We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Close to the beach with a nice pool and decent rooms, Sunshine Suites is a good value option in Cayman. The restaurant serves the best burger on the island, and has a really cool bar with friendly staff. Highly recommended, though best to bring a car.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedroessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great experience, from the friendly staff to the room to the restaurant. Spent a week here with a young friend, and we both had a terrific time!! The best thing about our room was that it had a kithcen complete with large fridge, toaster, microwave, and two burner stove. This enabled us to cook in and enjoy a relaxing night.
The pool is nice, but small. Breakfast is good with an ample selection of eggs, bread, fruit, and baked goods. Everyone was helpful and anxious to please. The beach is a short walk, and chairs are available for guests. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It's not the Ritz, but it's affordable, clean, and welcoming to guests of all ages.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriana425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at Sunshine Suites and I toured more of the island and visited many other hotels to see where they were and what they offered. This 2nd stay at Sunshine Suites confirmed to me what I experienced the first time: Sunshine Suites is a gem on Grand Cayman. It has all you could ask for and my best description is that it is a cozy little hotel.

During my first visit w/my sister, all week long I found myself saying, "my husband would love this", my husband would love that" So we booked it for our latest vacation. We just returned 1 week ago. HE LOVED IT. It was one of the best vacations, one of the best values we have experienced in a long time.

The beach across the street is superb if that is your main focus for you vacation. But other considerations, such as location to town and restaurants makes this a perfect choice also. Its not too close, not too far.

Sunshine Suites has it all. Its clean, Rooms are good sized, each include a kitchenette w/full a full size frig, super comfortable beds, tons of pillows and thick bathroom towels. It was the best sleep I've had in a while. If you are looking for a place that is wild and crazy, this place is not for you. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation that is a good value, friendly efficient staff and delicious food served at their restaurant grill, Sunshine Suites is your place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarieVAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Check in was easy. We arrived at 10 PM, and when we arrived, a guard was waiting for us at the front door with our keys, and showed us where our rooms were.

The rooms are very clean, and having a kitchenette was such a great bonus. The beds and pillows are soft, and the AC ran great.

The grounds were well taken care of, the pool was wonderful, and the on site Sunshine Grill had really good food. Breakfasts were included, and were ok...eggs were served on a daily basis but adapted each day. The eating area is very small, so we went down for breakfast and always searched and saved a table before we got our food. Reservations for dinner are required 24 hours in advance and they go out of their way to make sure guests staying at the hotel are well taken care of when it comes to reservations.

The hotel provides towels and beach chairs for guests.

The location is great. You can walk around the corner for a liquor store, and across the main road to the beach. You can always walk about 10 minutes up the road to the grocery store, which was a necessity after paying several AMAZINGLY high lunch and dinner bills on GC.

The hotel suited our needs, and was everything we needed to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mexsandbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have vacationed twice at the Sunshine Suites and really enjoyed it. The food is great and the staff are friendly. The location is perfect to walk to the beach, store and out for dinner. We will definitely go back to this spot.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KCStravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The rooms are your average Comfort Inn-type of room. The hotel is located on the East side of the West Bay road so forget any ocean glimpse. However, breakfast is included and the food on offer is very good and plentiful. The place is clean and quiet and the restaurant provides excellent dinner options. Grand Cayman is very expensive so if you are on a tigh(ish) budget, when it comes to accomodation this place is as good as you get.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petitprince2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed there In January for business and loved it. The previous trip we stayed at the Ritz and found we actually liked the Sunshine Suites better! It's just more relaxing and not so stuffy. We are taking the family back in July. I can hardly wait! It was clean, comfortable and affordable. We plan to do the captain marvin's stingray city trip again too. This hotel is a great value without all the frills.

Room Tip: would have rated the location as excellent but you do have to leave the grounds to get to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0rrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,370 reviews
1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
511 reviews
18.7 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,706 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $237 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing