We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Sands--"Best of the Best"”
Review of Silver Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Silver Sands--"Best of the Best"”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

After numerous trips to Grand Caymen--"Silver Sands" has become our home away from home.
The staff is outstanding, responsive and looks out for every guest. We enjoy the private beach, always quiet, snorkling, "Sting Ray" City with Captain Marvin, finding "Sea Glass" amazing views and most of all the resorts unspoiled beauty. We visited in November, had guests join us and had another unforgetable vacation. There are many great places to eat, "Calypso Grill' and "Sunshine Grill" are favorites. We will be planning another visit. If you choose to stay at "Silver Sands"---you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We loved room #42--wonderful view, on the beach, steps from the "Aqua Blue" water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visiting Cayman for the first time, I followed my friend's recommendation and stayed at Silver Sands. It was an amazing trip! The complex is right on the large, private beach.. it was quiet, well-kept, and family-friendly.. The waterfront has the most amazing views at all times of the day, especially the sunsets! There is snorkeling just off shore, calm waters for paddle boarding, and several cabanas with hammock's.. Its the island dream!
Specifically, #35 is a must! The location is ideal, literally just steps away from the beach and pool! This unit is friendly to Scuba Divers with room for all gear. The accommodations are so welcoming, clean, and comfortable.. As a whole, this unit and Silver Sands exceeded my highest expectations! Definitely going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bsimm04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicsgo
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been coming to Silver sands for several years now! I've always stayed in unit 35, and I love it!!! Super clean, has everything you need, an amazing ocean mural painted on the wall (my favorite!!) and a breathe taking view of the sea! The complex itself is far beyond a dream! A beautiful pool steps away from the most gorgeous beaches on the island!!! When I am back home in the states I dream about silver sands! Highly highly recommend to all types of vacationers and unit 35 has got my heart!!!
Can I go back NOW!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Km555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First time at Silver Sands and loved it. The beach was good for snokeling, close to cemetary reef. Mananger and housekeeping very helpful, my husband forgot something and it was mailed back by the manager.Will stay there again, sunsets are the best.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zipNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Love, love, love this place! Beautiful, quiet and family friendly. Has the best beach on the island! We go in the summer every year and there are only a few other families there. You almost feel like you have the place to yourself

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caluka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed at Silver Sands on the advice of friends of ours. We rented unit #24 and couldn't have been happier!! The property is right on the beach, has its own private parking, a gorgeous pool, a spacious gazebo for outdoor dining, Charcoal grills, hammocks right on the beach, grass huts with lounge chairs and so much more!!

Our unit was beautiful inside and VERY well maintained. The beds were very comfortable, the furnishings were very tasteful and modern, and most of all the appliances were all in excellent condition!

The grounds of Silver Sands were meticulously maintained as well and we seldom saw other couples or families which gave the property a real sense of privacy

The area where Silver Sands is located is perfect! A very short drive to Camana Bay, the Ritz, the Westin, tons of restaurants and the turtle farm and Dolphin experience.

Calico Jack's is a short kayak trip away and has the best jerk chicken we've ever had!

We can't recommend this unit or the Silver Sands enough!! Great trip and we'll definitely be back again soon!!

Room Tip: Unit 24! Great balcony, beautifully furnished and well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingDan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Silver Sands in August 2013 and had an amazing time. The condos are very close to the beach. The grounds are immaculate and very well kept. The condo we were in (23) backed right up to the pool and beach. It was summer, so the low season, and we mostly had the beach and pool completely to ourselves. The hammocks by the beach felt like our personal own. It was really amazing to have so much privacy on one of the world's most famous and popular beaches. The condo was very nice. We had one on the bottom floor so no stairs. The bedrooms and bathrooms were nice and private. The kitchen was small, but had everything one could need with blender, microwave, and every kind of pot and pan, etc. The entry door backed onto West Bay Road, so from the living room and kitchen we could hear cars going by at night. However, in our bedroom (the master bedroom) it was really quiet. The beds were really comfortable and my daugther keeps telling me she misses the blankets. Even though we enjoy busy cruises with lots to do, we also really loved the laid back condo approach that Silver Sands brought. If you want more relaxation time, a place close to the beach, and nothing overly busy or fancy; this would be a good solution for you. Also we had way more room than if we were on a cruise or in a resort. We had five people in our condo and it gave us a lot of privacy.

Note, we rented a car based on other recommendations from Trip Advisor members. We are glad we did. There is a store about half mile away, so within "walking distance", but it would have been a pain to walk there and back with groceries in hand. There are no sidewalks, at least in this part. We also needed the car to just get around for activities like snorkeling, dolphins, turtle farm, and getting to and from the airport. I really don't see how one could do a condo vacation in the Caymans with no car. It was hard to drive...we are from the USA and the driving is on the left. Plus there are people walking on the side of the road...plus iguanas and chickens seemingly everywhere. And there are no stoplights. All the intersections are roundabouts. I can barely manage traffic circles in the USA, so driving on the left through traffic circles, while dodging pedestrians, chickens, and iguanas was quite the experience.

Also, before going to the Caymans, eat in airports or in NYC for a few weeks to get used to food prices. The grocery store was easily three times as much as in the USA and a simple lunch for 5 people (with some getting kids meals and others just a salad) will easily be $125. The food prices were the biggest surprise, and the challenge of getting around.

We had a great time at Silver Sands and would recommend it. The people working in the office, on the grounds, in the laundry rooms, etc. were always very nice and helpful as well. Anyone considering Silver Sands, feel free to submit questions.

Room Tip: First floor condos are good for people who are concerned with steps. West Bay road can be noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
362 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,315 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,122 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands

Property: Silver Sands
Address: 2131 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1303, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect, quiet location on Seven Mile Beach, and set among four acres of beautiful grounds and 550ft of sublime beach, Silver Sands' unique and stylish 2 and 3 bedroom apartments all face the ocean and are only a few steps from the pool and beach. With less than half of our 42 condos available for rent, you will probably feel that you have the place to yourself! So stop searching - you've arrived! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Silver Sands Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing