We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Good Value... Adventuous Walk to Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Sunshine Suites Resort was decent, clean and provides good value.. but not great. We had two rooms; one room for my wife and I and the other room for our children (17, 21). Our rooms were located on the ground floor which was nice. It was a little noisy (AC/Lawn cutting). It's a plus to have the Sunshine Grill only yards away. We ate at the grill for the delicious continental breakfasts. We had trouble getting a seat for dinner (the first two nights) because the Grill is always standing room only at night (with a minimum of 1 hour wait after 6-7pm). We did do "take out" one night and tried the fish tacos, which were "zesty" and lived up to their reputation as best on the island. The staff were very pleasant and always smiling. We would not likely come back to the Sunshine Suites, but instead stay on the East End (Reef) or Rum Point (long ride from airport but one of the nicest parts of the island).

Recommend renting a car. We drove all over the island, and it really made our trip. Seven Mile Beach was nice, but nothing like the little beaches scattered all over the islands (e.g., Spotts, Rum Point)... We did walk to Seven Mile Beach a couple of times, and the walk was adventurous at best, if not out right dangerous. Someone described it as "Frogger", which was pretty accurate.

If you are looking for a good, reasonable prices and happy staff "base camp" for your trip to Grand Cayman, Sunshine is a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cuomogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Sunshine Suites. Check in was quick and efficient and the grounds and pool area were well maintained. Beach chairs and towels are provided,and there is a complimentary pass to World Gym if you inquire at the front desk. Safety deposit boxes are also provided but you might have to wait a day or so to get one. It would be a nice touch if safes were in the rooms.
We found our suite to be extremely clean and well equipped, with plenty of towels in the bathroom and a great shower! Breakfast which was provided each day was plentiful and the restaurant on site served reasonably priced lunch and dinner. We especially enjoyed the fish tacos and the "havana chicken."
Seven Mile beach and Governor's Beach are across the street. The first you access by walking down a short path, the other is to the left about a block or so down.On this beach shade is provided by sea grape trees and there are picnic tables to use.
Sunshine Suites is a quiet, family friendly property and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAnd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was the perfect place for us to stay on our girls vacation! The room was exactly what we expected and worth the price. It is clean and we felt very welcome and safe. The main road is 1/2 a block from the hotel and we took a quick walk to the beach every morning.The front desk will gladly help you call for a cab and make dinner reservations for you. Just ask! The pool is on the smaller side but we were not there to swim in the pool we were there to swim in the ocean! The restaurant was above average. A daily breakfast is included in the price of the room and we really liked it. The grounds of the hotel were nicely groomed. This is the perfect place to stay with friends or family. You can spend more money and stay @ a hotel on 7 Mile Beach but for us it wouldnt be worth it. Save $ by staying here and spend more money on touring this BEAUTIFUL island!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelers1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I have now stayed at the Sunshine Suites several times and every time we stay we have an enjoyable stay. Their rooms are spacious, clean, modern and very well priced, as an added bonus all of their rooms have a small kitchenette with burners, a sink, microwave and a FULL size fridge. Their restaurant on site is always packed and known as one of the best restaurant on the Island, their staff are friendly and helpful, their resident cat "Paco" is an awesome addition to the team and they are located just across the road from the 7 mile beach. They gave us access to a great gym near by, stored our luggage for free when we took as side trip and didn't want to take all our things and they assisted us in booking heaps of trips all around the Island. We were able to cook our own meals when we felt like it, go out to nearby restaurants when we didn't feel like cooking and overall we've always gotten a great and relaxing stay. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Cayman Islands.

Room Tip: I recommend spending a bit extra and booking a 1 bedroom suite to have a super large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a one bedroom suite, at a good value for this time of the year. The property is well maintained and room was clean. We did some minor cooking as my husband was sick part of our stay. Included breakfast is o.k., but not extensive. Main drawback is lugging beach chairs over a block and across a busy road to the beach. Sunshine Grill has good food choices for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our second stay at Sunshine Suites was just as good as our first . The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Smiles on their faces at all times. The short walk to the beach is not a big deal. Our rooms were clean. Anything we needed was just a phone call away.. Great value.. Only wish they would rent the bikes by the hour instead of the whole day..

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quiet and closer walk to the store/beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our second trip to Grand Cayman. Both times it was the last week of February - first in 2009 and again in 2013. I can't say enough about the Sunshine Suites. They were more than accommodating when we had to change our reservations several times because of conflicts in our original schedule. The concierge also fully accommodated our every need, including booking excursions, rental vehicles and more.
This is half the price of some of the places on the beach and twice the value in my mind. You'd be a fool to consider anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,690 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $235 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing