We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, super clean, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at the Sunshine Suites for 3 nights in November and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Grounds are very well kept and lovely with the palm trees and hammocks, and the buildings are very well maintained. We had a studio suite on the first floor and our room was extremely clean. One thing we really noticed about the room is how quiet it is and you cannot hear any noises from neighbouring units. The free wifi was so nice to have.

All staff members we encountered during our stay were extremely helpful and friendly. And Paco the hotel cat was also super friendly ;)

It was nice that the hotel was only a 2 minute walk to the beach, however, I'd like to note that the "little road" you need to cross to get to the beach is extremely busy. It's one of Grand Cayman's main roads and is very very busy with street traffic almost all the time. There is no set of lights or crosswalk to cross the street, so some moments we had to wait a very long time for the traffic to break before we could cross.

Overall our stay at the Sunshine Suites was excellent with no complaints about the hotel. Stay here if you don't need to be directly on the beach, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The hotel pillows were SUPER puffy, never had such puffy pillows at a hotel... so you may want to br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachgirl380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Pros:
*smaller hotel
*very clean and comfortable
*nicely manicured grounds with plenty of shade
*excellent grill restaurant on site
*continental breakfast included
*very friendly staff
*just across the street from 7 Mile Beach access
*use of beach chairs, towels, and even a sun umbrella
*pool convenient
*beds comfortable
*kitchen adequately stocked with dishes, pots, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, cooktop, flatware, etc.
*would happily stay here again next time we visit family (who live on the island)

Cons:
no negatives to report

Room Tip: We had the 1 bedroom suite, on the second flooor that faced into the courtyard (pool and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keenest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This Hotel is a lovely place, the rooms are clean, bright and well airconditioned. The swiming pool is small but good. The on site bar and cafe/restaurant are good and the staff very nice and talkative. The hotel is a very short walk from the beach. This Hotel is a fair way from the capital George Town although you can catch the local bus or a taxi or hire car would be recommended. The worst problem is the mosquitos, you need lots of protection.

Room Tip: All are with a kitchen and fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave195499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Perfect location beside the Ritz Carlton on Seven Mile Beach. At half the price for bigger and better rooms. Walking across street to the Governor's beach and INCREDIBLE REEF SNORKELING for free. Resort is extremely clean, friendly and helpful with all aspects of your stay. Beach Chairs and beach towels are provided for free and the beaches are a 3 minute walk from your room

Free continental breakfast will save you everyday and the bar/grill is great and cheaper than off the resort. AMAZING FISH TACOS. Voted best in town. Try them!!!

Small intimate family atmosphere.

Rent the smallest car your luggage will fit into and you are a short drive to everything. Cemetery beach is great. 5 minutes away for nothing but relaxation in the shade at the beach. Plenty of restaurants in 5 minute drive

Great place!!! We will come back

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scftrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I've stayed at Sunshine Suites twice recently, and I love it! The staff are very friendly, the rooms are immaculate, and the landscaping is very well done. WiFi is included, which is a big plus, and my room was equipped with a fridge, stove, microwave, and other amenities that came in handy. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normanallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights, completing a 4 day diving package arranged through the hotel during this time. The quality of the accommodation was very good, it was clean, spacious, and we had a kitchen included. The Sunshine Grill was very close to our room which was useful at we had a 7.30 pick up each morning for diving so it was good to be close to breakfast and the office.

The resort is reasonably close to restaurants (our favourites were a 15 minute walk away), a grocery store (10-15 minutes), and Eats Cafe right outside the resort was very good if you dont wish to go very far. There is a mini mart outside the resort which doesnt stock a lot but is useful for water and snacks. The beach is very close by (you need to leave the resort and cross the road).

The Sunshine Grill served excellent food, and the pool was never too busy so it was easy to spend a couple of hours relaxing by the pool in the afternoon if you wanted to. Taxis could be called from the office and always arrived promptly, and generally the customer service was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chili4417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We enjoyed our honeymoon at Sunshine Suites Resort very much. Our room was clean, cozy spacious and convenient. All staff members were friendly and thoughtful. The food at Sunshine Grill was spectacular, delicious and atmospherically pleasing. We were within 5 minutes walking to the beach. Wow! An awesome vacation. Thanks to all the staff!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourmoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,408 reviews
1 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
579 reviews
18.7 mi away
Compass Point Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,759 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $291 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing