We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2009

Spent New Years week 2008 at Comfort Suites, Grand Cayman. Were originally booked at Courtyard Marriott, which was damaged by a recent hurricane, and so we were re-booked here. Had read some bad reviews about this hotel, and so was prepared for the worst. Thankfully all turned out well.

The hotel was clean, the room was fairly large. It was really nice to have a full kitchen in the room - while we didn't use it to make any meals, it's great to have for keeping snacks, mixing drinks, etc. We also appreciated the included breakfast each day.....muffins, bagels, make-your-own waffles, fruit, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, yogurt, hard boiled eggs....all you really need to fill your belly before heading out for the day. Having free wi-fi, (and also a free internet terminal in the lobby) also adds to the list of nice touches.

While not right on the beach, it's only about a 2 minute walk down a sandy path to the beachfront. I'd known from prior trips that the Marriott, which is next door, has a crowded beach area. That's one of the reasons I was prepared to not be happy at Comfort Suites. But on the other side of the hotel are a long string of condos, and the beach was nice and quiet on that side. I like to snorkel and was happy that there was at least a little bit to look at right offshore (the "reefballs" in front of the Marriott attract a fair amount of fish).

Location was convenient for dinner.....just across the street from Coconut Joes (so-so); just a block down from Aqua Beach (which had great food); and the pool bar/restaurant, Stingers, also had good food. It's just a couple of blocks from other shopping/groceries/liquor store.

The only small problem we had at the hotel were with the room key cards. 3 times during our stay, our cards stopped working and required a trip to the front desk to have them reprogrammed. And the only really negative thing that I have to say about the hotel is that the bed wasn't very comfortable - if other rooms have the same bedding, I'd say it's high time for the hotel to buy new mattresses. That might be a major sticking point for some; for me it was a minor annoyance - after a full day in the sun, snorkeling & going for very long walks, I was too tired to let a worn-out mattress bother me much. :)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eegad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2009

We just returned from our daughter's destination wedding on Grand Cayman. Although her wedding was through the Grand Marriott, most of the guests could not afford to stay at the Marriott and most optted for the Comfort Suites which was right next door. Although the wedding was during Christmas week (12/29), the most expensive week to be on the Island, Comfort Suites was considerably less than the Marriott and the director of sales, kaye White, was an absolute pleasure to work with. We were able to accomodate all of the wedding guests on the same floor except for 2 families and they were placed side by side on the floor above. Kaye went out of her way to make sure that everyhting was going well for all our guests and the room accomodations all had either a kitchenette or full kitchen. Although not directly on the beach front, access to the beach was about 100 yards down a quick path and pool area was smaller but very relaxing. Kaye was very knowledgable concerning activities on the island and even recommended a place for dinner that was very reasonable (Sunset house), had patio dining right on the ocean front. We would never have known about it without her referral, since it is the type of place just outside of the heart of Georgetown. I would definitely go back to Grand Cayman and stay at the Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank weddingmom1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The Staff was GREAT! Friendly & lovely folks. The location was good: on Seven Mile Beach, but closer to Georgetown than West Bay. Could always get a bus, even though there was plenty of food & entertainment close by within walking distance. The adjacent bar, Stingers, had good food and staff. The dive shop, Ambassador Divers, has great staff & lots of fun options for activities.

The room was clean and what I expected. Just could not get hot water in the shower (that's saying a LOT because I was sunburned & anything above tepid would be considered hot!). As for the air conditioner... couldn't get it below 77F in the room; called to have it fixed, and then we couldn't keep the temp ABOVE 65F!

The beach was good for snorkeling; had to walk past some condos under construction beach-side behind the hotel (luckily, we were usually out and about during the construction times so the noise wasn't much of an issue for us).

I would stay there again. Liked the breakfast & internet access, and the staff was very pleasant and friendly. Just would get a different room next time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SpitfireFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. You can't beat the location, the beach is only 100ft away. The staff was nice and helpful. Overall, a good hotel, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sp_fos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Spent 2 weeks at Comfort Suites whilst visiting family in Cayman recently. First thing we noticed upon the coach pulling up was a MASSIVE 6 or 7 storey building being built right in front of the hotel on the beachside. Therefore we had no sun around the pool, it was dusty from builders rubble. We had been told that you only notice the construction if you "look for it". What absolute twaddle! Okay so not the hotel's fault that a huge structure was being built there but still, it ruined any plans we had to spend time around the pool. Also - the Comfort Suites themselves were in the midst of renovating rooms so the "garden area" was constantly full of rubble, fibreglass etc. The bartender around the pool bar said that the building works across had been going on for around 9 months already (nowhere near finished) and she had personally had lots of complaints. Room was okay, clean but a little small to be honest. Staff - some were friendly, the manager was an angel, other staff - the younger ones especially could do with customer service training. The lady who worked in the kitchen area (breakfast is included) acted like we were really putting her out when we told her the boiled eggs were gone.
All in all, I wouldn't go back, which is a shame because it has the makings of a nice hotel, but with the lack of any view, even with the adjacent building finished (hopefully it will be within 6 or so months) it makes the pool area dark and dismal, blocks out the sun and is just miserable. How that building got planning permission is beyond me. Oh and also, the pool bar was constantly frequented by dirty smelly builders - okay it is not the Ritz, but come on people!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caymanbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We had a studio suite with kichenette and a sofabed. Beds were comfortable and it was clean but a bit cramped for 3 people, but served our needs. Breakfast was basic waffles, bagels, yogurt, etc. the usual and we ate there every morning. Free internet in the breakfast area. Bar/restaurant at Comfort Suites was very good and priced about the same as everywhere else that serves burgers & fries (around $75 US for lunch). Pool area was nice but apparently they do pool parties for the local kids and that was a bit annoying on a couple of days. But who wants to go the pool anyway, you are in the Caribbean for gosh sakes. Bad thing was no chairs provided for the beach, which is VERY narrow (and no shade) in front of Comfort Suites. Every other hotel has them, so we had to be content with lying in the sand on our hotel provided towels whilst looking at the folks at the Marriott next door with their nice lounge chairs and umbrellas. You can walk to Coconut Joes, Cimboco (def go here for yummy local food). Staff was friendly although we got kind of ripped off at the "spa" there at the hotel. We got charged for the 60 minute pedicure and got the minimal service so be clear beforehand what you are requesting/paying for. All in all ok but if the Marriott is in the same price range, i would opt for it next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HokieKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

I almost cancelled my reservation after seeing the one star review but could not. Well I don't know what hotel that person stayed at but I found the Comfort Suites was a fine place to stay especially for the money.

My room was clean. The carpet and furniture were clean and nothing to complain about. The bedspread was cleaner than most. The best was very comfortable. Yes there is only a fiberglass shower enclosure but it works fine. The bathroom is too tight for two persons but was clean and well lit. My only real complaint is that the hot water was not as hot as I would like.

The hotel itself is pretty basic but it is well placed. There are a couple of good restaurants within walking distance. One is just accross the street. If you need water there is a Texaco that has a pretty decent food shop about two blocks away. For kids there is a Wendy's about three blocks away. The breakfast is pretty basic but I found enough that I could happily eat.

The hotel is not on the beach but that should not be news. The pool area is decent. The walk to the beach is short and I had no problems with the construction going on. You are right next door to the Marriott and the beach is nice there. Just be careful if you swim behind the Marriott as it has placed concrete pieces in the water that are meant to help preserve the beach.

I stay in a lot of hotels and I'd stay in the Comfort Suites again without thought. It is a great value for the money. I've attached a photo of my room which, incidentally, had both a functioning smoke alarm and sprinkler.

I can only imagine that Mr. One Star managed to very much irriate the staff sufficiently that they put him in a room that was in the process of being redone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,794 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,348 reviews
19.2 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,690 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach

Address: 22 Piper Way, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1200, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $249 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with someone you know. The hotel enjoys an excellent location beachside in the heart of Seven Mile Beach area close to restaurants, bars and shopping and with breakfast and basic wi-fi access included offering excellent value to the traveller on Seven Mile Beach. While not a beachfront property guests access the beach by a small path a few feet from the back door. The hotel offers 5 suite types: 2-bedroom, 1-bedroom with efficiency kitchen as well as Business Pool View King Studios, Deluxe Studio with 2 beds and Queen Studios each with mini-fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee pot are ideal for any size of family and budget. Onsite Restaurant and Dive Shop with snorkel trips to Stingray City offers convenience at your door step. Best location, best value on Seven Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites 7 Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing