We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at sunshine sweets because we got a groupon to go during the off season. We were very happy with our stay. The rooms were huge with a nice kitchenette and super comfortable bed. The whole place, including the rooms, was immaculate and very well maintained. 7 mile beach is just across the road behind the Westin and the hotel provides complimentary beach chairs and towels. The hotel has one of the best restaurants we ate at and is within walking distance to a big grocery if you want to save money by using the kitchenette. Staff was wonderful... So sweet and helpful. Only downfall is missing a view of the ocean but a small pitfall to such a great experience. Definitely a great value!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Suites Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel and staff are terrific. Can't say enough about the way they make you feel welcome. Front desk staff will accommodate any need. Stay here or waste time and $ somewhere else.
If you are a diver they have a rinse area where your outfitter can drop you off and a separate little bldg w/lockers and drying rack for gear.
Don't hesitate to stay @ the best resort on the island; Sunshine Suites!

Room Tip: If you are a diver, request room near Dive Lockers and rinse tank.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would recommend anyone traveling to Grand Cayman to stay at Sunshine Suites. You will meet the most helpful and courteous staff... They are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay special! The rooms are comfy and clean. It makes you feel right at home. The Sunshine Grill has great food and very friendly staff!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite is like an apartment.. Great value for the money!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from our holiday in Grand Cayman having spent two weeks at the Sunshine Suites. I picked this place based on the reviews here, price and the fact my wife and I are not beach bunnies - we don't need or want to spend hours sitting on the beach.

We were not disappointed with Sunshine Suites!

It's very good accommodation, particularly for the price, and we had a twin room for the two of us - more than enough room and we even got a mini kitchen area & full size fridge. This was great, food is expensive on Grand Cayman, so having space to store/prepare our own helped keep costs down. We didn't have a kettle, so had to make tea/coffee boiling water on the cooker hob. Not exactly a big deal. Everything was clean, well maintained with friendly staff - absolutely everything you want in a place to stay.

In terms of location, this place is across the "main" street of 7 mile beach (hardly a busy road!) and it's maybe 5 - 10 mins walk from your room to the beach. Because the beachfront areas are mostly owned by the huge, anonymous, chain hotels there are some restrictions on where you can sit but not really restrictive. Sunshine Suites also provide beach chairs for you to carry over, at no cost, though supply isn't infinite! However, the location is great for a large number of local restaurants, often used as a pickup point for dive/snorkel trips and other tours as well as being close to a supermarket, mini-mart and liquor store, again all good things for keeping the cost of your trip down. Quick tip, supermarkets often DON'T sell beer/wine and almost everything is shut on Sunday, so stock up ahead of time. Pretty much the only things open on Sundays are restaurants and dive shops.

The on-site restaurant, the Sunshine Grill, will be reviewed separately but it's pretty good, albeit limited in what it offers. It doesn't offer room service - if that kind of "luxury" is what you need on a trip then I doubt you'll even be reading this review!

So in a nutshell - it's CONSIDERABLY cheaper than the huge, characterless hotels that line the beachfront, it's ideally situated to see all the main tourist activities/restaurants and is well placed for local amenities. We couldn't find anything to fault it, definitely recommended!

One tip that I do want to share though - avoid taxis, they are $30-$40 Cayman dollars, a total ripoff. Look instead for the small minibuses plying their trade up and down the main street. They will have coloured circles on the front/back with a number and a letter. This is the official, safe bus service and it took us a few days to realise this, we were looking for single decker buses. These minibuses are great! $2 cayman per person for as far as you want, stopping where you want - they will toot/flash you to see if you are interested. We loved them!

Room Tip: Don't stress about a "good" room - the rooms are only difference in terms of their siz...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank indigo_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A trip to the Grand Cayman Seven mile beach we went to Sunshine Suites Resort. The prices started at $120 a night and we stayed for three wonderful days. There was a fitness center, swimming pool, free breakfast and so much more. We took advantage of as much as possible in our three days. We spent most of our time on the beach, we did have to go to the Store once for an umbrella but during the rain, we were able to remain outdoors. Sleep was deep and sound even with some occasional noise. Would we go back? Yes!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were ready to move away from all-inclusives and tailor more of our own family vacation.
With alot of research, and reading other reviews, we zoomed in on Grand Cayman Islands and one resort really stood out from the pack - Sunshine Suites Resort!

We had the best family vacation ever- it's a smaller property, so that guests and other families enjoyed some conversations each day, sharing new places to check out!

We really enjoyed having our own kitchen, with grocery stores close by that meet or beat other North American groceries! We enjoyed the 3 minute walk to the beach.

Can't beat the location along Seven Mile Beach and its spectacular sunsets! Sunshine Suites started us off each day with a great breakfast buffet, and the restaurant was a very popular spot for both lunch and supper!

Staff were incredibly helpful, pleasant and responsive for any requests we did have!
We will definitely be back to Sunshine Suites!

Room Tip: Main floor units allow you to sit outside your rooms and enjoy the sunsets. 3rd floor corner unit o...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A2ZFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We travel to Cayman every year & always enjoy staying here!! I love how friendly & helpful the front desk staff & other personnel are!! The grounds are such a relaxing place to be! The rooms are very comfortable & accommodating! We enjoy the restaurant & pool area!! A short walk across the street & you're at the beach!! It's our favorite place to be!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
342 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $189 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing