We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family home base for stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plantana Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We wanted a relaxing week away and friends recommended Plantana. Because we had little ones with us (ages 4, 7, and 10), we wanted quick access to the beach, and we splurged for bottom floor beachfront. The beach was great: the sand was good for sand castles, and the waves were gentle enough that I was comfortable letting the kids play with one of us on the beach but not needing to be within arm's reach. The whole island was really quiet, and the section of the beach in front of Plantana felt private even though it isn't. A slow trickle of people walked along the water's edge, but the beach was very, very quiet. We wanted to relax and we could.

The space in the unit was great: two bedrooms, a well-equipped kitchen (four blenders!), plenty of comfy seating, and floors that don't squeak like ours at home. The internet service was provided over a wireless router in the condo unit. The wireless was set up with WPA security (good) and was surprisingly speedy considering the tests I performed showed that the modem was synced up at 2 Mbps down and 512 kbps up.

There were a very few niggling things: the dishwasher's door spring had sprung, so one had to be careful when opening it lest it get away from you. The dishwasher was also quite noisy. The water pressure was not great and the water temperature wandered around quite a bit, making for interesting showers. Lastly, the television was getting old. Ordinarily I wouldn't even turn the TV on while on vacation, but we were there during the World Series and missed the picture on our HDTV at home for watching the games.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmccalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 330 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2010

I have been to Grand Cayman many times and I have stayed at Plantana often. I have always wanted to stay in one of the penthouse units because the price is just about the same as every other 2 bedroom unit, but the penthouse unit is never available. Finally, I got to stay there and I will never stay anywhere else! Plantana is gorgeous, the way Cayman used to be years ago and the penthouse unit was the best. Gorgeous views all the way down to the cruise ships and nothing but white sand for miles. The unit we were in had a second totally private patio that was huge. Our own private lounge chairs, and table and this was on top of the screened in porch that every Plantana unit has (at least I think each one has it, we have stayed in at least 3 other units). Decorated really nicely, staff is always a pleasure and new stores opening up within walking distance always makes Plantana a great vacation spot. I like being away from the hotels and crowd but close enough to take a 5 minute walk and get a drink by the bar if I want. Definitely visit the Ritz for dinner Friday night. Condo #44 at Plantana is my new home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucas60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Located on the spectacular 7 mile beach, the hotel is on the beach just steps away from the pretty blue waters. The condos are big with 2 bedrooms and a large kitchen. The outdoor deck is big with great views. Everything about the place was great. I would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebeccaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We selected Plantana because it was the most economical of the centrally located condos on 7MB and because it appeared to have a great beach. We were not disappointed. The beach was absolutely amazing and we almost had it all to ourselves! There was never more than one or two other families on the beach at a time. We could look down and see the Westin & Ritz beaches filled with people. Plantana is located next to a private residence (condos not available for rental) and then the governor's house so these beaches were also deserted. There were plenty of lounge chairs and a hammock, lots of shade trees and umbrellas.

The pool area was very nice and was beachfront also. We loved being able to sit in one place and let the kids run back and forth from the pool to the beach all day long. Most of the time, we were the only ones at the pool. There were floats, noodles and sand toys left in a common area and we also enjoyed the use of those items.

The condo itself was pretty average. It had granite counters, nice appliances and tile showers which was nice. We had a 2 bedroom gardenview unit. We chose that option to help keep our cost down. The positive thing about it was that it was still surprisingly close to the beach. We were probably only about 50 or 60 steps from room to beach. On the other hand, it was very close to the street and we could hear all the traffic day and night. There were emergency vehicle sirens frequently and even our kids got tired of that. The other negative for us was that the sun came in right through the large window in the master bedroom (about 5:30 in the morning!) even with the shade pulled. We ended up covering it with a blanket. Our unit was also smaller than the floorplans on the website. I think if we stayed here again, I would spring for the oceanview or oceanfront condos.

The staff was not particularly friendly or helpful. They weren't rude - just indifferent. But we also found this to be very common around the island. We didn't meet many people who were friendly and this was rather disappointing.

One downside to Plantana is that while its distance from the other condos/hotels allows for a private, relaxing beach area, it is not as convenient to restaurants as the other centrally located condos. It is within an easy walking distance of Eats, Sunshine Grill and Captain Marvin's which we used for our stingray city trip. We did walk all the way to the Strand once, but would not do it again. We did not want to rent a car, but we found the buses a great way to get around. We never waited on one and it was much cheaper than a taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

My husband and I traveled with another couple to Grand Cayman. We decided to stay in a condo instead of a hotel, so we would have more control over eating some meals at home. Plantana wound up being the PERFECT selection for us.

We stayed in unit 11, which is a first floor, ocean front, 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom condo. The condo itself was more than we were expecting. The bedrooms were large. The master bedroom had a decent sized, attached bathroom, a wall of closets (that included a safe), a king size bed and a large dresser (plus additional storage in the side tables). The second bedroom had two double beds, a wall of closets and the bathroom was across the hall from this bedroom. Both bedrooms had TVs. The unit also had a washer and dryer (great surprise!).

The kitchen was small, but fully stocked for cooking and eating in. Granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. The dining area had a large table with seating for 8. There were two living spaces, one with a couch, a couple chairs and an entertainment system with a TV (satellite TV) and DVD player. It also looked like there was a wireless internet router, too. The second seating area was just next to the sliding glass doors and had four chairs. The outdoor patio was screened, had a ceiling fan and had a table with seating for four.

This unit is an end unit. We could exit the screened-in patio and walk ten steps to the beach. PERFECT location. Plantana provides lounge chairs and umbrellas. We were there during spring break and there was still plenty for everyone. We never needed to get out there early to reserve chairs - there was always something available. There is also an outdoor shower and pool for use of guests. The beach is clean and the swimming is fabulous.

The management of the condos was always very helpful and very nice. Our unit was cleaned daily, beds made, etc, though Sundays there is no cleaning service. The grounds were immaculate and clean. There were lots of families at this complex. However, as two couples without children, we never heard anyone when in our unit. It was quiet and really quite perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoMiSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Stayed for a week starting Mar. 27, Check in was very quick, a woman came to office to check us in upon arrival, and normally I would not complain about efficiency, but it was so brief that info, such as office will be closed on Sunday, there is no laundry for towel exchange on Sun., and letting us know where grocery, restaurants, and snorkeling locations were, was non-existent and would have been helpful. I could have asked but she clearly was in a hurry. Pleasant but in a hurry.

After getting settled our visit was great. The condo was decorated nicely and very clean. Ceiling fans in all rooms and porch which was nice. No neighbor noise, well sound proofed, even from above units. No cleaning Sunday but other daily cleaning was timely and the cleaning lady very nice. No shampoo, lotions and small amenities, nor coffee. Would have been a nice touch. Loved the screened-in porch to store water toys and use the little rack for hanging swimsuits without worrying if someone would take items.

Very quiet, although I do not believe the complex was 100% full. Pool temperature perfect. Pool close to beach and units. Steps from your door without being loud.

Beach is just exquisite. Loved the big tree directly in front of property on beach providing shade for most of the day. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas as well. It seemed like you were a little closer to water than other properties which I liked. Wonderful stretch of beach to walk. Liked the little community basket of water rafts, sand pails etc.

Location good to Westin if you want to rent snorkel gear, waverunners, take Red Sail cruises, which we did...the sunset cruise, and they have a couple of restaurants. Other good restaurants nearby, Sunshine grill, Eats, Legendz, and TCBY that I frequently visited. Grocery store walkable but had to get taxi back.

Overall, we felt Plantana was great and I would definately return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pqrMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We have stayed at the Plantana a number of times, inluding last year. The Plantana improved from last year. The Plantana development is very small so it makes it seem more intimate/private and don't have the crowds that the larger places have; The condos/rooms were very clean, No ants!!!, the air conditioning system was working correctly and the staff was more responsive compared to last year. We had an excellent time, there are a few stores and a coffee shop that have opened across the street which is nice so there isn't the need to always have a car,

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
629 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villas of the Galleon
Villas of the Galleon
#7 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
3,165 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantana Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantana Condominiums

Address: West Bay | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $280 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantana is on the finest section of Grand Cayman's renowned Seven Mile Beach. Pristine white sand creates a wide and extensive beachfront and then extends right out into the ocean to form a lovely, rippled floor. Our area of low-rise, low-density properties presents you with that rare phenomenon: plenty of beach and swimming space to call your own. Plantana's mature plantings - colorful blooming shrubs, lofty arching palms and expansive lawns - graciously wrap our plantation style architecture to offer beauty, pleasure and tranquility that is now almost impossible to find elsewhere. Make your vacation home here at Plantana in a one, two or three bedroom condo. You'll agree: Plantana is beyond compare! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plantana Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Plantana Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing