We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our daughter's wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plantana Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Our daughter was married on the beach just in font ofmthe condos. We had 60 family and friends staying in the units and we had a fabulous time. The staff were so helpful, gracious and accommodating to all of us. We also had the luxurymofmstaying for a week longer by ourselves and the same standard of accommodating service continued . Thanks you so much for making our stay truly memorable

Room Tip: Go on line to their website and have a look thru all of the rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Plantana Condominiums
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 319 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

My partner and I visited Grand Cayman for the first time last month. We stayed at Plantana (unit 3) and couldn't have been happier. The condo was a one bedroom ground floor unit located in the Ocean View section but rented at the Garden View rate, as it doesn't face the ocean directly. It was spacious and far better than what I expected (the pics on the website just don't do it justice!). We were especially thrilled with the washing machine and dryer (silly I know, who does laundry on vacation!) as we'd been on the road for a while and staying at hotels and hadn't had access to laundry facilities for a while! The location was perfect, in 30 seconds we were on Seven Mile Beach. The pool area is also nice, but not sure why you'd bother with the pool when you have SMB right there in front of you!? The screened in porch was lovely, we ate out there a lot and I think we only used the dining table indoors once. The whole of Plantana was peaceful, quiet and so relaxing and the staff were helpful and friendly. We visited right at the end of the winter (high) season but even so, the rates were really good. Far better priced than most of the other accommodations in that location. All up I would definitely recommend Plantana to anyone visiting Grand Cayman and looking for a peaceful, relaxing ocean front beach vacation! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxe0780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Plantana, in unit 19, for a week. The unit was lovely and spacious, with all the amenities we needed. We loved the screened porch with the view of the ocean, a perfect place to eat or have a glass of wine. The staff was very helpful with answering questions, cleaning, etc. The grounds were kept beautifully.
The beach is a true gem, expansive, powdery white sand, umbrellas and trees for shade and an excellent reef off shore just a few hundred yards down the beach where we snorkeled and saw spotted eagle rays, queen trigger fish, a variety of parrot fish, and many many more. The visibility was perfect.
Plantana is close to the resorts and restaurants and stores but it's a tranquil oasis. We loved staying there

Room Tip: ocean view is worth it
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paintswimdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed in unit 37. We were so impressed! The pictures online are a perfect representation. The unit was beautiful and very clean! The staff did a great job cleaning each day too. I am amazed how well they got all the sand cleaned up each day. The location was perfect. Beach was amazing! Very quiet stretch of 7MB and near snorkeling sites. The grounds are beauitfully maintained. We grilled fresh fish one day on the beach with the Weber grills. This was perfect too! It was one of the best meals on the island the of course the best atmosphere. My husband and I will definitely return! Our friends that stayed down the beach remarked on how much they liked Plantana too. They are considering staying here on their next visit.

Room Tip: I am sure the rooms are all fabulous! You just have to decide what view you want and how much you a...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnHoliday13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

First time to Grand Cayman and couldn't have picked a better place to stay for our week. We had a ground floor ocean view unit (#7). Perfect for easy access to the pool and beach. The unit was more spacious than I expected and of a high standard. The screened porch was perfect for eating at, we never even used the dining area.
Excellent staff too, they even put on an easter egg hunt for the kids on Easter morning. Much fun for all.
Location was brilliant - the beach was lovely and quiet (unlike down south by the resorts) and yet you are minutes from everything you need.
If you want to borrow a crib from the property, please note that they are on the small size for toddlers (our almost 2 year old isn't safe in a bed yet), and she was rather cramped, so you might want to think about bringing your Pack-n-Play or renting a regular sized one from the baby gear rental companies.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sunset, go for the rooms on the south side of the property
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Our family stayed a week at Plantana and loved it! We rented an 3rd floor, oceanfront penthouse unit. The penthouse unit had an outdoor deck as well as a screened-in porch (both have dining tables on them). It was convenient to have the deck for outdoor dining and it was also handy to store our snorkeling gear. There's also a grill (and a garden hose, to rinse things off) on the deck, which was great to have. There was a nice mix of families and couples here.

Plantana is an older property and is in great shape. The landscaping is beautiful. The kitchen in our unit looks like it was upgraded (countertop is granite) and all the appliances were stainless steel. The bathrooms look like they've been upgraded too. Some things that didn't seem upgraded were some of the furniture and the kitchen cupboards/bathroom vanity. The beds seemed new - firm, level mattresses. Everything was very clean.

The beach at Plantana is perfect... quiet, wide beach, sandy entry, plenty of space between people/chairs, shaded by umbrellas and trees. Didn't need to run out first thing in the morning to save a spot! It's a perfect combination of a quiet location, with great proximity to the restaurants and activities on Seven Mile Beach. Red Sail Sports is located at the Westin for beach rentals of Hobie Cats, etc. If you didn't feel like making your own drinks, you could easily take a beach walk down to the Ritz or Westin or to Calico Jack's beach bar to get one.

Overall, we enjoyed Plantana. It was less expensive for us to stay here than at one of the newer, more central condos down the beach. The cost savings meant more beach activities like parasailing and jet skis. Our family would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runningmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have been staying at Plantana since 2005 and have been back every year but 2011. This is a wonderful property that is convenient to everything. My wife and I went in 2005 for our 30th Anniversary and we started bringing our adult children in 2008 and they also fell in love with Plantana. We stayed at another condo complex in 2010 and everyone voted to go back to Plantana for our trip this April.

We've been in three different condo's here and each of them was outstanding. #10 is our all-time favorite! If you can afford the oceanfront ground floor prices it is well worth it! I would stay in the back garden views if it meant I got to visit GCM every year! Every condo is a short walk to the most beautiful beach I've ever seen.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantana Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantana Condominiums

Address: West Bay | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $280 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantana is on the finest section of Grand Cayman's renowned Seven Mile Beach. Pristine white sand creates a wide and extensive beachfront and then extends right out into the ocean to form a lovely, rippled floor. Our area of low-rise, low-density properties presents you with that rare phenomenon: plenty of beach and swimming space to call your own. Plantana's mature plantings - colorful blooming shrubs, lofty arching palms and expansive lawns - graciously wrap our plantation style architecture to offer beauty, pleasure and tranquility that is now almost impossible to find elsewhere. Make your vacation home here at Plantana in a one, two or three bedroom condo. You'll agree: Plantana is beyond compare! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plantana Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Plantana Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing