersports & Photos also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Carib Select Watersports & Photos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing