We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modestly Priced - Super-Friendly - Perfect Position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Set just 200 yards back from one of the best parts of Seven Mile Beach, this hotel had everything I could have wanted.

The staff were helpful, courteous and friendly.

Breakfast served by the pool and dinner in the little restaurant was fresh and consisted of Caribbean specialities.

Swimming in the sea at dawn was a memorable treat and though busier, evening swims were wonderful too. [I don't expose myself to bright sunshine, so I cannot comment on the beach at midday.]

Easy access to central George Town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblingRose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,597 - 1,603 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2010

If you're looking for a pampered resort, this is not your place. If you, like us, just need a nice, clean place to shower/sleep, then you'll love Sunshine Suites. The grass is just like golf greens, the landscaping is perfect, and everything is clean and neat.

The staff could not have been nicer, the restaurant is great, and they're located close to several great attractions. With the money we saved on the hotel cost, we went on several excursions and did some "once in a lifetime" things. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToddAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I stayed at the Sunshins Suites hotel for two days in April 16-18. This hotel is so clean, neat, pleasant. I am usually a snob when it comes to hotels, but this was the only place in the Caymans, and it was good enough for me.

the only problem that I have with this hotel is that there is hot water in the shower is not hot enough. Other than that..this was a very pleasant clean hotel for the price and I felt very safe.

I hope my review helps....

Happy Travels!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gottagolbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We had to find an hotel in Grand Cayman for 2 days before moving into a condo. We wanted to avoid the high prices of beachfront properties and chose Sunshine suites which is across the 7 mile beach road.
It was a great choice....We had a little suite where we could have cooked had we wanted to but instead we ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel restaurant which turned out to be a great choice (good basic food....very decent breakfasts are included in the price and we had really good fish tacos (reasonably priced) for lunch).
The restaurant is right beside the hotel pool which we didn't use but it did look inviting.
The hotel is just across the road from the Westin and the Ritz and beach access is pretty easy. The hotel supplies chairs but of course they are not the ones with shady covers but still....after all you are not paying Ritz prices either.
The price (of close to $150US per night) was the most reasonable we could find in the area. Other hotels including Comfort Suites would have been well over $200 per night.
All in all I thought the hotel provided great value for money - well maintained, good location and good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank hamilton44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Family of five spent one night at the Sunshine Suites prior to moving into our condo for a week. The staff was wonderful and the place could not have been any cleaner. It is a good location, across the street from the Westin, and an easy walk to the beach. While there, be sure to try the Sunshine Grill on the premise. Great hamburgers and fish tacos and very reasonably priced. The room was a little tight for five of us, but we expected that. All in all, a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMichaelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My wife and I went for her 40th birthday. The trip was scheduled for February but had to be changed to March due to an unexpected death in the family. We went through Orbitz and fees were applied because of the change. We went to the front desk when we arrived and spoke to Trina Gordon. She contacted Orbitz and refunded $163.00 imposed by Sunshine Suites, through Orbitz, on to us. The resort was totally within their rights to attach this "fee" on to our bill, but Trina was totally understanding and compassionate to our circumstance. Thank you Trina! That was a great introduction to the kind of people we would be staying with for the next 4 days. The waitstaff in the bar gave us tips on all the places to go (and not to go). The location of this inn was great for restaurants and not a far drive from Rum Point. If we had the luxury of going to Grand Cayman again, we would stay here, no doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomandkrsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a week ( March 17-24th,2010) at the Sunshine Suites.
We were so pleased with the wonderful staff and accomodations. Our 1 bedroom suite was clean and bright, with a big comfy bed. The furnishings were clean and comfortable and the suite kitchen was more then we expected.
The front desk staff went out of their way to ensure we were happy and comfortable. The gardens offer cool shade to relax in a hammock or sip a drink under a palm.
Crossing the road to the beach was easy. The beach chairs and towels that the suites provided were great.
I did not have one complaint at all for the entire week we were there. All the staff are very nice and very helpful. Smiling faces and helpful hands made for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyJaneMaritimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,390 reviews
1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
552 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
462 reviews
1.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $292 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing