We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condo for families”
Review of The Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avalon
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent last week in Condo #12. This is our third stay at Avalon Condos. The unit was very clean and spacious and perfect for my 2 and 4 year old daughters. We had the whole pool to ourselves every day and the beach was also not crowded - there is plenty of shade. We love having a garage for our rental car (we always use Andy's). Daily housekeeping is wonderful. Great views from the screened and un-screened balconies. Our freezer was not working properly and management sent someone out to fix it that day.

We were also told in advance that there would be construction going on during our stay (replacement of sliding doors) and received a significant discount. I was a bit annoyed because we had only booked days prior to that email and knowing that information may have made me choose another complex. But we thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would stay at Avalon condos again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for The Avalon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 46 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had 3 couples sharing this condo. Plenty of room for all of us. Updated appliances in the kitchen. Loved sitting on the porch and enjoy the view while we ate or had cocktails. It was great having a washer & dryer right in the unit so you don't have to pack to much clothing. Having a garage kept our car cooler then sitting out in the sun. The grounds and unit were very clean. Only negative with the units is that you can hear through the walls in the unit. Also a little from the unit above or below you. We would stay here again. Location is great.

Room Tip: Middle units have 1 large porch where the side units have 2 separate areas.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glpbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

First, I have to say that this condo was extremely clean, had everything we needed with an amazing view. I have nothing but good things to say about the condo itself. Before we arrived we received an email stating that they would be doing construction on doors in the condos and that our rate would be discounted for our stay because of the inconvienence that it would cause. When we arrived the office manager discounted our entire stay. We then receieved a call two days before our departure saying that there was a mistake and that our whole stay should not have been discounted and now they need more money from us. We were also told that we needed to move our car out of the garage by 4pm to allow the new doors to be delivered in our garage! My husband went down and talked to them in depth and showed them our previous email that we had received and they still insisted that we owed them more money and that there had been a mistake and that we shouldnt have been discounted in the first place. This is simply just extremely poor customer service. I will not stay at this condo again only because of this situation which is a shame because the condo itself is great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zaz04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Multiple repeat renters of these wonderfully managed and perfect location condos on 7 mile beach. Well built and maintained with covered garages for your car. Staff is friendly and efficient. Quiet side of 7 mile beach with beautiful pool. Seldom are "vacation renters" allowed to stay in such expensive and luxurious facilities. Well appointed with high end appliances (ice makers,wine coolers, dishwashers,compactors etc.) - 3 bedroom / 3 bath - beach front with screened porch. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've always resisted recommending the Avalon because I want to keep it for ourselves--but everyone deserves to try this absolutely perfect property. For almost 20 years our ever-growing family has come to Grand Cayman every year (except after Ivan). We stayed in a few nice places, until we booked the Avalon six years ago--and never looked back.Three lovely buildings, all only three stories high (unlike the newer mega-buildings that seem to be cropping up further down the beach) and elevators for easy access. Beautiful grounds, wonderful staff, gorgeous and comfortable units; all this on top of the best view ever. The ocean goes on forever and the sunets are picture perfect; either sit on your balcony or on the beach with other sunlovers to toast the sunsets. The sugary soft beach is never crowded and always perfectly kept up. The pool is a refreshing alternative to the warm, bouyant ocean and the grandkids love it. The adults love the hot tub. The small gym is well appointed and not ususally too busy. We've had many family celebrations and lovely dinners here--the balcony is the perfect place to begin and end the day. Units are tastefully decorated (we have a couple favs we always try to stay in), the modern kitchens are well appointed with great appliances, including a washer and dryer.The Avalon has grills for each building to use. Each unit has a garage and it's an easy drive to anywhere on the island. It may be more expensive than many places on the island but worth it. Note, December is a very busy time and the weather can be a little cooler in January-February but we think that's just fine, especially since it's a little quieter--though the island itself is alway peaceful. Can't wait to get back next year.

Room Tip: Some folks like the ground floor units, which open directly onto the beach, which is easier with chi...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kh0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is an upscale ondo on Seven Mile Beach and is very quiet and peaceful. It has a very nice pool and whirlpool and a very nice beach setting. The unit we had was a 3-bedroom and was very tastefully decorated. The highlight is the two porches - one screened and one open.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have been visiting Grand Cayman from Europe since the early 90's and have tried various locations on Seven Mile Beach but found nothing like The Avalon. We are coming back ... again ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
611 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Islands Club
The Islands Club
#21 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villas of the Galleon
Villas of the Galleon
#9 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Silver Sands
Silver Sands
#12 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regal Beach Club
Regal Beach Club
#11 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon

Address: West Bay Rd., Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $1 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Avalon 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the most luxurious Grand Cayman condo complexes on Seven Mile Beach. The Avalon Condominiums offers tranquility to all guests, with its spacious and private condos all facing the crystal clear water of one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Each of our elegant, oceanfront villas features 3 beds, 3 baths, gourmet kitchen, screened dining terrace, and stunning beach views. Amenities include a fitness center, swimming pool, tennis court, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Seven Mile Beach
The Avalon Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing