We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Secret is Out”
Review of Harbour Heights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been coming to Grand Cayman since I was a child. My first trip was as a ten year old in 1975. Harbour Heights still exudes the feeling of Grand Cayman. While all the fancy, high end hotels now have found their place along seven mile beach, Harbour Heights offers something very different. They are located on a very large stretch of seven mile beach. There are no crowds here - chaise loungers are always available and they have a wonderful pool with pool house that is literally steps to the beach. The condos are nice, but not luxurious. The baths and kitchen are functional and well maintained. My three girls have grown up knowing the staff that work at Harbour Heights and love going back each year at Christmas. Grand Cayman has become very expensive over the years and Harbour Heights is no exception. If budget is a concern, look to head to Cayman in the off-season when everything is a bit more reasonable. If you go, you can't go wrong with Harbour Heights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandhopper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 176 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first trip to GC and staying at HH was a perfect place for our family. We were traveling with young children, ages 6 and 4, and the condo was perfect for us. We loved that the beach and pool were just steps away from the unit. The condo itself was very spacious. We loved eating on the terrace so we could see the water and even get to see the cruise ships come and go. The bedrooms were really bright and airy and the Master had a great view of the water. The pool was very clean and there is a pool house which has a ping pong table that the kids really enjoyed. The beach was never crowded and the sand and water were perfect! We look forward to going back to HH and enjoying all GC has to offer.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was my first trip to Grand Cayman and I must say that Harbour Heights contributed to the joy of the trip. The upstairs unit is perfect in all ways, with an excellent kitchen, upstairs bedrooms and living space downstairs. If traveling with teenagers, as we were, just be conscious of timing of showers as the hot water heater is small. But this was just a minor detail in an otherwise fabulous stay. The beach is pristine and if you are a walker, the busier part of town is a nice walk. The buses and taxis are quite easy to use if, like us, you are not ready to embrace driving on the left side of the road. We could tell the owners cared about their guests' stays and the management was nothing short of amazing. It was nice to be in an inviting space when returning from a long day of diving the spectacular dive sites around this island. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassygringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Front Office Manager at Harbour Heights, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

A big THANK-YOU for your comments about Harbour Heights. We hope that you will come back for a visit with us! The owners do care about your happiness and we appreciate your input!!
Thanks again!
Missy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best view and most private beach. Very family friendly and well-maintained community. Just returned from our 10th year and as always, the weather was perfect, plenty for the kids to do and beautiful water to play in. We love the great restaurants but often cook and eat on the terrace overlooking the sea. The apartment is well-stocked, has Internet, and on the quiter side of the property.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have been to Cayman many times but always return to our favorite: Harbour Heights #6! The condo is fully stocked and just steps from a large, quiet beach. The Cayman artwork in this condo is also special. There is never a shortage of lawn furniture or shade. In 2012 we returned and also rented the condo next door #7 for our daughter's wedding. The hospitality is wonderful! Bud and Missy manage this property beautifully. Once of the special things we did was have a catered dinner pool side by Rigazzi's. Harbour Heights is within walking distance of many great restaurants (we love the fish tacos at the Sunshine Suites), the Westin where you can go out on a dinner cruise, or a short drive or bus from Georgetown. We have now stayed at HH 4 times!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My stay, with my wife and two young sons, was relaxing and hassle-free. We had a fantastic time in Grand Cayman, and Harbour Heights was a good part of the reason.

Harbour Heights is in a great location. It is more private than down with the more crowded hotel area. Plus the beach is wider up here. The beach is excellent and large trees provide shade near the water, so you can be in the direct sun or in the shade - your choice.

My kids enjoyed the pool just as much and played ping-pong frequently.

It is a bit far to walk to the vast majority of restaurants and other entertainment, so a rental car , I feel is a necessity. However, just 100 yards north there is a public beach and an outdoor bar and across the street is a good restaurant and bar.

The managers, Missy and Bud were very accommodating to our needs. They made booking excursions easy. Housekeeping was excellent. the condo was spotless. Never even a bug in sight.

I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mataki2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We've been vacationing in the Caymans for over 20 years. The island has changed quite a bit since we first started going there. We've stayed at Victoria House (lost in hurricane) and Discovery Point. These two hotels are farther up the beach than Harbour Heights. There are fewer people walking the beach and the snorkeling is a bit better up there but the beach at Harbour Heights is superior for swimming, floating and lounging.

The grounds are very well kept with grass areas worthy of a golf course and a nice swimming pool.

The apartments are traditional basic Cayman style that we enjoy and prefer over typical elevator/hotel arrangements. The bedrooms are very large and our apartment had a standard bathroom for each room. The living room is large and well furnished and the Kitchen is basic but well equipped. The service is excellent.

We like the beach apartment arrangement over highrise hotels because with ground floor apartments because we can go from living room to beach in 20 steps and there are far fewer people on our stretch of the beach than at the high rises.

We have revisited the Caymans many times over the last 20 years. When our kids were small, we appreciated the safety of seven mile beach. The waves are very small or there are none at all and we've never had to worry about rips or currents. The shallows are sandy and safe and the water deepens very gradually. We still stay nearby but our kids could paddle around and we don't have to hover over them. It's very fun for the kids and relaxing for the adults.

Harbour Heights is next to the public beach. We were concerned about noise but it was actually very quiet except on Sunday afternoons when the local islanders like to have their family picnics. It appears it is a custom for the locals to gather family and friends and just float about in late afternoon and talk and laugh All it all, it was enjoyable to watch. Our kids play beach volleyball and our older kids like to be near the beach tiki bar (Calicos) just 3 minutes walk to the other end of the public beach. So, the location near the public beach had very few drawbacks and a lot of pluses for us. A few times a week, tenders from the Cruise Ships land at seven mile beach. They cruise in with loud music but this lasts only a few minutes and soon all you can hear are the waves and wind once again.

There were three beach volleyball courts at the Public Beach. They have good quality nets with lines and the ability to raise/lower the nets to mens/womens height. There are ample opportunities to play recreational level "jungle" ball with cruise shippers and others that wander into the tiki bar. If you are looking for a decent level of play, you'll need to find the Cayman Island Volleyball Federation facebook page and try to connect with some experienced players. You'll need to be at least a "BB" level player to play on the top court and sometimes court #1 is reserved for the Cayman National team training practices so you'll need to use the other courts also at public beach. Know that it can be very very hot in the mid-day so many of the better players will play/train in the early AM or after 6pm when it cools down a bit.

We liked Harbour Heights so much that we've decided it is our #1 recommendation of the places we've stayed on the Island.

Room Tip: Ground floor units open up to the common grounds and makes for more convenient beach access.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastvne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights

Address: 1453 West Bay Road | P.O. Box 30624, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1203, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $315 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming setting on 7 Mile Beach away from hustle bustle but close enough to walk to hotels. Soft, sandy stretch of 7 Mile, no rocks here! Lots of options for shade or sun. 35' heated pool. Pool house with ping pong & library. All units have a great view of sea. Very good reputation - lots of repeat guests. 2 & 4 Bedrooms. CHARMING! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Harbour Heights Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing