We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but probably better choices for the money. Bring earplugs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Bay Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Bay Club
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK, but probably better choices for the money. Bring earplugs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

We chose Aqua Bay Club hoping for a serene and peaceful beachfront getaway. On the positive side, the accommodation was nicely furnished and clean. The staff was helpful responding to questions both before and after our stay. The beach was also beautiful while being reasonably close to good snorkeling at Cemetery Reef. We had our own rental car, which was an absolute necessity at this location. The resort is very close to a large grocery store and several excellent restaurants, but too far to walk.

However, there were several downsides:
1. Road noise - we could hear cars along the main road from the master bedroom. This would probably happen in any of the condos along the beach, unfortunately, as most are quite close to the main road.
2. Roosters - every morning around 6 am, roosters crowed loudly.
3. Construction next door - while not Aqua Bay's fault, there were whining saws and drills at the building next door that started around 7 am every day. We were not told about this when booking our stay and asked for a discount which was refused.
4. Chintzy on the small things - We paid $435/night for a party of 3, so we were expecting a certain level of luxury for that price. A small pack of shampoo, conditioner, soap and lotion was provided at the beginning of the stay but for the master bath only. We were there for 8 nights so we asked for more shampoo and soap. While the staff did provide it for us, they made it clear that normally guests are expected to bring their own shampoo and soap. If we had been staying at a bargain place, we would have expected to bring our own shampoo and soap, but for when paying over $400/night, we were very surprised by this.
5. Safe in the room - not a major issue, but our safe broke about 5 nights into our stay. We reported it the same day but this was not taken care of by the time we checked out.

All in all, we felt that we paid a luxury price for an OK place. I would either stay somewhere nicer next time for the same money, or stay in a different condo for much less. We met several other people staying in condos along Seven Mile Beach who were paying far less than we did.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mby3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabay, Manager at Aqua Bay Club, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback; your comments are very important to us and we appreciate your time in doing so. Following, please see response to your review.

Road Noise: We sincerely regret the disturbance, however, you are right that this would probably happen in any of the condos along the beach as most are close to the main road.

Roosters: Every since the major Hurricane Ivan in 2004, a few chickens/roosters relocated to the West Bay road strip for food and shelter. However, the Agriculture Department is looking into relocating these birds to a safer environment.

While the road noise and roosters are not a complaint for most of our guests, it can be an issue for a person who is a light sleeper. For future reference, you can always check our office for alternatives to help deal with these issues. It is our pleasure to make your stay most enjoyable.

Construction next door: Thank you for recognizing that Aqua Bay was not at fault. This was not mentioned at the time of your booking as we were not aware of any work in the area that was to take place for your period of stay. Apparently, our neighbors were completing some finishing work at their pool that originally was anticipated to have been done prior to your arrival. I am pleased to advise that all have been completed and there is no construction at Aqua Bay Club or our neighboring properties.

Chintzy on the small things: Making our guests feel most welcome and at home is our priority. Upon arrival our guests are welcomed with hand picked flowers or a gift, all compliments of Aqua Bay Club. For arrival, you were welcomed with a Cayman Islands natural bath and beauty products gift bag. While our property does not provide shampoo/conditioner and lotion (most condos don't) we do provide essentials such as: bath soap, toilet tissue, paper towel, facial tissue, dish liquid and dishwasher soap which are all replenished as needed free of cost.

Safe: Normally any issues with safes are corrected immediately. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize if you were without this service at anytime. Management will look into this promptly for corrections.

With all being said we would like to reflect on the positive side as noted; the accommodations being nicely furnished and clean, the staff being helpful responding to questions both before and after your stay, the beautiful beach close to good snorkeling, our property being very close to a large grocery store and several excellent restaurants and also to mention the many other great reviews on this beautiful, intimate oceanfront property.

Again, we appreciate your comments and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

I can’t say enough great things about Aqua Bay. We stayed in unit #5, a two-bedroom unit on the first floor. It was incredibly spacious and extremely clean. The beach is small but lovely, and the sunsets are gorgeous. I think it is helpful to rent a car, as it is close to West Bay. Plus, that will allow you to take the short trip to Foster’s grocery store and stock up the condo.

The staff is also extremely helpful. They gave us directions to the airport, recommended shops and restaurants, and booked our restaurant for our first night there, my husband’s birthday.

Truly it’s a little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txgrl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Our family of five recently returned from a one week stay at Aqua Bay Club and would highly recommend it! The complex is small, but quiet and uncrowded. Our two bedroom unit was extremely clean, and was on the first floor, which allowed us direct access to the beach and pool just outside our patio door. The beach was beautiful, with great snorkeling just offshore.

This is a great condo if you enjoy a quiet vacation experience away from crowds. We never had to worry if there would be a chaise available at the beach, and there was always a palapa available for shade. The staff was great, we especially loved the daily maid service. The condo was comfortable, just not luxurious, but perfect for us. Plus, it was a great value compared to the luxury resorts.

We would highly recommend Captain Marvins for any planned excursions. We used them for a day snorkeling trip, and they were awesome. We got a lot of special attention, and they even let the kids captain the boat. We had a great experience with them.

Be prepared to pay extremely high prices for food. Restaurant and grocery prices were very high. Most of the nicer restaurants require reservations, which we weren't prepared for.

Overall, a wonderful vacation. Would highly recommend Aqua Bay Club. We'd love to return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fieldsfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We really had a great time! We rented a car for the week and went wherever we wanted. Learning to drive on the left was a Hoot!

I did 10 different dives while we were there and I still had plenty of time to be with the wife on all kinds of adventures.

While daily life seems expensive there, compared to home, I can see how being a resident one might make and save money.

The evenings and mornings at Aqua Bay were wonderfully quiet and relaxing. There was plenty of variety regarding things to do for the week and we never became bored. The service at Aqua Bay was great and the condo was beyond our expectations.

I even saw the green flash once.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestTexans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here three times and have never been disappointed. All units have an ocean-front view. We've stayed in both upper and ground-level units and prefer ground level for easy access to the pool area and beach. The units are clean, comfortable, bright and airy. (My husband loves the free internet access.) The grounds around the units are very clean and nicely maintained. Deena and Renda in the office are very warm, friendly and accommodating.

We love this location on Seven-Mile Beach. It's very quiet and non-touristy. Just a short walk up the beach is Cemetery Reef for snorkeling. Less than a mile away is a large grocery store. For divers there are some nice shore dive sites nearby (Sundivers/Turtle Reef and Tech Divers at Lighthouse Point.)

Our favorite restaurants on the island are Cimboco, Ragazzi, The Brasserie and Yoshi Sushi. (All vegetarian-friendly.)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaWaterford_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Have stayed at aqua bay club for the past two years, and continue to be impressed by the accomodations and service! Great location- a short drive to west bay as well as george town, without all the crowds. The beach is well kept, and the sunsets are breathtaking. Rooms are very spacious, with excellent ocean views in each. 3rd floor gives the best view, but all are good. Make sure to rent a car to enjoy all Cayman has to ofer. Looking forward to another great stay at Aqua Bay Club next year!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 313-detroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

My family and I stayed for 5 days at Aqua Bay over Memorial Day weekend 2010. The beach is very private. Not like the packed beaches at the major hotels in Cayman. There is fantastic snorkeling right off the beach. The accomodations are very nice.

This is truly a tranquil oasis in paradise!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdepping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,925 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bay Club

Property: Aqua Bay Club
Address: West Bay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bay Club 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bay Club - Grand Cayman, is one of the most desirable short term rental luxury condominiums along World Famous Seven Mile Beach. It provides a perfect vacation gateway and assures tranquility as well as unspoiled beauty of the land and ocean. All of our 21 apartments are privately owned and are kept in impeccable condition. Guests will enjoy freshwater pool, Jacuzzi and plenty of sun or the shade of the Aqua Bay's tropical palms and thatched huts located in the court yard and at the waters edge. Now offering FREE high speed internet access in every unit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bay Club Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Aqua Bay Club Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing