We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“perfect property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pearland, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“perfect property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel has so many positives!

1. Ideal location on seven mile beach as it is midway and so you can walk to so many restaurants.
2. Rooms are ideal for families. The kitchenette is so useful to save some money as Grand Cayman restaurants are so expensive. We had a one bedroom with full balcony on 5th floor which had a great view and updated.
3. The beach is perfect. Relatively quiet as hotel is small.
4. Staff are fabulous. Very helpful in all aspects.
5. Pools are very kid friendly.
6. Hemmingway's restaurant is very picturesque.

A few weaknesses:
1. Pool bar was closed many times even when not raining
2. they have no areas around pool to enjoy your own food if wanted. Now I understand that most of the area needs to be saved for people eating at hotel restaurants, but a small area would be nice.
3. There is construction next door, but it was relatively quiet the weak we were there. If a great concern, book room with full balcony as opposed to walk out french balcony as the full balcony rooms are further away from noise.
4. They have DVD player in room but minimal DVDs to rent. I think it would be nice if they offered larger selection.

Overall, I feel one of the best on island. Ritz is of course more 5 star, but it is quite large. I really liked the small boutique feel of this property.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom rooms with full balcony on the 5th floor are fabulous. Also away from the constructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texantraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    314
    80
    25
    15
See reviews for
389
410
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having never visited the Cayman islands I was initially lost on where to stay for my vacation. I had used Tripadvisor to get some help from the other travelers. I ended up selecting the Grand Cayman Beach suites. The hotel use to be the Grand Hyatt. It is a bit old but the rooms are very spacious and very well maintained. The bed sheets are always clean and well kept by housekeeping which is very important to my wife and I. The staff is friendly and there is a Red Sail water sport office to setup dives and other activities. Other than the dated décor the room is very nice. I ended up paying for a balcony room with a beach view and it was great as it overlooks the pool, beach, and the ocean.

Net, the Grand Cayman Beach suite is a very good hotel if you do not plan to spend most of your time there. The restaurant, bar, and pool was very quite (maybe due to low season??). One observation is that the beach bar drinks are not very strong (actually light on the alcohol). The food was OK and there are other restaurants close by. If you are looking for a value priced hotel this is excellent. If you want all of the five star amenities then the Ritz Carlton down the road would be a better choice.

Room Tip: The beach view balcony suites in the center of the hotel are the way to go for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 610alexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noble, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

When they say "ocean view" and "beach front" they aren't kidding. Our room was on the second floor and outside our patio doors was an absolute beautiful view of the pool area and then the beach beyond. The bedroom was perfect and completely separate from the living area. There was plenty of storage with one closet in the bedroom and one in the hallway. There was a 28" or so tv in the bedroom. The bed and pillows were so comfortable! The bathroom was spacious with a garden tub that we never took time to use but other people might. The bathroom had double sinks, a hair dryer and two lightweight robes. The living area was very comfortable with a couch, a chair and ottoman, a desk and a 37" tv. The kitchenette had it's own table and 2 chairs and contained a microwave, mini fridge, bagel toaster, coffee maker, cups, dishes etc. Housekeeping service was like magic - we never lacked for anything. The hotel staff referred to us by name and were all so friendly and helpful that I felt like they were friends. The beach is perfect white sand and very comfortable beach chairs with adjustable awnings. We did a lot of snorkeling right from our beach - it was beautiful. Over the week, we saw 3 turtles and a stingray plus thousands of tropical fish right off our own beach. We used the bus service up and down 7 Mile Beach and into Georgetown. It was very convenient and inexpensive. The hotel is within walking distance to the grocery store and several restaurants depending on your idea of walking distance. The restaurants closest to the hotel are expensive but very good. We ate at Deckers and Regazzi - both very good, but then we found Coconut Joe's down the street. Much more casual and affordable and we loved the food. We will definitely go back. We heard rumours while there that the GCBS is considering expanding and redoing the property. That would be a real shame because it is perfect the way it is now. Bigger is definitely not always better and this property proves that a hundred times over! The only downside, if there is a downside to GC, is that is more expensive than Mexico and there are no "all inclusive" options that I'm aware of. Groceries are higher, alcohol is higher, eating out is higher. We bought groceries the first day and ate breakfast and lunch in our room. I think we spent $60 on groceries that lasted through the week. We ate out for dinner. The first night, at Decker's, dinner was about $100. We had 2 entrees and each had a couple of drinks. Regazzi's was a little less, about $80. Then at Coconut Joe's, we had an appetizer, 2 entrees and 2 drinks and it was $50. So, you can alleviate some of the cost by not eating out every meal and then choosing your restaurants with a little more care than what's directly across the street. We will definitely go back to Grand Cayman. I hope the Beach Suites are still in tact as they are now because if so, we will stay there again. I can't say enough good things about our tour operator - H2O Watersports. Hopefully I can review them independtly of the hotel at some point but I'll give you a brief overview. They were cheaper than the other guys AND our group was a lot smaller. We saw tours with people packed on boats! Ours was not and was quite comfortable. Schester was awesome!!! I emailed them to book the trip and everything went perfectly according to plan. They knew it was our anniversary and had a bottle of wine and an anniversary card waiting for us on board! You just don't get that kind of thoughtful service too often!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the complex. They literally all face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karmin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is perfect for families. The rooms are large and provided plenty of room for our family of 4. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful in booking restaurant reservations and activities. The two pools and beach at the hotel have plenty of chairs - never had a problem getting four chairs at any time of day, during spring break. The food at the beach bar was tasty and not too expensive. The hotel is walking distance from many restaurants and the grocery store, so we didn't need to have a car to get around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

You are directly on seven mile beach. Plenty of beach chairs and pool chairs. Hemingway's restaurant faces the ocean and has great food. You can get food at the pool and plenty of refreshments. Walking distance to fosters IGA , liquor store across the street, watch the walkways, and local restaurants. The food on the island is very good. Food is a function of your billfold. Taxi service on the island is the best way to travel. Learn the routes and have CI 's ready. You can design your Grand Caymanian trip the way you desire. Ask the front desk and they are more than gracious to help you or give suggestions. The room is very nice and the beds are comfortable. Bring your sunscreen, a book, and enjoy Grand cayman.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Grand Caymen and had a hard time deciding were to stay.
We were very pleasantly suprised with how happy we were with our choice. Not as big as the Marriott or Ritz and we were glad. Much more relaxed. The rooms were great. Staff really nice. (thanks for the great recommendation for local restgurants Alison) Food was good.

Room Tip: the rooms with the full balconies face the ocean and have the best views. The higher up the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were delighted with our recent stay at Grand Cayman Beach Suites. Our room (which I think was advertised as "Ocean View"...it was room 8303...third floor room, don't know what the 8 designated) was a lovely suite with a kitchenette and deck overlooking the pool and the beach. Very nicely situated and well serviced. The location was splendid, both our room and the resort. Beach was superb!! Lots to do and very conveniently located. Hemingways Restaurant was excellent with great service and food and ambience! The Beach Bar serves great lunches and drinks...with very good prices and a delightful staff! And you can't beat the location!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have pretty good Caribbean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bern2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#4 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#2 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,343 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Beach Suites

Property: Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Address: Seven Mile Beach KY1-1101, Grand Cayman (Formerly Hyatt Beach Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Beach Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Cayman Beach Suites is the island's finest all-suites beach and golf resort. The 800 sq. ft. suites have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, famous Seven Mile beach and our uniquely designed swimming pools. The hotel resort offers exclusive facilities within the complex, 24/7 fitness center, deluxe European boutique spa, water sports facilities, on site dive center, catamaran trips and a Jack Nicklaus designed golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Cayman Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Hyatt Grand Cayman
Hyatt Regency Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman Beach Suites Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing