We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Paradise? Yes & No...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
London House Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

London House is a fairly decent, though aged, property in a nice location, with a very nice stretch of beachfront. The palm trees, the hammock house, the tradewinds, and the close proximity to the warm azure waters of the caribbean are great. Of course, the beachfront was not cleaned even once the week we were there, nor was the pool cleaned. The pool area was cluttered, beach toys in poor shape and beach chairs were sparse. What we saw is that no one cares about this place in June.

And don't be bamboozled: All of their units have NOT been renovated. #15 is fantastic, #14 is NOT where you'll want to stay. Insist that they guarentee your condo is fully renovated, not just an 'updated bath'. In fact, get #15 if it's just the two of you.

Do not look for anything near Customer Service from London House management. It does not exist. After asking for our arrival time and flight number well in advance, it was just wonderful to get there and find our condo NOT READY. No offer of anything to offset the inconvenience, just come back in an hour. And then no flowers, no fruit basket, not even a Welcome note in our condo from Manager Domenic. Just two keys and have a nice day. No offer to take your bags, no one even walks you to the condo. With only 21 units, and making herself scarce our entire visit, you would expect the Manager to leave something that says 'We appreciate your business'. Not so at London House. You need to be glad that they allowed you to visit. Guess we got it twisted, like we were the guests.

We rate the management staff at London House as useless, clueless, and in deep denial. London House is not all that. Two staffers and zero customer service. You do the math: 2 x 0 = 0.

Sure, we booked a week prior to this years' 50% Off offer. And we asked if we still qualified since the requirement only stated "Book before April 30" for June arrival. Nothing was stated about 'prior bookings don't qualify', just Book before April 30. As I explained to Domenic, in America, April 6 comes before April 30. We not only didn't get half off, we didn't get any type of concession beyond the 5th night free we already had. Gee, what a way to get repeat customers.

Further, tourism is not a very deep focal point in Georgetown, either. Maybe condo owners get treated different, but visitors do not seem very welcome there. Many of the shopkeepers displayed outright contempt for tourists. There were four cruise ships in port, and the attitude we saw by the souvenier peddlers was appalling.

While the island itself is a great place to visit, evidently no one has told the Cayman folks that tourists spend more when we feel welcome. Maybe that's why we call Aruba One Happy Island...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SPIKE83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

After seeing many other resorts in person on our trip, I am confident we got THE BEST VALUE @ London House! Our unit was white-glove clean & all the staff was friendly & helpful. The setting is private, quiet & relaxing with an UNCROWDED beach and NO ironshore (huge plus). Many times we had the beach to ourselves! Tree shade, hammock hut or bright sun-you choose. Great snorkeling right there too-we saw turtles, rays etc. Perfect for a romantic get-a-way but would be fantastic for families too. Not a brand new property, but meticulously maintained. Our king bed & linens were super comfy, the unit was modern w/flat screen t.v.s, hairdryers etc. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wannaBsnorkeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The other positive reviews are spot on. We checked out several other condo locations during our walks along the beach and we think that London House has one the best locations with nice shade trees, palm trees, hammocks, and other amenities. You can always find shade if that's what you are looking for.

Our group of four stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 full bath unit (#4) with a ground floor patio which had a view of the ocean. One bedroom had a king size bed while the other had a queen and a twin (all very comfortable). Since London House is only 21 units, privacy on the patio was not an issue for us and it was nice to be only steps away from the beach. The condo was clean, modern, and spacious. A few things to know before you go:
(1) the kitchen has a dishwasher w/ soap, coffee maker and filters, a combo microwave/convection oven, modern cooktop
(2) the bathroom supplies bar soap, but no shampoo
(3) beach towels are provided
(4) While scuba diving companies will pick you up for dives I recommend renting a car if you stay here( the grocery store is about a mile away)

This was mainly a dive trip for us. We had planned to do mostly shore diving, but during the first 2 days of our stay, the surf was too rough for shore diving, so we did boat diving off the south shore on those days. When planning the trip, we considered dive resorts such as Cobalt Coast, Sunshine House, and The Reef Resort, however, IMO the value of having a 2 bedroom condo on beautiful Seven Mile Beach outweighed the convenience of being closer to a shore diving location.

The staff were very pleasant and accommodated our request to check in early as well as adjust maid service to a time convenient for us.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

London House Condos are at West Bay on Seven mile beach, this area is at the opposite end of the beach to George Town and so away from the cruise ships giving you the quieter parts of this beautiful beach.

The condos are older than any other we have stayed in (we return to Cayman every Christmas) but they are comfortable and very well maintained. The maids do a fantastic job with cleaning and towel change every day.

The pool is small but with such a fantastic beach and sea on the doorstep this is not a problem. For shade seekers the beach is tree lined and up to 11am is quite shaded, we enjoy the early morning sun and the only problem we had was with families who monopolised the sun loungers by putting towels out before 7am!! They then went back into their condos until lunch time leaving other families moving loungers around to try to get the sunny parts of the beach. We have never experienced this in Grand Cayman before and it did spoil our holiday slightly.

We probably wont stay at London House again as there are better condos but we Cayman is as lovely as ever!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lovemyflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

This is a wonderful condo. The units are beautifully decorated, kept extremely clean, located on one of the best sections of the beach on the island. The pool is lovely and there is a lot of shade on the beach, so you have a choice of sun or shade right by the ocean.

The ocean has a few pieces of coral near the entrance but generally has a sandy bottom that is great for swimming.

Because of its size, it's an intimate experience. the 21 units are close together and are right on the beach. Walk out of the first floor units and you are at your beach chair. There are hammocks all over the beach area, including a palm topped "hammock house." Staff is helpful but not intrusive.

We had a second floor unit and I would ask for that again. First floor has beach access but you give up some privacy because of the walkways across the front.

I would certainly return again except for Thanksgiving Week. Unfortunately, that's the week for the annual owners' meeting. A group of 40 or so owners and their friends gather at the London House each Thanksgiving week. They share meals, play games and enjoy the beach. Great for them but less so for the 8 of us who were not part of the group. Because it is such a small place and "intimate" as I described, the rest of us had little or no access to many of the beach chairs, games or hammocks which were filled with the group members.

It was a bit a downer to sit on the balcony and watch the fun but not be asked to join in.

In summary, a super place. Just be sure to ask if there are large groups during the time you plan to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doveWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

London House was amazing. The rooms were great, lots of room with great views! We especially liked that the office had a bunch of movies and books you could go borrow, so at night we always had something to watch! And when we ran out of books to read we could go pick one of theirs! The beach is unbelievable. Beautiful white sand with clear water! The beach was the best part! The beach in front of london house is amazing because its not busy at all. When we were there, there were only a few people in the huge area, so we felt like we had the whole beach to ourselves!! My friend that I went with has stayed at london house 10+ times and says the beach is always empty and quiet. Also extremely safe, we would leave our things on our chairs and go to the room for a bite to eat and never worried about things going missing. Long walks down the beach either way were fun, lots of beautiful houses and condos to look at!! There are lots of hammocks to lay in and watch the sunset! This is the perfect spot if you want to have a breathtaking beach all to yourself in a quiet area. Its definitely hard to travel to other tropical beaches and not compare it to this one...!!! Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vballjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

This is a great location if you have young children. It’s located on a very quiet part of 7 mile beach with plenty of shade.

Please be aware that there is construction next door and if you think this will bother you call the London House before your stay and get the status of construction. We stayed for 7 days and there was no work going on at the time so there were no problems for us.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,818 reviews
2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
623 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,456 reviews
3.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villas of the Galleon
Villas of the Galleon
#6 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London House Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Condominiums

Address: 1907 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1206, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $188 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the very pinnacle of serenity and bliss at the London House in Grand Cayman. Capturing the beauty and essence of the perfect island retreat, each luxury condo at the London House welcome guests with exceptional ocean views from your private balcony or patio. What's more? First-rate accommodations, unmatched service, pristine grounds and 200 feet of silky soft, pure white sand. Stake out your ideal space on our private stretch of Seven Mile Beach for an entire day and worship in the sun. Dip your toes into the crystal blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. And come day's end, settle in for an awe-inspiring sunset that will truly take your breath away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
London House Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
London House Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing