We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the In-Room Kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was my second time staying in the Sunshine Suites. It's still a great value and the grounds are clean as well as the rooms. The breakfast that's included is a little bland but there's a cafe called "Eats" in front of the hotel and they have great food.

My favorite feature is the in-room kitchen. There's a stove, full refrigerator, freezer, toaster, coffee machine, cooking utensils, wine glasses, and dishes. I was able to make eggs and toast for breakfast and fancy little appetizers with wine before we went out to dinner.

My only complaint is that the wireless internet is a little slow at times but it was certainly not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Suites Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the fifth time I have stayed at the Sunshine Suites on business. Whilst it consistently ranks as the Trip Advisor No 1, I imagine some of the 5-star hotels like Ritz Carlton are a bit peeved. It's all down to price, really, which is rather unfair - and masses of favourable reports!

The hotel continues to maintain its excellent standards of friendliness, cleanliness and comfort. I continue to feel, however, that the Sunshine Grill needs expanding somehow; a limited number of tables inside and just 5 served tables outside does not seem to be sufficient for the number of guests who use the restaurant, particularly at "peak" meal times. On several occasions I opted to jump in my car and visit a nearby restaurant rather than wait for the queues to subside.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so if you don't like stairs a room on the ground floor is advisable. None o...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Friendly office staff! Lovely grounds with cozy hammocks. Spacious rooms. Best restaurant on the island. Only down fall is that it isn't located on the beach. But a budget and family friendly place to stay. Free breakfast was an added bonus. I will recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's not fancy but it more than makes up for luxury in friendliness , customer service, cleanliness, and efficiency. The restaurant is great for lunch, dinner or just drinks. The margueritas are excellent. Free breakfast is wonderful and bountiful . I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderwoman7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice hotel, located close to beach. There is also a nice supermarket, called Cost U Less. =) We went there few times during our stay to purchase our rum cakes... =) Cheaper than airport or anywhere, as they had it on sale for 2 big ones for $30.00 CI.
Friendly staff, nice clean clean, bed a bit uncomfortable, but still was nice.
Their restaurant, sunset grill, was also a hidden joy. Nice menu, good food. Breakfast was also tasty!
I will stay here again when I go back. =)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yu234723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose Sunshine Suites based on the reviews we read here, and we're glad we did. It's pretty much what has been described here, it's a clean, decent place but not luxurious. The walk across the street to the beach was actually easier than I was expecting, five minutes tops. The street that you cross, while a bit busy is only 2 lanes with a turn lane and drivers are good about slowing down to let you cross. The walk from most of the next door Ritz is just as far, but they have a pedestrian bridge over the street. We were able to walk to a number of great restaurants from here as well. The pool is small and right by the restaurant and I seldom saw it get used, but with the Caribbean Sea so close why would you want to swim in a pool? We have already discussed possibly returning with our kids someday. It's a real bargain compared to any other place on SMB, as long as you're not looking for luxury, but rather a nice practical place to sleep and shower in a prime location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our fourth stay at Sunshine Suites, and I am pleased to say that it was as good as the first. Property is well maintained, rooms all freshly painted, and with some upgrades with lighting and TV's. Food at the Sunshine Grill is outstanding, and reasonably priced for this Island

Room Tip: Ground floor corner one bed suites are the best layout for senior couples, three floors, no elevator...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilford_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
344 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $189 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing