We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great restaurant on location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, great restaurant on location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed here over Easter and had an enjoyable stay. All rooms have outside doors and the grounds are very nice. The beach (the best in the world) is a seven minute walk. Hotel supplies chairs and towels and beach access is located between the Westin and Ritz. Breakfast was included and was good, enough to keep us full until late afternoon. the highlight of the hotel is the restaurant onsite. Very reasonable prices and good selection. Food choices are limuted on the island so we ate mostly at the hotel and all the food was very good. Good hotel for shorter stays, price was one third of the Ritz and half of the Westin so I would consider it a good bargain.

Room Tip: hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSpartans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    493
    107
    23
    25
See reviews for
411
773
95
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We spent 2 weeks at the Sunshine Suites for our honeymoon and we couldn't have wished for more. It's very well situated in the middle of Seven Mile Beach and we were spoilt for choice with regards to restaurants near by. The Sunshine Grill however, was the best value for money we found and the tacos and salads were fantastic!
The staff at the hotel were always willing to help and the room we had was really clean and very comfortable. The grounds of the hotel are really pretty and we didn't have any issues with the road to cross to get to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoJo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on a last-minute getaway to the Cayman's. Once again, TripAdvisor did not let us down. We had to make a quick decision on a hotel, and Sunshine Suites was PERFECT! Great value for the great location and superior rooms. We stayed in their largest room, which could easily pass for a nice alcove studio here in NYC. And the restaurant really puts this place over the top. We couldn't justify eating anywhere else the whole time we were there! Everything was so good...highly recommend the chopped salad and any of the tacos. This was our first trip to Grand Cayman, and because of this great hotel, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlisonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the hotel  The rooms and grounds were clean and very adequate for the price.  The personel working in the front desk, bar, restaurant and cleaing crew were exceptional.  We felt like everyone went out of their way to be helpful.  Two examples. First,  I overheard one of the front desk staff loan a customer $4 for the bus because the banks were closed on Friday.  Second, a guest wanted to golf with his friends while staying on the island.  Only one of the guests brought his clubs, so his friends were going to have to rent clubs at the club.  The gentlemen behind the desk offered to loan his clubs to the guest and his friends so he didn't have to rent so many clubs. You don't get that kind of service or generosity in most hotels.  Outstanding!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilabes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for our summer vacation. We decided to stay here for a few reasons. 1) it is not right along the beach so you aren't going to pay a bunch of extra for that, but it is a very short walk from the beach. We didn't mind that at all because we didn't spend a lot of time in our room except to sleep! 2) It has a kitchenette. We don't like to eat out every day so we liked being able to cook some more "healthy" things on our own while we were there. There are some grocery stores withing walking distance 3) It is a beautiful place!

When we arrived we were treated great...we got there before check in so they gave us a cold bottle of water and held our luggage for us so we could look around while they prepared our room. That was really nice after our flight. The people answering the phone at the front desk were always really helpful and willing to do whatever they could to make our trip great. The grounds were amazingly beautiful and very well kept. The rooms were very nice. It is not the Ritz, but honestly we liked the simplicity of the rooms. They were also very spacious. Come to think of it we didn't use the living room a whole lot because of all the space.

The best part about this place I think are the beautiful grounds and the restaurant. Some friends we made came over from the Westin and they commented on how beautiful it was. The pool area is so nice and they have towels for you. They also have chairs for you to use if you go to the beach which is really nice (no charge). We rented the bikes for a day and they were very comfortable and "trendy". The restaurant is amazing! Breakfast, which is included, is one of the nicest breakfasts I have ever had at a restaurant or hotel (did I mention it is included?). We looked forward to breakfast every day. The other meals at the restaurant were equally great. I recommend the fish tacos and there is a reason they won awards on the island. We met some locals and they said it is one of the best restaurants on the island and they go there often. It was not crowded there at all, but be aware that during spring break or in the "peak" seasons, it may be.

If I had one thing to criticize it would be one experience on our last day when we wanted to go to a certain outing. We called and asked about it and they said just come down to the office in the AM and there shouldn't be a problem getting to do it. When we got there someone else informed us that they couldn't set it up based on the timeline our flight was taking off. It very well may have been a miss-communication, but it was kind of a bummer. I don't think they intentionally misled us. :-)

Summary - If you don't need to be right on the beach I think you will love this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timdw5s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Everything was wonderful here. The room was great. Also the service. The restaurant is a real find, with reasonable casual dining. A good full breakfast is included - not the usual continental style. There are many varied dining options within walking distance. It's a short walk to the beach, crossing a fairly busy road. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas are provided. There is excellent bus service on the same road.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougF1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wind Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Excellent place to stay while in Grand Cayman. Our room was very clean and efficient and provided a good nights sleep. The decor and atmosphere of the whole place is light and airy. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and meticulously maintained with plenty of places to just sit and enjoy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Whatever your interests are, they seem to be able to hook you up or answer your questions. The location is great with a short walk to grocery stores, restaurants, bus stops and the beach access is only a few minutes walk away. The beach access for Sunshine Suites is fantastic. The sands are like white powder and the waters are crystal clear and warm.
We would highly recommend Sunshine Suites when planning a visit to Grand Cayman and plan to return there ourselves on the next trip.

Room Tip: We couldn't find fault in any room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slstaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,925 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Property: Sunshine Suites Resort
Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts | Seven Mile Beach, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing