We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for an unbelievable location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great price for an unbelievable location!”
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We booked our stay here at the very last minute on hotels.com and we have to agree with all the wonderful reviews. The hotel grounds are beautiful and meticulously kept, the rooms are large and have a small kitchen (perfect for those looking to stay for longer periods of time) and the restaurant has great food! Although it is not directly on the beach, I have no problem taking the chairs and towels the hotel offers and crossing the street to get to the beach. Besides, the hotels directly on the beach are almost double the price. There is a small mini-mart just at the end of the block, a few restaurants and a bus stop. There is no need to take a cab other than to get to the airport, the bus system works great and can take you to all the major attractions. This is our first trip to Grand Cayman and Sunshine Suites Resort but we definitely plan to come back again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tviecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    505
    109
    23
    25
See reviews for
416
792
96
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2009

My husband and I have lived on Grand Cayman for over three years and when we decided to host our wedding weekend here, picking Sunshine Suites as a place to stay with all our friends and family was a no-brainer. The staff was friendly and more than accomodating when it came to all our last minute requests. The Sunshine Grill also provided a wonderful function for us around the pool, complete with live music and our own personal waiter. Definitely the best pick on-island for budget planners who expect quality and good service.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl1981_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, MA U
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

My wife and I spent one week at the end of February at the Sunshine Suites Resort. We had a wonderful time. The staff was attentive to all our needs and the room was very nice. We appreciated having kitchen facilities to help defray the cost of eating out-which is high on Grand Cayman. The continental breakfast each morning had a decent variety and was filling. We had lunch our first day at the hotel restaurant and the burgers were very good. Nice restaurants, a grocery store, and other shopping was within walking distance of the hotel. The beach area was nice and less crowded than what we've experienced in Aruba. While the walk to the beach is not that long (200 yards), getting across the street requires patience-as the traffic is quite heavy on the road you have to cross. Beach chairs and towels are provided by the hotel. While the hotel is not located on the beach, it is in a very nice section of the 7 Mile beach area of Grand Cayman. The Ritz Carlton and the Westin are a few blocks away and a nice golf course that leads to a gated community borders the rear of the hotel. We took daily walks on the road bordering the golf course and saw how the rich and famous reside with their nice homes and boats docked in the waterways next to their homes. Shopping in Georgetown was worthwhile. Public bus transportation to and from Georgetown is a few blocks from the hotel. The busses are mainly mini-vans and cost $3 (American) or $2 (Grand Cayman) one way. They run regularly up to 7PM. We highly recommend the Sunshine Suites Resort as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJMTBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Mn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Who needs a costly beach-side mega-hotel when you could be here and be 200 yards from the beach? Easy walk to the water, quiet place to get away from the crowds, nice pool, immaculate grounds, and a fabulous Sushi restaurant practically next door. But don't miss the food at the on-site Sunshine Grill: honestly, The Best burger on Cayman, fabulous fish tacos, and their "Painkiller" with fresh-ground nutmeg on top was perfect. The free breakfast is not fancy, but good and filling and holds you until lunch. Loved being able to have beach chairs to use. The kitchen was somewhat sparsely equipped in terms of cooking pans, but otherwise fine. We did not find Neutrogena products in our suite, if that matters to you---but some other sort of products. More importantly, the staff at the office were all nice and unfailingly helpful with any detail. We were very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed at the Caymans for a long Valentine's weekend and absolutely loved it - for the price and the quality of accomodations it's an absolute steal compared to what you'll pay right across the street for the other hotels that are on the beach nearby (Westin, Ritz). Crossing the street is no big ordeal as someone else mentioned - pick up the freely-provided chairs and walk 5 minutes to the beach. Beach access is directly across the street as you come out of the Sunshine Suites grounds. The landscaping and hotel surroundings are very neat and well-taken care of, and the hammocks are a nice touch as well. Even the building colors were pleasing to the eye and very colorful, pastels abound, in contrast to the drab faded blue of the Westin and the boring biege of the Ritz. The hotel has its own beach-cleaning station to wash your feet off before heading back inside, which was nice after hanging out at the beach. Towels are also included, so we always had what we needed for the day when we went snorkeling or to watch the sunset (a daily ritual you'll soon come to love). Our room was great as well, no complaints; it was clean, quiet, and very comfortable, just the right size to use as a place to crash for the evening. The service at Sunshine was stellar; Renoir at the front desk was very friendly and accomodating. Everything was stellar in terms of service, and though the Pina Coladas were great, the female bartender was a bit gruff and not very friendly, and even shortchanged us on the drinks, though the rest of her coworkers were very polite in contrast. We didn't dine at the Sunshine Grill but breakfast was quite bountiful and it's a cool hangout day and night. The hotel also had a very hip, lounge-like feel that was a nice respite after hours spent in the sun. It's also very centrally-located in the middle of Seven Mile Beach, as a launchpad to go north or south exploring. We'll definitely come back to Sunshine the next Cayman go-round and highly recommend it to everyone else.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lingopoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We had our hotel booking changed at the last minute to Sunshine Suites and we were DELIGHTED with the change! The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent! You do have to cross a road to get to the beach but drivers are very polite and let you cross and the price of the room reflects that you are not staying on a beach front site. WHEN we go back to Grand Cayman we will certainly use this hotel again and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin, tennessee
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I've been lots of places but none more beautiful and welcoming than Sunshine Suites! From the moment we arrived, we knew we had made the right choice in hotels. The grounds were our first clue that we had truly arrived in paradise. The landscaping is gorgeous and so well maintained. Flowers bloomed in every nook and corner and adirondack chairs and hammocks welcomed you to sit and enjoy the view and sweet aroma. Our rooms were brightly decorated and very comfortable and the beds and bedding extrememly cozy. The best part of Sunshine Suites is The Sunshine Grill. The food and service are excellent. The best fish tacos you ever tasted! The ocean is just a short walk away and the hotel provides beach towels and beach chairs. We loved all the staff and highly recommend this little piece of paradise to everyone! Take me with you when you go!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing