We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Great hotel even though not ON the beach, it is like a 3 minute walk. Hotel offers free beach chairs and towels. The price is great as on the beach is so expensive. The couple that runs the place are so friendly and nice as well as all the staff there. The bar and grill is a great place to eat as well. If eating at bar and grill, it get's super busy so go early and put your name in as we realized it was a 30-60 minute wait. It is inexpensive at the Sunshine bar and grill and great service. Not a lot of eating places to walk to. We did walk to the store and grab food for lunches and such, it was like a 10-15 minute walk. When going to the beach we went over by Governor's beach area and there is a big tree with shade for those who want a little rest from the sun. The beach, I thought was the best on the whole island. I had researched a lot of hotels and for the price, I was truly happy with my choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anchorage-CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

If you can't afford or don't want to stay in one of the hotels/resorts that are right on the beach, Sunshine Suites is a good option. Just a short walk across the road thru the Westin lot and you're on the beach. There are lots of chairs provided for you to take to beach if you wish, but they're chairs with short front legs to sit in water, not loungers. short legs.
As noted in other reviews, the staff are fantastic, very helpful with restaurant selections in the area and making reservations for you.
You can take taxi or bus into town or to other locations in area. Taxi is expensive and we found the bus much cheaper and more fun. $2 Cayman or $2.50 US per person compared to a $30US taxi ride for a couple of miles. Bus stop right on main road just beside hotel.
Pool is small but pleasant, with about 12 loungers on one side of pool. Other side has tables for Sunshine Grill. Only 4-5 tables outside, but never seemed to be a problem to get one for breakfast or lunch. Also lots of tables inside the restaurant which is right beside the pool.
Free internet access in main building with two computers available. Also apparently free wireless in your room if you bring laptop.
Can't compete with the Ritz, Westin, Marriott for amenities or beach location, but comfortable and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DogDaze12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Customer service is alive & well at Sunshire Suites! From questions before booking, upon arrival, all thru stay, and even after we got home, all levels of staff provided exceptional service. Other establishments should go there to be mentored! Extremely well run hotel & restaurant.
Beds are VERY comfortable, rooms clean. Well equipped if you'd like to cook, heat up food or have cold drinks in your room. Short walk to spectacular 7 mile beach, Local small buses very close by, can ride to Georgetown for $2 Cayman Island dollars. We took bus up to Cemetary Beach, Turtle Cove & lots of places - it was fun, safe & seamless. Grocery store within walking distance (or can hop on bus). Liquor store & small souvenier shop right around the corner.
We're scuba divers & were picked up & dropped off at hotel every day. No worries! Sunshine does have its own diving rinse tank & hanger area but we didn't need it as dive company rinsed, dried & had gear ready for next day. World class diving on Grand Cayman for sure. Still, you must do the tourist trip of stingray city snorkling. They are most beautiful, gentle creatures - you'll be surprised at how much fun it is.
Sunshine Grill? Everything I read before trip said that was the place to go for great tasting food at reasonable price -they were right. Fish tacos- yum, Burgers, the best. Margaritas you only hear about-they serve them here!...and their famous "headache remedy" tropical drink. OYE! Huge breakfast. Not just typical bagles, cream cheese, muffins, toast, waffles, cereal etc. They have that all plus: Hot eggs, sausages, home fries, tropical fuits & more. We found that breakfast was so filling, we only needed to buy dinner at night. We ordered the dinner specials which were served with such a variety & quantify of food, sometimes we brought some back to room for lunch the next day. Highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outdoorgal333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The hotel is situated just across the street from seven mile beach, a mere couple minute walk. There is amble beach space, situated between private condos and the Westin. The hotel amenities, such as pool and bar, are smaller than its Westin and Ritz-Carlton counterparts. But the food at Sunshine grill is amazing. It is within a 20 minute walk to restaurants and bars, and you can also take advantage of the other hotel restaurants without paying the increased cost of the room. The front desk people are very courteous and will take care of all of your needs. I have nothing bad to say. Free breakfast, including eggs, waffles, muffins, bagels, etc.

Take a bus, for $2 CI instead of the buses.

If you are looking for more luxuriant accomodations, however, this is not your place. The rooms are big enough, slightly bigger than Holiday Inn and they have a small kitchen. But the Ritz and Westin offer slightly better accomdations, but you pay for them.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

On our recent trip to Grand Cayman, my husband, son and his wife stayed at the Sunshine Suites Resort. We were all very happy with our choice. It was so relaxing, with a real island ambience. It was advertised as having a continental breakfast but to our surprise there were eggs, sausages, waffles, fruit, muffins and more and everything tasted delicious. What a way to start the day!! The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and willing to help in any way they could. I will certainly stay there on my next trip to the Caymans. It was a little expensive but well worth it. I would highly recommend it to anyone going to the Cayman Islands.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

As an outlier review, I do encourage you to read the average(3) and poor (2) reviews- I find them to be spot on. While I wouldn't say the place is poor it is by no means excellent. If you stay for more than a few days, the breakfasts begin to stare back at you. They are the same, everyday. You get eggs. You get diced potatoes, sometimes with sausage accompanying them. You get cantaloupe or watermelon, basic cereal, and then your basic selection of yellow food (waffles, muffins, toast). It is served on paper and plastic. For paid meals, the restaurant food is much better, too bad it doesn't convert to breakfast. If there is a wait for lunch, they will not do take out which is a shame so you wind up going to Eats, a diner that is less than a 5 minute walk away.

Knowing the establishment was across the street beforehand means I can't complain about it. However, not having enough beach chairs is inexcusable in my opinion. There is plenty of room on the hotel grounds to store more.

They are running a "credit" promotion where you get 25% of the hotel price back for use on either the in house restaurant or various activities on the island. If you choose this package, please be very clear with the front desk folks that you want to use the credit. Also, ask the front desk for details on the things available or you'll find out later that other items were an option. I would even ask about this prior to arrival, as things like the car rental credit is through a company only at the airport and they might be sold out once you arrive.

They had live music on a Friday evening. It would be nice if they did this more than once a week. They opted to remodel their business center in peak season. Seems like odd timing. Not a big deal as they do have wireless, but still odd. Lunch and dinner food was very tasty, although they didn't have wine glasses available the night we ordered a bottle of wine. The waitress was embarrassed and eventually found champagne flutes.

The Caymans are great. This hotel is what it is and makes a very expensive place somewhat reasonable. But it's not a five or four even when taking price into account. If your expectations are tempered this place is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oudez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

If you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean and reliable hotel on expensive Seven Mile Beach, this is a great option. But be aware of its strengths and weaknesses.
We stayed for a week in a one bedroom suite with our two teenage daughters. The strengths include reasonable price, separate sleeping areas, basic kitchen facilities, good hotel restaurant (Sunshine Grill), included basic breakfast, location walking distance to all needed locations (beach, grocery and wine supplies, outings operator), front desk willing to answer all questions, wifi that worked, working laundry facilities.
Weaknesses are relative. They are may or may not be important to you. They do, however, include: location across a busy street from an absolutely beautiful beach, often not enough beach chairs, rooms have no outdoor space, sitting area very dark, kitchen poorly supplied and has only 2 chairs, uncomfortable sofa bed, no door between sleeping areas, fitness centre not within walking distance.
I would certainly come back to Seven Mile Beach but would look for a suite with a patio or balcony (beachfront would be heaven).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amhOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
358 reviews
18.8 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $192 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing