We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly atosphere right by the beach”
Review of Harbour Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour Heights
Certificate of Excellence
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly atosphere right by the beach”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at harbor heights during the low season so it was nice and quiet. the trade off however is the mosquitoes but this is something all over the island at this time of year. harbor heights a little piece of paradise. As most other places on seven mile beach have transformed into ugly 5 story skyscrapers harbor heights has remained a sweet little collection of apartments. the only thing huge here is the seance of community and charm. every one greets each other passing by and everyone congregates on the beach for the stunning sunsets each night. the lady at reception is incredibly helpful with all we needed. there is parking and a pool. but the beach is the best.
i recommend this place to anyone and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    28
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
108
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

THE ISLAND: This is our (myself and my beautiful wife) second visit to GCI but our daughters' first. We chose GCI not only because of its gorgeous beaches/weather but mostly because of its friendly and welcoming environment...very important when traveling with toddlers. We've been to several places but the Caymanians seem to be on top of our list for the "friendliest" people.

HARBOUR HEIGHTS: It was a tough decision between the hotels vs the condo but we are SO GLAD that we chose Harbour Heights. #6 condo is well decorated, fully furnished, and has the "inviting" and "homey" feel that we were looking for...the kids were not overwhelmed and adjusted fairly quickly. Happy + no crying kids = relaxed mommy & daddy :)

Condo PROS:
1. Extremely friendly and helpful staff members
2. Very Clean
3. Nice pool and superb beach
4. Privacy / not crowded
5. One block from the public park (great for kids)
6. Walking/short driving distance from groceries and restaurants

Add'l info:
1. Public transport is available but I suggest getting a rental car (if you don't mind roundabouts and driving on the left side).

We highly recommend HH #6. It's truly a R&R away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lem O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my first trip to Grand Cayman, and it was for a dive vacation for the men in the family - 5 of us. We wanted to save on food and didn't want two hotel rooms, so we went the condo route. Harbour Heights was a great choice. At least for me, but maybe for the other "4 star" ratings, it is simply based on the age of the property. It was a delightful place. Paula, the manager treated you like you lived there, and made you feel right at home - very helpful. You could throw a Frisbee from your balcony to the beach. We were there off season, so it felt like we had the place to ourselves. You can walk 200 yards up the beach to Calico Jack's for a beer, or fish and chips (which I would recommend.) Everything worked fine, good location, much quitter than staying right in Georgetown or the big hotels. Plenty of room. If you're there to have a good time make sure you ask to see "the closet" in the office. Would stay there again with family etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at unit 27 Harbour Heights May 22-26, 2013. The unit was very clean and comfortable, and had everything we, and our two grown kids, could want. The beach was stellar. I actually felt like we had it to ourselves most of the time. With just a little foot traffic going by and a few other guests, it was truly paradise. The owner, Stephen, was very easy to work with, and very prompt to answer any questions, as were the ladies in the office. We hope to come back very soon. It was exactly the peaceful, laid-back vacation my family needed. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drivingmsginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have visited this condo (#6! many times, I love it becasue they have so much original art of Cayman and it is well furnished. it also is an end unit, so you have extra light and air! It is just a tiny walk to the beach, and the views are fabulous from the balcony. The main reason to stay at Harbour Heights is the fabulous location, this wasone of the first properties and they chose e est part of
Seven Mile Beach to locate on. The water is deep within a few yards, you don't have to wade out and there is no turtle grass or coral to get through. There are ratrely ever more than ten people on the beach. In June we were the only ones for hours. Becasue one side is undeveloped, and the public beach is next door, you don't have Hotel Traffic. The Westin and Ritz beaches are lined edge to edge with chaises, and even if you are next door in a condo, the beach seems crowded. HH is sort of halfway between the Westin, and three other fun bars the other way are a short beach walk. This is great, you can have the quiet, but can get to the people watching (those Carnival Cruise ship people are a hoot!) and grab a cold beer or Rum Punch, or a lunch from one of the bars up toward West Bay without driving your car.

Room Tip: I can guarantee #6 is good, and we have over the years not been able to get that unit, and others we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chose Harbour Heights over the resorts on Seven Mile Beach because we didn't want the hassle and cost of staying at a resort. Our only requirements was being close to a nice beach and a full kitchen. We didn't expect the beach to be THAT nice. OMG. a 30 second walk from our doorstep, and were on a beautiful soft sand beach with crystal clear warm turquoise water. There were plenty of beach chairs that are provided by the condo complex and lots of beautiful natural shade from the trees on the beach. The trees were great because it seemed as if most of the other condos on 7MB didn't have much natural shade. There's also 4 cabanas that looked like they were great for families. The grounds were very well maintained and there wasn't too much "traffic" on the beach - just the occasional passerby and joggers.

Our unit was well appointed and well maintained. The decoration was lovely and felt like home. We especially loved the daily maid service. I didn't think we needed it at first, but with all the sand we'd bring in, it was really convenient. Even though we were the last unit on the row (furthest away from the beach) it didn't bother us. The entire complex isn't that big, and all the rooms have wonderful views of the ocean. I thought noisy kids would be an issue, but it really wasn't (at least while we were there). It's a very family friendly atmosphere.

I only had a few issues with the overall experience, but all were very very minor. That's why I gave it a 4 out of 5 instead of a perfect score. Our unit could use some updating. Not that it was in bad shape, but I think some minor renovation here and there would help. If it were me, I would update the bathrooms. Another slight issue was the use of the cabanas. People would hog them for the day. They'd get there early in the morning, and lay their towels down - not to show up until noon. Then they'd come and go as they please as if it were their property. The only reason why it wasn't an issue was because there was SO much natural shade that a cabana wasn't necessary.

We would definitely recommend renting a car. The closest grocery store is a bit of a hike. There's a restaurant across the street and a GREAT beach bar about a 1/2 mile north, but that's about it. We also recommend bringing snorkel gear. There's a very nice artificial reef about 50 feet from the beach. It's nothing compared to the real snorkel sites on the island, but it's great for being literally at your doorstep. It's also a nice easy snorkel for children.

We're already looking forward to our stay next year! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheezpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was our first visit to the Cayman Islands and Harbour Heights so everything was new and exciting. Our condo (#6) was spacious, well equipped and had a spectacular view of the grounds and beach. We shared the condo with another couple. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms modern and well-maintained. Other furnishings were a little dated but not a real drawback. The tiny dishwasher in the kitchen was not up to the task but all the other appliances were fine. The location on seven-mile beach was ideal, away from "hotel row" and next to a public beach. We also enjoyed the pool on the various pleasant grounds. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Being able to purchase vino on site was a real plus! We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daeg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
281 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights

Property: Harbour Heights
Address: 1453 West Bay Road | P.O. Box 30624, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1203, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming setting on 7 Mile Beach away from hustle bustle but close enough to walk to hotels. Soft, sandy stretch of 7 Mile, no rocks here! Lots of options for shade or sun. 35' heated pool. Pool house with ping pong & library. All units have a great view of sea. Very good reputation - lots of repeat guests. 2 & 4 Bedrooms. CHARMING! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Harbour Heights Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing