We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WestJet Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WestJet Vacation”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were at SS for the week of Jan 24, 2013. It was our second trip to the Cayman Islands.
The hotel is ok, the staff were polite but not over-friendly except Paco, the resident feline!
The major complaint we had was the staying on the south west corner, meant hearing the WestBay garbage truck pick up at 6:50am, now I know municipalities start early, but in our & our hotel neighbours opinion, that is too early.
We skipped the daily free breakfast as soon as we discovered what we had bought at Kirks grocery was much tastier.
FYI the hotel doesn't supply a reusable coffee filter for the 10 cup coffee pot or much in the way of good sized pots & pans. You'll have to be inventive if you are planning on cooking for more then 2 people. The one bedroom we stayed did not have a door to the bedroom, so it's a suite.

If you are on the Island during the Taste of Cayman, go.
It is so worth the money.
We were there in 2008 after Hurricane Ivan, & I am so glad to see the difference in the Island, even I was impressed with Camana Bay.

Someone who was on the charter bus to the airport complained how commercial the island was, they apparently had only gone to Cuba before, we laughed and asked if they had rented a car & explored the island, of course the answer was no! First timers!

Now for all you single malt drinkers & you top self drinkers in general, try Seven Fathoms Rum.
Foodies I recommend highly the Havana chicken dish at he Sunshine Grill, it's enough for 2 people.
Go try the Tukka restaurant is on the north east side of the island, try the Kangaroo Sausage!
Yep Kanga on Cayman!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank alpine_eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    505
    109
    23
    25
See reviews for
416
792
96
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice..once in August 2011 with a friend and, more recently, in August 2012 with my husband and 17 year old daughter. The second stay was as lovely as the first. Much has been said about Sunshine Suites so I will hit what I saw as the key Pros and Cons for us:

Pros:
- excellent price point in comparison to the larger hotels and most of the condos that I researched
- even though beach is across the road, it is equal to or shorter than some of the long walks to the beach we have had at some mega resorts
- Darren, Manager...very friendly fellow and can provide great information about the island and little out of the way places that are a must see...staff in general are lovely
- located near the fabulous 7 Mile Beach...one of the most beautiful beaches I have seen
- a family feel
- kitchenette is great; we would pack a soft sided cooler with drinks, snacks, sandwiches before heading to the beach or where ever we were travelling

Cons:
- bicycle rental - wish they included use of bicycles in the price of the room and simply required a refundable deposit for patrons to take them out
- pull out couch in the 1 bedroom suite was horrible...either mattress or entire couch needs to be replaced...the staff valiantly tried to make it more comfortable by putting mattress pads on it but the steel springs and metal frame still came through...our poor daughter was very uncomfortable

Would I/we stay here again? You betcha.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krisrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This property is very well maintained. Our suite was clean and comfortable with an adequate kitchen area. It did not have much of a view (we faced a road and a wall), but we got a good rate through Expedia and didn't expect more. While the pool area is small for the size of the property, it wasn't busy and we enjoyed sitting in the shade of a very comfortable cabana that cost nothing extra. The restaurant was well managed and had excellent food, especially the snapper. Plenty of chairs were available to carry across the street to the famous 7-Mile Beach. This was a fine place to stay for a few nights. We really enjoyed the kindness of all of the Cayman people we encountered, and the water is gorgeous. Would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Sunshine Suites - an excellent choice for a low key, relaxed holiday. Accommodation bridges the gap between self-contained apartments and a full hotel suite experience. This is an informal resort (exactly what we like) without door flunkies, vast receptions, shops, or gyms. The things that matter, namely service, cleanliness, quality of accommodation, and value for money, are very very good.

Suites are located in 2 attractively designed blocks - one at each end of the beautifully manicured grounds. The centre section between the blocks contains a small 2 storey reception block, the medium sized pool, and the Sunshine Grill. The reception is air conditioned and has two work stations for guests to use with free internet access - there is also a book swap bookcase.

Each accommodation block has three floors with 15 excellent one bedroomed suites at each end and a total of 36 1 and 2 bed studios rooms in the centre sections. The larger one bedroomed suites are well worth the additional expense - apart from the sitting area, they have a window at each end and the kitchen, bed and living ares are better separated. None of the rooms have a balcony but all the front doors are on open air walk ways. All rooms have air-conditioning, a full kitchenette, hob, fridge, microwave, kettle, all utensils, iron & board There is a good bathroom, table & chairs, couch and satellite TV (there are 2 TVs in the one bedroomed suites). The rooms are maid serviced fully every day. There is also a laundry facility in each block.

A very good inclusive continental+ breakfast is served in the Sunshine Grill every morning between 7:30 and 9:30. One of our few gripes related to the bizarre crockery and lack of metal spoons at breakfast. Cereal bowls were OK but well worn and made of an unbreakable bakelite style material as were the white square dinner plates - OK in a pool area but a bit eccentric. The real annoyance was the cutlery!!! About 15 metal spoons were put out every day (for 200 guests) - a hotch potch of cheap soup and dessert spoons which were just about functional . . . but when they ran out (about 8 am), cereal etc had to be eaten with a cheap plastic teaspoon!!! Worse was when the steel knives and forks ran out . . . they were substituted with the cheapest impossibly flexible plastic knives and forks.!!! I actually started bringing my own spoon from the room with me. This just seemed like some sort of craziness when compared to the attention to detail in every other aspect of the resort. How much does 50 utility steel dessert spoons cost for heavens sake???? OK really only a minor inconvenience but just seemed odd.

The hotel is set back about 100 metres from Seven Mile Beach, and the landward side of the main coastal West Bay Road. Walking to the beach is no trouble and although the road is busy, drivers slow and stop to let you cross. Once you cross the road, the path to the beach goes between Villas of the Galleon and the Westin Casuarina and there is an excellent section of Seven Mile beach at the end although both the adjacent properties are protective if you encroach too far either side. One thing you will notice for a few seconds on the path to the beach (well away from the Sunshine Suites) is the ghastly smell from the Westin Casuarina's dustbins which are kept in an area adjacent to the path - something that would annoy me if staying in the adjacent property. Sunshine Suites supply beach towels and light reclining beach chairs which are easy to carry to the beach - be careful though because although OK to sit in, the chair legs are short to allow reclining and once they dig into the sand can result in a rather ungainly attempt to get to your feet from the seated position!

There is no official bus service in Grand Cayman but licensed minibuses stop and pick you up if you flag them down. They are marked with a yellow or green circle and come along every few minutes on the West Bay Road. Hiring a basic entry level car is a good idea for going farther afield and is very straightforward although extras seem to bump up the daily rate to about $100US. There is a large Fosters Supermarket about 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel and also various good restaurants nearby (Gateway to India, Edoardos, Luca etc). The hotel's Sunshine Grill is a great venue for a drink at the bar or a meal - burgers are excellent! Something to look out for generally in bars and restaurants is the 15% gratuity - some restaurants automatically add it to your bill but elsewhere it is left to your discretion - at one restaurant we inadvertently added another 15% to the already included 15% gratuity and only noticed after leaving! Never mind - all down to experience!

All in all we had a superb time at Sunshine Suites and would thoroughly recommend it. One final point though is regarding late departures - check-out is midday and if the hotel is full, then there is no proper guest facility with a shower to change in after that. When we got back to the UK we noticed in literature that the hotel has one room labelled as a Board Room but it appears to retain its bathroom and kitchenette facilities - I'm sure it wasn't in use on the day we left so why this wasn't offered to us we don't know. We ended up with a 12 hour flight delay and stopover in Nassau so the extra 4 hours kicking our heels at Sunshine Suites would have been eased a bit with access to a guest facility of some kind.

Room Tip: For quietness/outlook go for top floor 1 bedroom suite at ends facing away from pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymooon at Sunshine suites and really enjoyed it! The property is beautiful and maintained to a pristine status. It was always nice and quiet on the property, so we even napped beside the pool one day! The staff was incredibly nice and helpful whenever we had a question about anything on the island. The complimentary breakfast is an awesome addition to the hotel package, and if you go, you HAVE to eat fish tacos at the Sunshine Grill located just a few steps from your room on the property. You are within walking distance to a bunch of great restaurants and attractions, but rent a bike one day and see where you go! We felt so safe on the island, even took night strolls around the city and beach without fear.
Now, I say that this is a "low-maintenance hotel" for the following reasons:
1) Our room was small, but very very clean! So, if you don't plan to spend tons of time in your room, don't waste your money on another place that gives you a few more square feet.
2) You have to walk a very short distance across the street to the beach. Again, if you want to pay 2x as much for a beach-front property on an island will ALL public beaches so you don't have to walk a block, fine. On occasional days when the wind was blowing right, you could smell the garbage from the hotel you walk past to the beach, but once you get to the GORGEOUS white sand beach, you would've cared to walk through a whole dump to get there.
3) No elevators, but only 3 stories. They always offered to help carry things upstairs for people though!

Overall, we had an amazing experience at Sunshine. Totally relaxing and beautiful!
We had a wonderful time staying at Sunshine suites, and would love to visit again someday!

Room Tip: If you can, get a first room floor, as there are no elevators to either of the other two stories abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

In traveling th Grand Cayman, I lost my luggage. I had to wire funds to a family member to pay for the stay which was paid for. Gregory Wray claimed, to the police on the island, that the bill was not settled. This caused me to honor my word that I would stay on the island until the matter was resolved. To my surprise, Wray, a native of Tennessee, had been paid in full yet claimed that I did not pay. No charges were filed however, due to the drawn out time, it cost me 4800CI to wait around for him to finally confess to the police that the bill was settled well over a month ago.

This man is not to be trusted. The hotel is well kept up however, the manager is an unethical person and although the staff was beyond wonderful, a hotel run by such a man is not worth the risk. Try Comfort Suites or Treasure Island. Sunshine suites caters to Americans so if you want true Caribbean food, its not the place to be. Treasure Island is also about 30 dollars US less per night and puts you within walking distance to George Town where the fun is.

If you like being ripped off, by all means, work with Greg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ottergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

4 adults 2 toddlers and a great time 3 more days left this hotel is a great value and so far we are havinga fantastuc time just remember this place is accross a very busy street from the public beach and though its 200 feet you will be walking behind Westin's garbage area---stinky. the resort is located immediatelly by a plaza where you will find a wine store, Eats (didn't eat there, but heard it's not bad), yogurt place, souvenier store, sushi restaurant. about 1,/2 mi to the left of the resort is Fosters, tortuga, michaels clothing and of course jewlery store. 1/2 mile to the right is a huge plaza with stores< businesses and a smaller version of Sams/Walmart. this is important for those needing produce and articles for the beach. Btw famous Tortuga rum cake is cheapest here, sold x2 packs though. if you r renting a car check at home if your insurance will cover anything abroad as car insurance cost us $150 plus $350 for one week rental. Cant say that we used it a lot, but we did travel the island and went to Bodden town to search Pirate caves as well as drove 3 miles down to the Marriot on Friday for a very expensive,but memorable feadt with music and entertainment. Sunshine suites is located pretty much right behind Westin zcross a busy road. you get free beach towels and chairs, breakfast is healthy; everyday oatmeal, choices of cereal, mini muffins, yogurt, toast and fruit+ drinks hot and cold. Rooms are outdated (decor) but very clean. full kitchen, but no oven; we cooked daily. of course groceries, just like everything else are more expensive than in the states, moreover there is a conversion of 1ci=1.25$, so we spent $400 in groceries for 6 for 7 day stay. do pick up an activity guide at the airport, but front dest at sunshine can book anything you ask for. back to transportation: $17 to airport, $2 pubkic shuttle/bus which runs on a schedule. Btw we got adjacent/joined rooms and brought a baby monitor and my parents next to us babyset with pleasure after hours. Next time I am planning a trip to GCI i will also find out prices for Villas of Galleon---location in my eyes is a bit better with icean views, but no free breakfast,laundry, or pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing