We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Silver Sands has the largest beach front, no crowding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Mahopac, New York
1 review
“Silver Sands has the largest beach front, no crowding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned from staying in #23 at Silver Sands, wonderful trip, great condo on ground floor.
Since stairs were a problem this was perfect, very close to the pool and beach.Great kitchen, lovely furnishings,wonderful people. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeirenNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Keiren, thanks for your comments, as always it is so nice to you both.Hope your next visit is not too long.

Gwenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have stayed at Silver Sands twice, both times in unit #23. Our last stay was for our anniversary and as it was the previous time a most enjoyable experience. The 2 bedroom 2 bath condo was very tastefully comfortable and well maintained. A short walk to the pool or the beach, you can snorkle on a small reef almost in front of the property. Close enough to either casual dining or if you like not much farther to more upscale places. We found the staff very friendly an met several very nice guests and ownwers. If you prefer privacy, you have it. My wife and I have been to many places over the years but have not found a more enjoyable atmosphere, needless to say we will go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have rented a condo at Silver Sands, #23, on Seven Mile Beach twice now, in 2010 and 2012, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cayman after discovering this unknown paradise. This condo is so close to the pool and beach you are just steps away literally. The management is very accommodating of your needs and if you want to do a particular activity they will make sure they hook you up and with locals - not high priced "cruise boat prices! I had the luck of renting Unit #23 both times and it was so comfy, with ample kitchen, great room and 2 beds/2 baths - whole unit updated and an awesome patio poolside/ocean side to just sit on and watch the ocean in your own little private haven!!! The whole resident/renter/community are so friendly, unlike the "touristy accommodations" all over the island. Silver Sands is ideally located in that you are close to most activities on the island. I loved the private beach, the pool, the family activities that they offer without having to pay high end hotel/or other high end condo prices. I felt like I owned the place here! I will definitely be back as its my little paradise

Room Tip: Silver Sands is a small community (smile) but unit #23 was smack dab in front of pool, direct view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

A lovely, delightful complex. My son and I shared a two bedroom duplex and reveled in the view of the ocean. Total privacy, an almost private beach, hardly ever saw another guest. What a great hideaway. A tremendous find that is a mere four minute drive from the Westin and Ritz Carlton where we indulged in amazing scuba diving and other sports. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: If you have no problem with a short flight of stairs the views of the ocean on the second floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Matthew, we are very happy that you enjoyed your first visit with us and look forward to seeing you both in the very near future.COME BACK AGAIN!!!!!!!

Gwenda & Oleta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our group of 7 recently stayed for one week at the Silver Sands. For 4 of the group it was their first experience of Grand Cayman and they were amazed at the beaches, snorkeling, pool and tennis at the SS and of course the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. I have stayed at the SS a number of times over the years and rate them as my number one pick of any of the SMB offerings. The time there went all too quickly and we look forward to returning ASAP.

Room Tip: All units offer easy access to the pool, beach, barbeque grills,etc. Can;t go wrong with any select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardStream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Richard, as always it is wonderful to see you and your family and we are looking forward to seeing you all very soon again.

Gwenda & Oleta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I reserved a 3-bedroom condo on Februrary 18, only to have it cancelled on March 22. Though I wasn't advised at the time of booking, the property was apparently for sale and has now sold. By the time of their cancellation, no other 3-bedroom condos were available. The only accommodation offered was a 2-bedroom, which doesn't work for my group. No apology was even offered!

I'd sure like to know if the place is great, but with such horrible service, I certainly will never stay there to find out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettE526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Brett, we do sincerley apologize for any inconvenience this cancellation may have caused to you.Unfortunately this situation was beyond our control and we do try to go above and beyond to accomodate all of our guest.We do hope you would reconsider visiting us and we extend our apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Right on the beach, nice pool, plenty of lounge chairs/shade (cabanas and trees), never a wait for a hammock. Great BBQ facility on beach, with nice lit cabana for dining at night. Well-landscaped. 7 Mile Beach's powdery sands and easy-access snorkeling and diving are also fantastic. All of the units have ocean views. This is the quiet end of the beach. Dining on the beach (and more action in general) is just a 3 minute drive away.
I highly recommend:
Snorkeling from here and at Cemetery reef (5' walk to the north)
Seahorses (swim your horse out to sea)
La Brasserie
Both of the beach restaurants just to the south (a drive, not a walk)
The Botanical garden
Michael's Genuine Food
Books and Books (amazing!!!!)
Pencilman's cafe
Looking for the gigantic spiky orange male iguana that lives in the parking lot at Papagallo

Our unit, #24, was excellent except for the plastic covers on all of the mattresses. There's a very thin mattress pad, and then the mattress itself is completely enclosed in a heavy zipped up plastic thing. This sets up a vapor barrier that feels a little nasty, and also makes crinkly/rubbery sounds when you move. Some people don't mind these but I have a hard time sleeping on them. The staff told me this feature is unique to this unit. So if this is something you're looking for, this is the unit for you.

Room Tip: The units (like 24) in the middle of the complex are quite close to a busy highway, and the guest ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coral Stone Club
Coral Stone Club
#4 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands

Property: Silver Sands
Address: 2131 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1303, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect, quiet location on Seven Mile Beach, and set among four acres of beautiful grounds and 550ft of sublime beach, Silver Sands' unique and stylish 2 and 3 bedroom apartments all face the ocean and are only a few steps from the pool and beach. With less than half of our 42 condos available for rent, you will probably feel that you have the place to yourself! So stop searching - you've arrived! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Silver Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Silver Sands Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing