We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent stay and I completely understand why people keep coming back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and I completely understand why people keep coming back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have had such a relaxing holiday here. The staff (from reception to the maid service) are very friendly and informative. No request was too much bother and I very much look forward to coming back here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claverh0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    457
    98
    19
    18
See reviews for
377
731
90
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Sunshine Suites is a great place for the cost conscious. It's across the highway from the beach, but in a great location in the Seven Mile Beach area. They grill is truly one of the best restaurants on the island. My husband and I are divers, and our dive master was only a half mile from the hotel. There are lockers for dive equipment and a large rinse tub. The rooms are large and clean. No frills. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed here twice and each time we had a great experience. We will come back here a third time. Restaurants are close by. The restaurant at the hotel has amazing fish tacos. Great atmosphere. The ocean is a few steps away. Awesome experience !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great value, wonderful Sunshine Grill on premises. Staff is exceedingly helpful. Front desk called taxis, helped with directions, just great people. A short walk across the street to beautiful Seven Mile Beach!

Room Tip: For better sleep, ask for a room farther away from the pool and the Sunshine Grill, which is very po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite - everything was clean and there was plenty of space.
The restaurant was very good - the burgers were excellent. Not the cheapest place, but on par for Grand Cayman... Lunch for 2 was around $40-$50.
The Sunshine Suites is across the street from the Westin and the beach is excellent. It is a few hundred yards walk and the Sunshine Suites has chairs you can take.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank absmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
434 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for work so did not pay. Previously we had stayed at the Westin across the street. We had a 3rd story room (no elevators so be prepared) and it was lovely, with a good cross breeze. You need to keep the blinds closed or else anyone coming down the hallway can look into the room. The air con works great, the suite was spacious and the bathroom while slightly small had lots of places to hang a swimsuit or 2. The bed is comfortable and there are TVs in bedroom and living area. The kitchenette was adequate although I did not cook - too much good food in Georgetown. Housekeeping was unobtrusive and very efficient, they always seemed to know when I was not in my room. There is a pool but since we were across the street from the beach, we spent our water time in the ocean which is bathwater warm.
There was a very nice inclusive breakfast when we arrived but they are changing it to a more continental affair (1/2 a banana - seriously?) and keeping the cafe open for paying customers.
Our only gripe is that despite staying at the hotel we could not get food from the restaurant - no room service, no takeaway - because they were too busy and the kitchen is too small. It seems a shame that they can't somehow accommodate a room service hamburger??
Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place although if you can splurge, being on Seven Mile Beach was awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

the sunshine suites are an excellent value for cayman, which is generally pretty expensive all around. all the staff are very friendly and helpful. it has a kitchenette and laundry rooms, so you can save money with those.

there are two bus lines in front you can take west along 7 mile beach stops or east to the downtown george town bus station (if you want to go into george town just sit tight its the last stop for both busses). this is where you can transfer to east end busses. so take these little van busses they are much cheaper than cabs and just as fast!!

oh the sunshine has a pool and a nice restaurant. there are also plazas where you can get beer, sodas and suntan lotions, etc.

beach access is right across the street next to or through the beachside westin hotel. right along 7 mile beach close to the sunshine, we also liked governors park, with its wild chickens walking around and calico jacks beach bar just east of the westin. 7 mile beach is just magnificent and you can walk along and park it and swim anywhere.

all in all if you dont want a lot of typical expensive hotel amenities, i highly rec the sunshine suites. its especialy great for families too.

two more tips -- one is note that it was about $22USD to and from the airport by cab and they come very quickly after the front desk calls. the other tip is if you need an inter-island travel agency service, we used travel pros on dr. roy's drive in downtown george town. its right around the corner from the bus station lot final stop -- they were great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meesalikeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#2 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
#4 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing