We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here - It is that Simple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and had wonderful time. Room was neat, clean and just what we expected. All the folks there were polite, friendly and very very helpful. All there suggestions and recommendations were spot on. The hotel is across the street from the beach but is an easy walk no more that 5 minutes. They provide beach chairs but you may want to buy an umbrella. We did and left it for the next guest at the chair pick up. The on site restaurant is very good for lunch but did get a bit packed for dinner. Prices at the restaurant are in line with other near the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Christmas 2013 was our first trip as a family to Grand Cayman, we booked 2 rooms over the Christmas week at Sunshine Suites.
The hotel is only 2 minutes walk from 7 mile beach, if you are looking for value for money and you don't mind the short walk to an incredible beach, fantastic snorkelling and breathtaking sunsets then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bernie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I paid $250 in advance for one night at Sunshine over the Christmas holiday. As it turned out, the ice storms across the U.S. delayed our arrival, which resulted in missing this night. I called the hotel immediately (mid-morning of the day of arrival), so they had plenty of time to react (sell the room); however, they wouldn't budge on giving me a refund, dispite the fact they confirmed to me they were sold out. I think that considering they likely sold the room anyway, or at the very worst (for them), they didn't spend any money on housekeeping, laundry, etc., they should have met me half way on the liability. Instead, they refused anything. Very disappointed. We paid this $250, plus a hotel, taxi, and toiletries, for the unplanned overnight in rainy Atlanta.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank millertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gw8522, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear millertravellers,

Thank you for your posting however I feel the need to correct you on our response to your situation and the actions we took to help. When you cancelled your reservation the same day of your scheduled arrival, we asked if you purchased travel insurance (which we recommend to our guests, for situation just like this). You said you did not, so we offered that instead of losing the deposit, you could use that credit on a future stay at our hotel. When you said you did not want to do that, we accommodated you by refunding 1/2 of the deposit, even though our policy doesn't require that and you were fully aware of the policy at the time of your booking. We attempt to be fair with all our guests and I believe we did so in this case also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed over the Christmas Holiday and found the it to be a Good Value. It is important to understand what this Hotel is not. It is not an Ocean Front Resort. It is not a Luxury Resort. If you are looking for that, stay elsewhere. We found Sunshine Suites to be a comfortable property. The rooms are not large, but were adequate size. The beds and pillows were as comfortable as you will find at any Hotel, but the rest of the furnishings, including the pull out bed were average at best. The front desk staff were amazing...friendly, helpful and really "get it" when it comes to customer service (they are so good they take the overall rating from a 3 star to a 4 star). The housekeeping staff and the person working the "continental breakfast" on the other hand didn't share that same positive attitude.

The Pool is nice but again not large like we have found at Resorts. They offer plenty of beach chairs and they have a few umbrellas that you can carry to the beach. It is few minute walk to the beach which obviously isn't as convenient as the Beach Front Resorts but that is the primary trade-off for a significantly lower cost. The grounds are OK at best.....seem to have a drainage issue as the lawn was "swampy" most of our stay.

The Continental Breakfast is not quite up to what you would find at a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express. Not the worst, we have ever had, but definitely not the best.

Overall the positives outweigh the negatives.....it is definitely worth staying at if you are able to get a good deal.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, make sure you get a room away from the Pool area as they turn on the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for a week during Christmas and can confirm the glowing reviews herein. Of the people I talked to on the island this is generally considered to be the best value. One note to divers that has not been mentioned-they have a large rinse tank with a separate shed with individual lockers (you are given an individual key) to store your gear so you don't have to hang your gear in the bathroom. A really nice feature if you're diving. If you want a high end resort that has to be located right on the beach and want to pay $1K/night, this is not your place. If you don't mind walking across the road to the beach and want a nice to play to stay, this is a great option. For my money, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Grand Cayman.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgalt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Sunshine Suites Resort, and would recommend it to others.
First, the staff was incredible, helpful in every way possible. We particularly appreciated Renoir Cota's above-and-beyond-the-call-of-duty helpfulness and professionalism.

Second, the location was ideal, across the street from the best part of the beach, nestled between the Ritz and the Westin. For great snorkelling, go 200 metres to the right, at Governor's Beach, and you can spot sting rays snorkeling right from the beach.

Third, the restaurant at Sunshine was amazing - tasty food (if you're looking for local pub fare), fast service and reasonable prices. There are a few reataurants at the nearby plaza (the sushi one was great). Also by foot, but further afield, we would very highly recommend Luca's for homemade Italian and an outdoor patio view of the sun setting over the beach.

Fourth, the resort war very calm and quiet, and we had no issues with hearing neighbours.

While not show-stoppers, good to note that there is no breakfast eating area (yet - we understand one is planned), and while the coffee and tea are fine, the rest of the breakfast was below our expectations (yogurt, sugary cereal and store-bought pastries that weren't so fresh). Also good to note that some of the rooms are carpeted and none have balconies or offer great views.

Sunshine Suites is excellent value - right across the street from a flawless beach - and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a beach holiday in Grand Cayman at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEV08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this resort, first impressions were how American looking the resort was, but it was to be expected being so close to the US. First time in Grand Cayman so wasn't sure what to expect.

Pros:
Clean room, comfortable bed, free breakfast and the sunshine grill on site had great reviews and when we sampled their food, it was very nice! Very welcoming staff and nice well maintained grounds.

Cons
Air con unit in room was noisy and the room was slightly on the small side.

All in all I would definitely recommend this resort to other travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
360 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $216 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing