We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Sunshine Suites Resort, Grand Cayman”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Sunshine Suites Resort, Grand Cayman”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I travel quite often, primarily for business. This time I travelled to relax and I was able to do just that. It was a wonderful and refreshing experience. The suite was beautifully modern and included all the necessities right down to the cutlery. The staff were most
courteous and helpful including front desk, cleaning and the Sunshine Grill staff. I truly enjoyed my stay and I was very happy that I was able to keep in touch with my staff overseas through the very reliable high speed wireless internet service. Will I return to Sunshine SuitesResort - most definitely - 5 Stars

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeTee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    517
    112
    24
    25
See reviews for
435
806
98
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Just returned from a quick getaway to Grand Cayman, and we could not have been happier with picking Sunshine Suites as our home base. We got a last-minute deal and picked it thanks to the reviews here. Our room (studio suite) was exactly what we needed - a place for our luggage, a bed, a bathroom and a small kitchenette. The housekeeping staff mopped our floor every day to get rid of the sand that we inevitably tracked in. Everything else was also very clean and the bed was comfortable. The grounds of the resort are impeccably kept, and we spent some quality time in the hammocks. Every staff member we encountered at the hotel and in the restaurant was fantastic. There was never a shortage of chairs or towels to take to the beach, which is just a short walk from the resort. The road that must be crossed to get to the beach access path is busy during weekdays but we did not have to wait very long to cross, and a few times, cars would stop to allow us to cross. Unfortunately there are no umbrellas at the resort or anywhere near the resort's spot on the beach, and you will be shooed away from the beachfront resort's cabanas and shady spots if they see you with one of Sunshine Suites' rainbow chairs.

The free breakfast was fine and omelets are available for $5 Cayman. We tried the fish tacos and the burgers during dinner and they were also great. The Resort is also a very short walk to a few restaurants, a small convenience store, and a liquor store in the small shopping area that fronts the main road

I did notice that occasionally the water in our room smelled a bit "islandy" but it is an island, after all. This did not detract from our visit. All in all, we were very pleased with choosing Sunshine Suites for our last-minute getaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirbymcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beantown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2009

As a airline employee I have traveled to some great places,The Sunshine Suites Resort is the hidden jewel of the Caribbean.My wife and I along with 3 kids stayed 5nts Feb 09 and had a great time.Nadia and the front desk staff made you feel welcome along with the Sunshine Grill staff The food is excellent.try the Burgers or Havana chicken dish ,plenty of beach chairs and towels for all. Skipping Florida and heading for SSR in the future. K.G Boston

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We booked our stay here at the very last minute on hotels.com and we have to agree with all the wonderful reviews. The hotel grounds are beautiful and meticulously kept, the rooms are large and have a small kitchen (perfect for those looking to stay for longer periods of time) and the restaurant has great food! Although it is not directly on the beach, I have no problem taking the chairs and towels the hotel offers and crossing the street to get to the beach. Besides, the hotels directly on the beach are almost double the price. There is a small mini-mart just at the end of the block, a few restaurants and a bus stop. There is no need to take a cab other than to get to the airport, the bus system works great and can take you to all the major attractions. This is our first trip to Grand Cayman and Sunshine Suites Resort but we definitely plan to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tviecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2009

My husband and I have lived on Grand Cayman for over three years and when we decided to host our wedding weekend here, picking Sunshine Suites as a place to stay with all our friends and family was a no-brainer. The staff was friendly and more than accomodating when it came to all our last minute requests. The Sunshine Grill also provided a wonderful function for us around the pool, complete with live music and our own personal waiter. Definitely the best pick on-island for budget planners who expect quality and good service.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl1981_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, MA U
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

My wife and I spent one week at the end of February at the Sunshine Suites Resort. We had a wonderful time. The staff was attentive to all our needs and the room was very nice. We appreciated having kitchen facilities to help defray the cost of eating out-which is high on Grand Cayman. The continental breakfast each morning had a decent variety and was filling. We had lunch our first day at the hotel restaurant and the burgers were very good. Nice restaurants, a grocery store, and other shopping was within walking distance of the hotel. The beach area was nice and less crowded than what we've experienced in Aruba. While the walk to the beach is not that long (200 yards), getting across the street requires patience-as the traffic is quite heavy on the road you have to cross. Beach chairs and towels are provided by the hotel. While the hotel is not located on the beach, it is in a very nice section of the 7 Mile beach area of Grand Cayman. The Ritz Carlton and the Westin are a few blocks away and a nice golf course that leads to a gated community borders the rear of the hotel. We took daily walks on the road bordering the golf course and saw how the rich and famous reside with their nice homes and boats docked in the waterways next to their homes. Shopping in Georgetown was worthwhile. Public bus transportation to and from Georgetown is a few blocks from the hotel. The busses are mainly mini-vans and cost $3 (American) or $2 (Grand Cayman) one way. They run regularly up to 7PM. We highly recommend the Sunshine Suites Resort as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJMTBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Mn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Who needs a costly beach-side mega-hotel when you could be here and be 200 yards from the beach? Easy walk to the water, quiet place to get away from the crowds, nice pool, immaculate grounds, and a fabulous Sushi restaurant practically next door. But don't miss the food at the on-site Sunshine Grill: honestly, The Best burger on Cayman, fabulous fish tacos, and their "Painkiller" with fresh-ground nutmeg on top was perfect. The free breakfast is not fancy, but good and filling and holds you until lunch. Loved being able to have beach chairs to use. The kitchen was somewhat sparsely equipped in terms of cooking pans, but otherwise fine. We did not find Neutrogena products in our suite, if that matters to you---but some other sort of products. More importantly, the staff at the office were all nice and unfailingly helpful with any detail. We were very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
311 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing