We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seven Mile Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plantana Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Our family stayed a week at Plantana and loved it! We rented an 3rd floor, oceanfront penthouse unit. The penthouse unit had an outdoor deck as well as a screened-in porch (both have dining tables on them). It was convenient to have the deck for outdoor dining and it was also handy to store our snorkeling gear. There's also a grill (and a garden hose, to rinse things off) on the deck, which was great to have. There was a nice mix of families and couples here.

Plantana is an older property and is in great shape. The landscaping is beautiful. The kitchen in our unit looks like it was upgraded (countertop is granite) and all the appliances were stainless steel. The bathrooms look like they've been upgraded too. Some things that didn't seem upgraded were some of the furniture and the kitchen cupboards/bathroom vanity. The beds seemed new - firm, level mattresses. Everything was very clean.

The beach at Plantana is perfect... quiet, wide beach, sandy entry, plenty of space between people/chairs, shaded by umbrellas and trees. Didn't need to run out first thing in the morning to save a spot! It's a perfect combination of a quiet location, with great proximity to the restaurants and activities on Seven Mile Beach. Red Sail Sports is located at the Westin for beach rentals of Hobie Cats, etc. If you didn't feel like making your own drinks, you could easily take a beach walk down to the Ritz or Westin or to Calico Jack's beach bar to get one.

Overall, we enjoyed Plantana. It was less expensive for us to stay here than at one of the newer, more central condos down the beach. The cost savings meant more beach activities like parasailing and jet skis. Our family would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Runningmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 324 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have been staying at Plantana since 2005 and have been back every year but 2011. This is a wonderful property that is convenient to everything. My wife and I went in 2005 for our 30th Anniversary and we started bringing our adult children in 2008 and they also fell in love with Plantana. We stayed at another condo complex in 2010 and everyone voted to go back to Plantana for our trip this April.

We've been in three different condo's here and each of them was outstanding. #10 is our all-time favorite! If you can afford the oceanfront ground floor prices it is well worth it! I would stay in the back garden views if it meant I got to visit GCM every year! Every condo is a short walk to the most beautiful beach I've ever seen.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

just got back from a recent stay and this is truly a slice of paradise. just steps (literally) from the most pristine part (and extremely quiet) part of Seven Mile Beach

Room Tip: ocean front is so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We came the day after Christmas and stayed for a week, with each day better than the next. The most incredible beach I've been to in years... beautiful condo with incredibly clean and comfortable amenities, and a wonderful staff. We have been to the Caymans a few times before, but would probably never go back to a hotel after staying here. To top it all off, the fireworks on New Years Eve were some of the best we've seen.

Room Tip: First floor offers the best beach/pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WEKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed for spring break of 2011, in April. The unit was colorful, comfortable, and nicely furnished. There was a great ocean view, and the beach was very well cared for. The staff were friendly and got everything done, no problemo. There were lots of amenities close to the property. Great stay at Plantana :)

Room Tip: Ground units have a back door that goes straight to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0Maeday0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed from Dec. 7 -Dec 15 2011. It is on Seven Mile Beach and has an excellent location.

This property is lovely with beautiful landscaping. The beach area is amazing--soft white sand, very little coral but I would still suggest beach shoes, calm water, lots of beach chairs with umbrellas and shade trees to sit under and very quiet. It has a nice pool but with the water so great we did not use it.

The condos are very nice with full kitchens, maid service everyday but Sunday, screened porch and ours (# 20) had has plush lounges, lots of tv channels, beach towels, a washer and dryer. They were very attractively decorated and spacious. Ours even had beach noodles which we used. ,

There are a number of places to eat within walking distance and a service delivers for $6.00 from a number of local restaurants. Vans/buses come by often can be be an inexpensive way to get around. We did not rent a car but may next time to give us more options.

Taxi service to airport was $24 for 2 and Plantana staff is happy to call them for you.

The staff is very nice and friendly and willingly to help with questions.

We have stayed in Aruba twice but this is our new choice and I would recommend it to others

Susan Spafford

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susanHoover_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

After spending a week at this Intimate Condo complex, I would never see us going back to a hotel room in Grand Cayman.
Located in the quiet area of 7 Mile beach, our vacation unit #46 was a delight. Great 3rd floor Ocean front view was spectacular.
Very well maintained property with lush landscape and comfortable beach and pool chairs. Plenty of private space just to sit and watch the ocean in or out of the sun.

Room Tip: Plantana has 3 floors. We value our Ocean views and solitude, so decided upon a 3rd floor unit. I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sail3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas of the Galleon
Villas of the Galleon
#7 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantana Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantana Condominiums

Address: West Bay | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $280 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantana is on the finest section of Grand Cayman's renowned Seven Mile Beach. Pristine white sand creates a wide and extensive beachfront and then extends right out into the ocean to form a lovely, rippled floor. Our area of low-rise, low-density properties presents you with that rare phenomenon: plenty of beach and swimming space to call your own. Plantana's mature plantings - colorful blooming shrubs, lofty arching palms and expansive lawns - graciously wrap our plantation style architecture to offer beauty, pleasure and tranquility that is now almost impossible to find elsewhere. Make your vacation home here at Plantana in a one, two or three bedroom condo. You'll agree: Plantana is beyond compare! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plantana Condominiums Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Plantana Condominiums Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing