We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed two weeks at this Hotel, and enjoyed it emensly. Staff was helpful and friendly. Exellent restaurant. Rooms very clean, could have had a little more maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilford_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    502
    109
    23
    25
See reviews for
415
786
96
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

All the positive reviews that has been written about Sunshine Suites is true! From the moment we checked in, everything and everyone was completely accommodating and pleasant. Here is a summary of our stay:

Rooms/Accomodations: Extremely clean and comfortable. The kitchen is great especially if you are on a budget. We went grocery shopping and only spent money for dinners since continental breakfast (which includes hot eggs, sausage, potatoes) is included with the stay. The grounds at Sunshine Suites are well maintained and just simply beautiful. It is located across the street from the Westin and a short 3 minute walk to a beautiful beach. I was there mid Aug and the most crowded our little beach area got was maybe when there were 4-6 other people there. Most days there were only us and another woman…
Location: Hotel is about 15 minutes away from the airport. 10 minute walk to a shopping plaza which includes a huge supermarket called Fosters, a liquor store, Haagen Daas and a KFC. Across the street or 3 min walk to the beach, 35-40 minutes drive to Rum Point.
Food: We ate most of our dinners at the Sunshine Grill (it’s the restaurant of the hotel) mainly because it was convenient and the food was really good! Unlike traveling to Puerto Rico, DR or Jamaica, we didn’t find a lot of local type cuisine in the Cayman Islands. Seems that jerk chicken/pork are as pretty local as you can get. Lots of restaurants seem to offer “fine dining” which I’m sure can cost a lot more than what we were willing to pay. MUST TRY THE SNAPPER REUBEN! Fish tacos is the winning dish of this restaurant, and it is delicious but for me,the SNAPPER REUBEN is WAY better!
Activities/Excursion: STINGRAY CITY is great experience but make sure you book it with CAPTAIN DEXTER! Ok..here is the low down- most boats that take people on this excursion are packed with tourists. (approx 40-50 ppl on each boat) Captain Dexter has a fairly regular sized catamaran and he doesn’t take more than 20 people at a time. When I went, there were only 11 of us. This means that the tour allows for a much more personal experience. Captn Dexter and Simon (co capt) are so passionate and knowledgeable about the ocean, the sting rays and protecting the reefs. They took the time to talk about them, made sure everyone who wanted to, had the chance to feed the rays and even take a picture holding them. We didn’t have a waterproof camera and Capt Dexter asked if anyone had a camera on the boat so that he could take the rays a little closer to the boat so that we can take a picture. My friend and I took turns getting on and off the boat to take pictures of each other with the sting ray and he patiently waited. A local I met told me that the only person he will recommend is Captn Dexter as he really cares about giving the people a great experience while most companies are just in it to make money. After sting ray sandbar, he also takes you on a snorkeling trip. He offered us complimentary drinks during the ride as well as a Soca/Reggae CD as a souvenir. You wont regret it!
-We rented a car for a day and drove to Rum Point- personally, the beach near the hotel is much nicer and more secluded than Rum Point. Here, the lounge chairs are close together and I would imagine that it can get pretty busy. We went early in the morning and stayed for about an hour so it was still pretty empty. It’s a nice drive and a nice place to take a few pictures so if you have a car, take a ride.
-Snorkel @ Cemetery Beach! (long walk from hotel, 5 minutes drive)
CAR RENTAL: Driving here is fairly easy although it is on the LEFT side. We rented a car from Andy’s (they have a location near the hotel and airport) and we were able to request a steering wheel on the left side this way it wasn’t too confusing. Rentals were btwn 31-35 dollars U.S. for an economy car so totally worth getting even for just a day or two.
“ON A BUDGET” TIPS: -Go to grocery and get snacks, cold cuts and drinks if you’re planning on being on the beach all day. We brought snacks with us and a bunch of small Ziploc bags so we didn’t have to take the entire bag of Cheezits to the beach.
-Bring a portable cooler with you!!
- Bring your own snorkeling gear if you alrdy have one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkiptomyLuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This resort provides quality accommodations and services at a reasonable price. The suites were well kept with a kitchenette. Maid services were top notch and concierge services were the best. The Sunshine Grill on the resort grounds had great food. Breakfasts were excellent, and lunches/dinners were excellent at a reasonable price. Beach access was easy and the resort provides free towel and chairs for the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infrequenttraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Great place when you are on a budget. The room is very clean and is equiped with a small kitchen area with a microwave and cooker. It exceeded our expectations! The staff are very friendly and happy to help you at anytime. The bed was very comfortable too. The beach is across the street so cross the main street and walk through a pathway to the beach. Felt safe despite having a ground floor room. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My wife and I recently returned from a 5 night stay at S.S.R. (August 6-11) and we were very pleased with everything, from the warm and friendly greetings at reception, to the absolutely delicious food and drink (if you like margaritas, you MUST try their "perfect margarita" -- Patron silver, GM, and fresh lime juice -- all for around $9 -- that's a $15 margarita where I come from easily, and their burgers truly are – as voted -- the island’s best), we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Never have we ever seen a Caribbean hotel receive consistently stellar reviews on Trip Advisor until now, and this place earns that right. They really know how to make you feel welcome, and the grounds are kept impeccably neat, as are the rooms. If you’re a diver, the helpful staff will arrange trips through their preferred outfitter, Divers Down, who will provide roundtrip transportation and introduce you to the most exquisite dive sites I’ve ever visited. Upon return, dip tanks and hanging stations are available for SCUBA gear, which is a nice touch and a much better alternative to storing wet gear in your room. While you're there, be sure to ask about "Nelson the weather dog" who is the G.M.'s beagle and absolutely adorable. My wife and I fruitlessly searched for him all week and when the G.M. heard we wanted to meet him, he brought us over to Nelson’s "work station" to say hello and scratch his floppy ears. Stay at this resort -- you will not be disappointed. We’ve been to the best and the most expensive throughout the Caribbean, but after awhile you just want something clean, comfortable, and affordable, which is what you get at Sunshine Suites. Bravo to these hard working hospitality professionals for setting the standard that all other hotels should follow. We will definitely be back, probably this winter.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed here as part of a diving package, not sure what an off the beach hotel might mean for us. At this location, with the Westin and Redsail sports across the street, the beach was little to no problem and the dive shop and inteaction with all the divers at the hotel was great. People from all hotels come here to eat "the best burger" and it lives up to the reputation. The suites were perfect, grocery stores very close by for provisions when not eating out. The entire staff, not often can you say that, was terrific, courteous and go out of their way to be helpful. Darren was awesome. Funny, but if you came solo to this hotel, one would feel welcome and not alone. First rate and would go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiledesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My wife and I experienced a most wonderful vacation week at the Sunshine Suites Resort and I say this with both of us having travelled abroad extensively.

The staff was a most outstanding feature, absolutely nothing was too much for those we interacted with and Michael and Renoir stand out most - even helped us to get a diving boot repaired at very short notice.

Room was a delight, always cool, spotlessly clean and fresh, the bed was one we would like to have taken home with us, it was that comfortable. They also organized us a late book out on our last day.

Definetely will go back there the next timne we visit Grand Cayman Island.

Well done to you all and thanks for the very best of experiences

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlalawena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing