We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable spot on Seven Mile Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchorage Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is the only place we would ever stay on Grand Cayman. Directly on Seven Mile Beach, this small condominium complex is on the quieter northern end of the beach, well away from Georgetown and the cruise ship crush, and the massive resorts and their crowds and tiki bars. It is closer to West Bay than to Georgetown. The units are spacious and well-appointed, with very good baths, kitchens, and other features. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and always seem to be available. The complex includes a laundry room (there are none in the units). The pool is just off the beach, and is small but more than adequate for this small complex. Coral reefs lie just yards off the beach, easy to reach by snorklers. There are frequent turtle sightings and nests in this area. This is a place to consider if you want privacy, peace and quiet on Seven Mile Beach. Grand Cayman is getting pretty developed, but The Anchorage and the West Bay area still give you the feel of the good old days.

Room Tip: All of the beach side units have a good view, but the second and third floor units, of course, offer...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage Condominiums
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Grand Cayman-we took a chance and stayed here and we will always book here. We were able to take advantage of the special -STAY 4 NIGHTS AND 5TH FREE. So we stayed 2 weeks. The most relaxing and yet adventurous stay yet! You can actually snorkel on the reef in front of the condo and see SeaTurtles/tropical fish ect!! Beach is beautiful/clean/ roomy and so are the rooms! Mrs. Judi so helpful and friendly. Can't wait to go back!!!! Screened in balcony porches are a must with the mosquitos at sunset which is a major Perk at the Anchorage!!

Room Tip: No need to bring beach towels-condo supplies clean ones when needed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in April just after the rates drop. Though if we'd have waited until May we could have taken advantage of the stay four and get the fifth night free promotion. Oh well. We had previously stayed at Discovery Point and thought that we'd try a different complex. both are very nice. We had the oceanfront but not the deluxe oceanfront view and so the view was a little cut off, but very nice. The condo was nicely decorated and provides a bit more room than Discovery Point for the price. (At DP you have to pay extra for the second bedroom but not here. We used the second bathroom only but like that option without paying extra for it.) The office and housekeeping staff were very accommodating and kept the place tidy. My only complaint is that the number of parking spaces just equals the number of condos, so that if two couples with separate cars are booked then someone would be odd man out is seems.

SMB is always beautiful and at this end you are away from the crowds. Wonderful relaxing time and you get so much more for your money here rather than staying in a hotel. Would definitely return and would stay here or DP, depending on the best rates to be honest. If I stayed here would probably spent the extra to get the deluxe oceanfront view to take in all of SMB from my porch.

Room Tip: Would always go with at least an oceanfront view, though to save a bunch the garden rooms would be f...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcharlesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

After staying in a condo near the Marriott the past few years, we decided to try the northern end of SMB this year and were so happy with our choice of The Anchorage. We were with a group of friends and rented units #2 and #3 for our stay. Both were clean, well stocked and comfortable. We really enjoyed being on the ground floor and walking right out onto the beach. The office and cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. There is a Foster's grocery store about a mile from the condo which makes shopping for necessities so convenient. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the beach on this end of the island. We never had a problem getting a chair under a cabana or umbrella. The only negative we encountered was that neither of these units has a washer/dryer. There are facilities adjacent to the office though if doing laundry becomes necessary during your stay. I knew this ahead of time and we just planned accordingly. Another thing I will mention is that although we always rent a car during our stay, there is a public bus stop right across the street and several in our group utilized this during our trip. Overall, we had a fantastic relaxing vacation and will definitely plan a return trip to The Anchorage in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncbeachlover68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in Unit #16 from 6/1 - 6/11/13. The condo was clean and well furnished. The office staff, the gardener/maintenance man and housekeeping staff were all very attentive and prompt with any requests. This location is the Northern end of 7 Mile Beach, very close to West Bay and less than a mile down the road from Cemetery Beach. Very nice beach and pool area. The snorkeling just steps from the condo is excellent. They were running an off-season special of stay 5 nights and the 5th night was free so it was an excellent deal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

View is really great from this unit! ocean front.... Has screened in patio, so no worries about bugs or such.This was our 7th time to stay here. Stayed here before and after Ivan ripped the them apart. So the unit was completely remodeled and had everything you needed. Pool and beach are right there. A reef is right in front of the condo, so snorkeling is always an option. I would highly recommend the Anchorage.

Room Tip: the ocean front rooms are pricier, but so worth it! Spent alot of time on patio looking at the view!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a great vacation at The Anchorage at the end of April. We stayed in unit 12 (Deluxe OF) and it was very nice. The view from the condo was AWESOME! The unit had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The kitchen was nicely equipped and had what we needed for our stay. We requested a crib & a highchair and both were in the condo when we arrived. Able to take our towels down to the office each morning on our way to the beach to swap 'em out for new ones. Probably only about 4-5 other units being used during the week we were there so felt we had the place to ourselves at times. The beach area/entry was nice compared to those around us. Some people at the condos next door would come over to swim in front of the Anchorage because I believe their water area was pretty rocky. There were little rocks upon entry and then some larger rocks you just had to watch out for, but not a bother with that gorgeous water! The hill in the sand before the water and the hill in the sand at the waters entry was a nuisance and this may be more of a downfall for me as I was 6 months pregnant with some back pain. Whew-it was a workout on both hills getting out of the water especially holding my toddler son.
The condo has no elevator so we had to hike up the steps to the 3rd floor-knew this ahead of time though. The parking lot is tiny, but manageable. I would recommend the Anchorage if you want a better deal, quieter area of SMB and will have a car rental.

Room Tip: Unit 12 had washer/dryer in it; great OF view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarag-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
611 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,259 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Condominiums

Address: 1989 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1204, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $185 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 story condo complex is located on Seven Mile Beach. It is a small complex - 15 condos. The Anchorage is known for having one of the most fabulous beaches on Seven Mile Beach - Cayman Islands. Beach front condos are 2 bedroom, 2 bath and den or 3 bedroom condos. The Garden A and Garden B condos have 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. All condos have central A/C, free wireless internet, cable TV, ceiling fans and a complete kitchen. All condos have either a screened balcony or patio. Amenities: Fresh water pool, beach cabanas, beach umbrellas, plenty of beach furniture for all to enjoy, outdoor shower, barbecue grills, tennis court and daily maid service everyday except Sundays and some public holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Anchorage Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
The Anchorage Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing