We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned for 20th time to Unit 43!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Discovery Point Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We came to Grand Cayman 21 years ago on a cruise. We now stay each February in our favorite condo at Discovery Point. The cleanliness, amenities in the condo and the property as a whole are wonderful. The staff is like your family away from home. Our teenage grandsons visited with us twice and loved the trip to Stingray City, snorkeling and having the opportunity to enjoy the outstanding weather, scrumptous restaurants and relaxing time on the beach.

Room Tip: Third floor view and privacy are our preference.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGGORF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Point Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 508 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

Discovery Point is a very nice condo - the unit #35 had all the things you'd need back home from grapefruit knife to large HD TV. Everything was clean - daily maid service was efficient and friendly. Other reviews have said beach was too rocky - but frankly there are so many sandy beaches this didnt bother us at all. There IS easy access for snorkeling and that is what we wanted. Its far enough from Georgetown to not be affected by cruise ship traffic yet an easy drive to many restaurants,2 grocery stores and shopping.They do have a computer and printer for guest use that we used to print out our our return trip boarding passes as we didn't take the laptop. When next we go to Cayman we'll take the stress out of finding a new place and return to Discovery Point.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was our 6th time traveling to Grand Cayman, but our first at Discovery Point Club. We knew we loved the end of the beach where it's located, but didn't realize how much we would love this place!
Everybody was so friendly. The staff was great. From the moment we checked in with Ollie, who is a sweety, and meeting Diane, I wished I could have taken her home with us, we knew this was the place.
We were on the ground floor, which is what we prefer, and the view was wonderful. We were at the end closest to Christopher Columbus and always felt like we had privacy There was no noise on the beach or any we could hear from the pool.
We loved, loved our unit. I hate to mention it was #23, for fear it will be even harder to book!
It was very comfortable and clean, and we are pretty picky. We liked the sound machine in the bedroom, since they aren't facing the sea, you can still be lulled to sleep with soothing sounds of the waves. We want one for home.
Another thing that was so nice, the other owner's and guests were very friendly. I can't wait to go back and hopefully see them again. We felt like we made so many new friends.
Terrific snorkeling right out of their beach, or you can swim to Cemetary Beach and see some cool things too.
Honestly, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. We're so glad we decided to give it a try.

Thanks to all at Discovery Point Club,

Don and Lori Kwasniewski

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donlor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at Discovery Point Dec 23-30. We were excited to arrive based on the trip advisor reviews. Unfortunately when we arrived we were greeted with the news that dispite our request over 8 months prior and confirmation the week before we were moved from a 3rd floor unit to a 1st floor unit to accomodate another guest. Ann Rose did her best to find us alternate accomodations but I do have to say that Ollie crumbled under the pressure of the day and did not deal with the situation with the professional wonderful manner the reviews have given her. They found us a 3rd floor unit 3 hours later. We loved our stay on Grand Cayman, dove every day and enjoyed the location on the beach. Diane was amazing at taking care of our unit despite having over 12 units to clean each day. She even made us a key lime pie as I had read from others that hers is wonderful There was not enough staff during the holidays to properly take care of all of the guests. Not once during our week did Ollie come to our unit to apologize for her behavior. In fact when I left and returned the keys the welcome basket of fruit and cheese for us was still sitting on the counter of the office. They had no idea who did not get their basket nor did they think to inquire. The air condioning in our master bedroom broke and they did not have it fixed during our stay. The unit was extremely dusty and despite Diane telling the office they chose to do nothing. Upon check out they told me it was probably the dryer connection but they never bothered to stop by and see.
Overall, Discovery Point condos are well equiped, spacious, on a great location on 7 mile beach and have plenty of lounge chairs and shade options. I just think that during the busiest time of year the staff should take more care to treat the guests with respect and courtesy and have enough housekeeping staff to allow for porper care of the units.

Room Tip: If you do not have children that need to be in and out all of the time, choose a 3rd floor unit. The...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetraveltoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We've just returned from 8 days at The Discovery Point Club having stayed there on a previous trip to Grand Cayman, and it's still as good as ever. Nice third floor unit (#43), well appointed, fantastic views, great grounds, wonderful friendly and helpful staff. Things that I particularly like about Discovery Point Club: 1) Excellent location on the quiet North side of SMB 2) Plenty of nice thatched huts on the beach for shade, and additional umbrellas too (not that we needed one) 3) Rinse barrel, hose, and drying area for dive gear 4) Beautiful plants and landscaping 5) Two nice tennis courts, although regrettably I did not get a chance to play this trip 6) An easy short stroll or swim (did both) to snorkel at Cemetery Reef. 7) You can walk for miles along the beach and not have to leave the beach 8) Everyone on the staff always has a smile.

Room Tip: Go for third floor for the best view, or first floor for the most convenience.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Just back from another delightful visit to Discovery Point. The grounds were more lovely than ever, the beach magnificent and the underwater life was dazzling, even a few feet from the condos. The units are well-appointed.... stayed in the 3rd floor unit #19 and were pleased. This is clearly the nicest "family" of staff we have ever encountered. Ollie and Ann Rose at the front desk could not be more friendly and helpful. Bob, Gerian and Kenny take loving care of the grounds, and the housekeepers (Diane, Theresa and others) always have a ready smile. It's no wonder people return year after year.

Room Tip: All the units we have ever visited are beautiful.... the 3rd floor units have the best view, ground...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadisonPete8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at the Discovery Point Club from Nov 2-8, 2011 for a destination wedding. While it wasn't our first time in the Caribbean, it was our first time vacationing with our children, ages 13 and 9. I can't say enough about staying at the Discovery Point Club. We were on a ground floor unit (number 30) and it had everything we needed. The view of the beach and pool were incredible and we could walk out to the beach and in less than 5 minutes find ourselves snorkeling in beautiful reefs! The facilities were top notch. Ollie, the manager, was friendly and helpful and provided us with everything we needed. The condo had two bedrooms and two full baths and it was in pristine condition. It was located about 1/4 mile from a fully stocked grocery store, so we filled up the fridge and were able to feed our picky kids all of their favorite foods from home. We went to Stingray City on a charter with Captain Allan Ebanks. Allan made the trip fun and educational. My daughter LOVED swimming with the stingrays. We also dove for conch and they fixed a fresh conch salad right on the boat! We also were able to go to Dolphin Discovery and swim with the dolphins. It was another incredible experience! But in the end, the best part of the trip was relaxing with family on the screened in porches of Discovery Point Club and the unlimited snorkeling right outside our front door. We will cherish this trip forever and hope we are blessed enough to return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
438 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,262 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
344 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Point Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Point Club

Address: 2043 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1302, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $325 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMENITIES — THE DISCOVERY POINT CLUBStep outside for a leisurely stroll down Seven Mile Beach, or snorkel the beautiful reefs just off the beach. Our fresh-water pool and heated whirlpool spa are located on the beach where you can delight in our spectacular sunsets.Perfect your tennis on our two championship courts, or just unwind on our expansive, white sand beach. We offer a free high-speed internet connection (not available in studio units) for those that need to stay connected.Swim with the rays at Stingray City, golf at our island's two 18-hole courses, take a trail ride along the beach, or enjoy our world-famous scuba diving, sailing and water sports. Tour the island on a Cayman Safari Adventure. And, when you get hungry, find a Grand Cayman restaurant nearby to satisfy your appetite.All this just minutes away from your condo. Our friendly Caymanian staff will be more than happy to make all the arrangements for you.OTHER AMENITIESOceanfront on Seven Mile BeachIndividual Central Air ConditioningFresh Water Pool and JacuzziFree High-Speed InternetMaid Service (except Sundays)Children Under 12 FreeCribs/Rollaways Available at No ChargeFully Equipped KitchensCable TV2 Tennis CourtsPrivate Screened Patios/BalconiesGuest LaundryBarbecue Grills ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Point Club Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Discovery Point Hotel
Discovery Point Resort
Discovery Point Club Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing