We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good place to stay”
Reviewed March 10, 2008

When we made reservations the only question I asked was for a non-smoking room and I even called to the resort as the web-site stated that I had a non-smoking room. The clerk I talked to told me all of the rooms we non-smoking. When my family and I arrive there I asked again if the room was non-smoking and was assured that ALL rooms were non smoking. So we get to our room and it truly took our breath away of Cigarette smoke. They did change our room (and told me it was last one they had.) but do they not inspect their non-smoking rooms before people check in them? The problem is my 1st room was on the 1st room and she put me on the 3rd floor.

Another problem I have is that the cooks do not wear any hair netting or hats. Everywhere else we went on the island people had them on but not there. Thank God I do not get or see any hair in my food.

Our wireless internet NEVER worked in out room as stated on their website. IThe front desk staff told us it does not work in all the rooms. They told us to go sit by the pool and it would work.

I agree with the previous person about all the paper, plastic and styrofoam they use at this hotel. They use it for everything.It is truly unbelievable. Also, I agree that the breakfast should be changed up. It gets old day after day. We would go to the Westin and use their Pool. It seemed as long as we were buying drinks at their bar they did not mind.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank geneband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    517
    112
    24
    25
See reviews for
435
806
98
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, USA
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Spent two nights at the Suites in early March. From a value perspective, staying here is a no-brainer. Though it is only a couple hundred yards away from the Westin and Ritz, the Sunshine Suites is a fraction of the price of these other hotels.

On the positive side, the hotel was clean, the staff friendly, the fish tacos fantastic and the cocktails delicious. The rooms were basic, but comfortable.

On the negative side, some parts of the hotel were just a little shabby. There were large burn holes in the awning around the outside eating area, the bar had somewhat of a frat house smell, our shower curtain had a few holes, and the hot & cold water tap was reversed in the bathroom. Nothing major, but we were surprised that the hotel left these obvious flaws unattended to.

Guests should also be aware that this hotel in not actually on Seven Mile Beach. it is separated from the beach by a large empty lot, a road, and then the above-mentioned luxury hotels. That said, the public areas of the beach are no more than an eight minute walk away. Just don't expect beachside accommodations.

All in all, the Sunshine Suites is a good pick for visitors who are willing to sacrifice luxury and ocean view for an appealing price and functional accommodations. If you're looking for a romantic weekend away, stay across the road, but if you want to save your money for food & activities, make a path to the Suites.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrushIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Stayed one night on the way to Little Cayman. Hotel was very clean and welcoming. The two desk people and two people in the restaurant were all exceptionally friendly and professional. The complimentary breakfast was a great bonus.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank hehohop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

Lots of people have written about the good side of Sunshine Suites (good value, clean, well located, lovely staff, great beds), so we'll just mention a couple of drawbacks we found in an otherwise enjoyable stay there.

Principle amongst these was the level of unnecessary waste at mealtimes, with a staggering amount of plastic and polystyrene plates, dishes, cups, glasses and cutlery being used once and thrown away every mealtime. This kind of thing may be common in the US, we have no idea, but coming from Europe we found this inexcusable and environmentally costly. Especially on an island where the highest point is already the municipal dump. We quickly resorted to bringing down the china plates and metal cutlery from our rooms, and we'd recommend anybody else staying to do the same. You don't even have to worry about washing up as the chamber maid will do it for you in the sink in your room!

The hotel has also to catch up with the basic modern hotelier's practice of only replacing towels if they are left off the towel rails. Alistair Sadaway certainly wouldn't include Sunshine Suites in one of his guides at present.

Fortunately we were able to have a very friendly chat with the charming owner from Nashville on our last evening, who took these points on board. Hopefully they'll invest in a dishwasher and proper crockery soon! He also said that they would love to have solar panels and wind power generators, but are prevented by the monopoly on electricity supply by the company that built the polluting oil fired power station on the island. This situation seems ridiculous in a place as sunny and windy as Grand Cayman, and will last another five years until the power contract runs out.

The building sites and prime development land all around Sunshine Suites do also detract from its setting, and you have to cross a busy road to get to the beach. So this isn't the place for you if you are looking for an idylic isolated beach retreat. However, it is well located for the cosmopolitan West Bay road restaurants and bars. We particularly recommend Yoshi Sushi, and the neighbouring cigar/jazz lounge club, just outside the hotel.

One final point is that breakfast was EXACTLY the same everyday. The extremely buttery scrambled eggs and lovely mini muffins were tasty, but quickly grew repetitive and the lack of good healthy options was noticable. It wouldn't take much effort to add a bit of variety, and the excellent fare on offer in the evening shows that the skill is there to do it.

  • Liked — Lovely huge beds
  • Disliked — The wasteful use of plastic plates and crockery at breakfast and other mealtimes
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGrosvenors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed at the Sunshine Suites on Seven Mile Beach for 7 nights whilst on our holiday this year. We selected the hotel because of the good reviews and the perceived value for money. I have to say that once again Trip Advisor led us to a great hotel that met all our requirements during our stay. We spent a little extra and booked an executive room which was spacious, with separate living and sleeping areas and kitchenette in between. The accommodation provided was bright, clean, modern and comfortable. Our only two minor gripes were thatt the wireless internet didn't work very well in our room (worked fine in the bar area), and I personaly found the bed a little uncomfortable.

The Sunshine Grill is the on site bar and restaurant. The food here is simple, but of excellent quality - and very tasty. The fish tacos and burgers are highly recommended. Also the cocktails are worth a try - they are huge and great value. Mike Gill is the restaurant manager and he and Mark really looked after us. Breakfast is included in the accommodation price and is good.

The pool and deck area are a little small, but are scrupulousy clean. Seven Mile Beach is about 200 metres away (across a busy road) and is easily the best beach I have ever seen. The water is shallow and warm and swimming/snorkelling here is a real pleasure.

The hotel is located close to most of the major resorts and consequently there are lots of restuarants nearby. We particularly enjoyed Deckers, EATS Cafe, Legends and the nearby Sushi Restaurant (whose name I have forgotten).

In summary we felt the Sunshine Suites was a great place for a vacation, and we would be happy to return at any time. We had a look around some of the swankier resorts (Ritz Carlton and Westin), and would choose the Sunshine Suites over those places every time.

  • Liked — Sunshine Bar & Grill
  • Disliked — Bed - although it wasn't that bad!
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pga66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed at the Sunshine Suites at the beginning of Dec 07; we were so impressed with the friendliness and cleanliness of the resort. Absolutely everyone was so professional and friendly - from check in (faultless!) to maid service. Our room was on the top floor and had a view of the golf course across the road - it was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed (very important) and clean bed linen and towels. The pool was clean and warm with plenty of sun beds; with the option to take fold up sun chairs across the road to the beach (a few minutes walk away). The gardens were so well - kept a tribute to the gardener! As you can see I have used the word clean several times - but it was spotless! The restaurant was very good with plenty on the menu each evening and friendly staff - the weekly barbque was fabulous - compliments to the chef! Breakfast was included and although perfect adequate I would just say some chopped fresh fruit would have been welcome! We were there to do some diving so the dive wash down area and drying room were really useful. Sunshine Suites is the perfect place to stay on Seven Mile Beach (although not directly on thebeach it is away from noisy traffic and only a short stroll to the beach).

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKSnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in 2003, when the hotel was fairly new. It was amazing! So close to the beach- right across the road and down a little path. The pool was beautiful and the little restaurant outside by the pool was so charming. The food was great too. The continental breakfast was lovely and more than adequate. We loved the the rooms had their own little kitchens too. It's not a fancy hotel, but it was CLEAN, BRIGHT, and so affordable. We barely spent any time in our room anyway! They were running a special when we went that included a rental car with our room, and boy that was the way to go. It was great to be able to drive ourselves around the island. If we EVER are able to go back to the Grand Cayman, THIS is the place we will stay!

  • Liked — The price!
  • Disliked — Nothing! Loved it all!
  • Stayed May 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina7041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
313 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing