We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in all respects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our group of 7 recently stayed for one week at the Silver Sands. For 4 of the group it was their first experience of Grand Cayman and they were amazed at the beaches, snorkeling, pool and tennis at the SS and of course the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. I have stayed at the SS a number of times over the years and rate them as my number one pick of any of the SMB offerings. The time there went all too quickly and we look forward to returning ASAP.

Room Tip: All units offer easy access to the pool, beach, barbeque grills,etc. Can;t go wrong with any select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardStream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Richard, as always it is wonderful to see you and your family and we are looking forward to seeing you all very soon again.

Gwenda & Oleta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I reserved a 3-bedroom condo on Februrary 18, only to have it cancelled on March 22. Though I wasn't advised at the time of booking, the property was apparently for sale and has now sold. By the time of their cancellation, no other 3-bedroom condos were available. The only accommodation offered was a 2-bedroom, which doesn't work for my group. No apology was even offered!

I'd sure like to know if the place is great, but with such horrible service, I certainly will never stay there to find out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettE526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenda e, General Manager at Silver Sands, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Brett, we do sincerley apologize for any inconvenience this cancellation may have caused to you.Unfortunately this situation was beyond our control and we do try to go above and beyond to accomodate all of our guest.We do hope you would reconsider visiting us and we extend our apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Right on the beach, nice pool, plenty of lounge chairs/shade (cabanas and trees), never a wait for a hammock. Great BBQ facility on beach, with nice lit cabana for dining at night. Well-landscaped. 7 Mile Beach's powdery sands and easy-access snorkeling and diving are also fantastic. All of the units have ocean views. This is the quiet end of the beach. Dining on the beach (and more action in general) is just a 3 minute drive away.
I highly recommend:
Snorkeling from here and at Cemetery reef (5' walk to the north)
Seahorses (swim your horse out to sea)
La Brasserie
Both of the beach restaurants just to the south (a drive, not a walk)
The Botanical garden
Michael's Genuine Food
Books and Books (amazing!!!!)
Pencilman's cafe
Looking for the gigantic spiky orange male iguana that lives in the parking lot at Papagallo

Our unit, #24, was excellent except for the plastic covers on all of the mattresses. There's a very thin mattress pad, and then the mattress itself is completely enclosed in a heavy zipped up plastic thing. This sets up a vapor barrier that feels a little nasty, and also makes crinkly/rubbery sounds when you move. Some people don't mind these but I have a hard time sleeping on them. The staff told me this feature is unique to this unit. So if this is something you're looking for, this is the unit for you.

Room Tip: The units (like 24) in the middle of the complex are quite close to a busy highway, and the guest ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I spent two weeks at Silver Sands, one week with my sisters and kids and the second week just with my kids and it was perfect. Beautiful condo - all the comforts you need on a beach vacation; lovely grounds and pool and the beach is the best part. It's the largest expanse of beach on the island and you feel like you have it all to yourself - especially compared to the other beach hotels and condos that have overcrowding on their small beaches. I have been to Cayman many times and would only recommend staying at Silver Sands.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in # 8 - it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moirahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The convenience of being on the ground floor and only walking a couple steps to unload baggage and groceries was a huge plus for us! The view that this unit has from its patio looking straight at the beautiful blue water in the very short distance with the most beautiful flowers all around us was unsurpassed! This unit is very spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and an open floor plan with big dining room table and plenty of sitting area for TV. We used the BBQ pit on the patio to cook a few evenings which was great for us!
This complex is so nice and quiet and away from the big hotels down the way. It has the widest beachfront for the fewest amount of rooms anywhere on Seven Mile Beach. You can snorkel right off the beach! Great thatched huts when you need to be out of the sun. The pool is huge and very clean. Actually the entire place is maintained unbelievably. There is a big pavilion just off pool area on beach that is great for happy hour and watching the sun set! I do not think anyone could ever get tired of this gorgeous place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just got home from a wonderful vacation in Cayman Island. We stayed in unit #24. The views from the condo are something to dream about!! This unit has all the comforts of home and is decorated in the beautiful Carribean colors that add to the relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed swimming in the gorgeous pool everyday and looking around at the incredible well manicured grounds of the complex. This condo complex is at the end of seven mile beach and is very quiet and peaceful. Snokeling right off the beach is some of the best in the world!! Water is aqua blue and abundant with fish! The restaurants in the area are great! This is the second time we have stayed in unit #24, and hope that it's not our last. Thanks again for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -MA486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I visited Grand Cayman and stayed at the lovely Silver Sands Condominiums. Our "home" looked at the beach and the gardens and pool. it was perfect! Quiet and private and inches from snorkeling or sitting under the trees watching the sunset. We walked the long beach every morning, swam, snacked, swam more, lounged, and cooked wonderful meals in the newly renovated kitchen or our place (#8). There are tennis courts and many things to do but we motly stayed put, sinking into the sand and letting all else drift away.

I can't wait to go back to this exact spot!

Room Tip: Go for the Garden side. I loved apartment 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#4 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
2.4 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#3 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,221 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
#5 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#2 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands

Property: Silver Sands
Address: 2131 West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1303, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a perfect, quiet location on Seven Mile Beach, and set among four acres of beautiful grounds and 550ft of sublime beach, Silver Sands' unique and stylish 2 and 3 bedroom apartments all face the ocean and are only a few steps from the pool and beach. With less than half of our 42 condos available for rent, you will probably feel that you have the place to yourself! So stop searching - you've arrived! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Silver Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Silver Sands Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing