We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
London House Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the London House eight or nine times over the past several years and find it to be consistently excellent. The management personnel are friendly and helpful, the accomodations are excellent and it has one of the best locations on Seven Mile Beach - very few rocks in the water. I have stayed here while in Cayman on business and with the family on vacation - in either situation it is my first choice above all the fancy hotels and larger condominium locations. Quiet, peaceful, beautiful - what more could you ask?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 161 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We returned to Grand Cayman with our family after our first trip there that was at the Ritz on a business trip. Our children ages 23, 20 and 18 fell in love with London House and Seven Mile Beach. We were after a totally relaxing vacation after college graduation for our son and first semester exams for our daughters so the quiet beach was just what we wanted. if they had grown tired of the quiet, there was more activity just a half mile or so down the beach. We rented a car and did a lot of exploring on our own. We felt very safe on this island. Highly recommend swimming with the stingrays (Capt Marvin) and riding horses in the morning on the beach with Nicky (ask Dominique for her number). We had never ridden horses before and had a great time. Grand Cayman is my favorite Caribbean island!

Room Tip: Loved the lower level at London House. Just walked past the pool to the beach. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved our six nights at London House, in a one-bedroom, second floor condo. Off the balcony was a spiral staircase that led right down to the sand so we didn't need to go all the way around from the front (roadside) entrance. The condo was perfect for a couple: clean, modern, and well-equipped. Full kitchen with microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. It was peaceful and quiet. Location is a few miles from George Town, where we saw up to four cruise ships anchored most of the days we were there.

Wish the a/c unit wasn't inside an interior closet and so noisy when it was on, and the flat screens tv's weren't so complicated to use (we finally got the hang of them by the time we left), but otherwise we would definately return. The resident manager Dominque is very nice, though we only saw her once.

We did not rent a car and relied on the "buses" (vans) that rattled by regularly until mid-evening; to go anywhere up and down West Bay Road, which parallels the beach, costs $2 Cayman/ $2.50 US and all you need to do is stand at the edge of the busy road and wait. Next time we'd rent a car so that we could explore the island more and not depend on the bus, but it's doable without a car.

There is a Foster's Market about 20-25 minutes away by foot, a few minutes by bus. It is very much like an American market, though food and all other items are about 25% (or more) higher than in the US. We used American money; one Caymanian dollar equals about 75 cents US. Wine and liquor is expensive; most condo renters brought duty-free liquor they purchased in the airport.

Weather was mostly sunny, sometimes windy, in the 80s. Winter is drier than summer, though there were some sprinkles and on a couple of the windy nights we were glad we had jackets or fleeces. The sea was clearer and bluer and cleaner--pleasantly warm but refreshing and very bouyant-- than anywhere we've been in the Caribbean, and the beach at this end (near West Bay) is quieter than the area nearer to George Town.

Most times, and this was around Christmas, there were only a handful of people on the beach, relaxing in the hammocks, chaises, and beach chairs provided. There is a small pool that was mostly used when we were there by the children of guests. Beach towels are provided. There is a bit of a drop from the powdery sand to the water, and the beach is narrow in places (perhaps caused by Hurricane Ivan several years ago) but you get used to that. You can walk miles on the beach, though it slants fairly steeply towards the water and as a result you don't see as many walkers or runners as you might on other Caribbean beaches. Snorkeling was good right in front of the condos, and very good at Cemetery Reef, just five minutes up the beach. A must is the trip to Stingray City--we booked Captain Marvin--to "swim" (stand on a sandbar out in the middle of the bay) with stingrays, who are like pets--they nuzzle you for food and are not at all dangerous. This trip, if you book the right one, runs about 2 1/2 hours and includes two snorkeling stops. There were all sorts of people on the boat, from small children to older adults.

We had dinner at Ragazzi, which was located in a small strip mall but is excellent, and at Alfresco, up in West Bay, which was informal, on a simple deck overlooking the water, but fine. After the stingray trip we popped into the Westin and had a sandwich at their poolside bar-- (the place was very busy and people were cheek by jowl on the beach; we were glad we booked at London House). When we return we will try Edoardos, the Calypso Grill, and other restaurants which were highly recommended, but the point of a condo is that you can purchase food and cook, as did our neighbors, who threw steaks or fresh fish on the barbecue grills near the pool and ate like kings.

We never visited George Town, but were told there is good shopping there; Cayman has lots of banks and other financial institutions, and lots of designer shops. Did go to Camana Bay, an attrative, pedestrianized mall and residential and business complex that has a movie complex, designer stores, and a few good restaurants, including a very good deli.

All in all, a great getaway except for a very long trip back to Boston. Due to storms in the States, our flights were delayed and we were rebooked on two others, connecting in Miami, which we had wanted to avoid; it took us about 12 hours to get home. There is a non-stop flight to Cayman on Saturdays and we'd do this next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maine1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

You can see why London House has such fantastic reviews,location,service,hospitality and of course the returning holiday makers/owners who are good company.
It's been 10 years since we returned to GC,although 7 mile is changing with the latest 7 storey development "Watercolours" it's still Special.....Allison and Dominique are a great team helpful and always a laugh.Enjoy it If you stay at LH,our family of 5 did......
We are coming back 2013.The AJK's

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KnowlesyAjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at London House. They upgraded us to a 2 bedroom deluxe unit that was at the end of the building (#21). Our view of the ocean from two sides was beautiful, even the bathroom had an ocean view. Everything we needed was provided - crib, high chair, baby gate, beach towels, a rinse tub outside for getting the sand off our feet, washer & dryer (bring your own laundry soap), full kitchen, balcony, cable TV, wireless internet (not always fast), a huge bucket of sand toys, and easy access to the beach and some of the calmest, warmest, clearest water I've ever experienced. We snorkeled just off the beach, quickly found fish, and found coral just a few resorts down. They did daily maid service so the place was always clean. The staff was consistently friendly, responsive, they informed us of specials going on in the area and of turtles hatching right on the beach. The location is really nice - just far enough north to not notice the cruise ship passengers and not too far from restaurants and activities. There aren't many places I would return to but this is one.

Room Tip: Room 21 has a view of the ocean from two sides, is quiet, clean, beautiful, and convenient to walk d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling_smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

London House, condo #5, was the best choice for our stay of 2 weeks for 2 couples. Plenty of room, large workable kitchen, all on ground level with just steps to the pool and BBQ area, Hammock Hut, or the beach. Any need we had was immediately taken care of by Dominique and her staff. Location was perfect. Close to Cemetary Reef for snorkeling, resturants and shopping. Far enough away from any noise or cruise ships.

Room Tip: All condos are good, just a decision of 2 levels or on ground level. We don't like stairs and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ftloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I first stayed at London House in 1983. This is my fifth time visiting, even spent my honeymoon here, and after looking at other places that are now on the island, I would still come back to London House to stay. It is right on the beach and the views are amazing! It is a smaller building of condos which are very comfortable and offer everything you need for a stay. They even provide beach towels and daily maid service. It is low-key without all the activity you get at a hotel. The condos have kitchens and all the utensils to cook meals. There are flat screen TVs in all the rooms. I love sitting on the patio in the morning overlooking the ocean to have coffee. The beach is right outside your door. If you walk on the beach toward the West End of the island, there is a good snorkeling reef between the far yellow bouoy and the red one, before the cemetary. Dominique, who manages the facility, is delightful. Great, quiet location! I plan to return...again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kris484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
582 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,835 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
629 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,536 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London House Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London House Condominiums

Address: 1907 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1206, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $188 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the very pinnacle of serenity and bliss at the London House in Grand Cayman. Capturing the beauty and essence of the perfect island retreat, each luxury condo at the London House welcome guests with exceptional ocean views from your private balcony or patio. What's more? First-rate accommodations, unmatched service, pristine grounds and 200 feet of silky soft, pure white sand. Stake out your ideal space on our private stretch of Seven Mile Beach for an entire day and worship in the sun. Dip your toes into the crystal blue waters of the Caribbean Sea. And come day's end, settle in for an awe-inspiring sunset that will truly take your breath away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
London House Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
London House Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing