We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's what you make of it!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
1 review
“It's what you make of it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Pros:
Clean Hotel, Great Service
Good Location, Beautiful Beach
Solano Restaurant for lunch was great

Cons:
Small Hotel with small pool (but spent most of the time on the beach anyway)
Not many options for food at hotel
Uncomfortable bed
Pricey

Comments:
Not a bad option if you can get a good deal at this hotel. Not the largest resort on the Island but more affordable than the others. The rooms were decent, housekeeping always forgot something but if you called they took care of it right away. Very friendly staff.

Used Red Sail for Stingray City Tour and Avis at the hotel - convenient so it was fine if we paid a few extra bucks. Solona was great for lunch, expensive but truly enjoyed all our meals. Went out to dinner most nights - Reef Grille (walking distance) and Calypso Grill are great options. Chicken Chicken is near hotel, can be a good option for an inexpensive meal as well as Champions for local food.

Go to the supermarket or gas station to buy snacks and beverages, there is a fridge in the room. Rented a car for one day - drove to Georgetown to shop for souveniers, drove to Rum Pointe for a nice day at the beach (Jet Ski rentals much cheaper than hotel) and drove to dinner at Calypso Grill since its far from the hotel. Well worth the $60 to rent and fill the tank. Cabs can get quite expensive.

Overall a great trip!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyReviews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,913
    1,405
    309
    151
    68
See reviews for
1,562
2,086
125
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
424 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed here in August of 2009. They do not have roll away beds, but they had a sofa bed for our son. The hotel is a little tired and in need of some paint. But the room was comfortable and the bed was absolutely fabulously comfortable!

The best part about this hotel was the location. It is right on 7 Mile beach and it faces west so that every night you can sit on the beach and watch spectacular sunsets. The pool is very small and too warm, but the beach is great. The beach also has an artificial reef so that non snorkelers and swimmers can still see the fish and marine life around the beach.

The staff was very pleasant and the service was prompt and lovely. It would have been nice to have had a concierge who was on duty more often. Also the Red Sail sports that is run out of the hotel is not the best outfit for the trips on the island, although the Avis rates there were the lowest.

We *very* much enjoyed our stay. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We booked two of the most inexpensive rooms for 4 nights and when we arrived, they upgraded us to one oceanside suite and a poolside access 1st floor oceanside free of charge. I just had to ask and they gave us better rooms. Of course it was the slow season and the hotel was not full, but a nice surprise for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baddogmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

changed hotels from Comfort Inn to Marriott and what a nice hotel. Staff was so nice and gave me a early check in of 1030A. Breakfast buffet was included in room special and was good with great service - staff always friendly. Prime beachfront with great snorkeling area. Room very nice with great products in bathroom. Very nice infused lemon/lime water in lobby during day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

My boyfriend & I of 4 yrs went here just recently for 6 days. This was his first time out of the country and I haven't been out of the country in about 8yrs. And let me say--this place is absolutely beautiful! The Marriott is in the center of it all on Seven Mile Beach. Not too far from the airport (like 15/20 min). Rooms were clean, the hotel is immaculate, the pool was nice though they needed to clean it a little more often (floating leaves/bugs) but the beach is literally steps away--gorgeous! We stayed in a courtyard view room which was nice--it looked down on the turtle lagoon. Make sure you set up some day trips with the Red Sail Sports folks. We went to Stingray City & we did a sunset cruise--loved it! The island isn't that big but you should definitely get a car to get around. Beware of the Budget Rental Car at the airport!!! I made my reservation with them through Cheaptickets.com. When I arrived--they asked me if I wanted the insurance they offered--I declined. They then informed me that including my rental fee, they were going to hold $1000 on my credit card and if I accepted their insurance they would hold my rental fee plus $500! Ridiculous! I quickly canceled my reservation with them and walked over to the Dollar Rental Car--they were very friendly and offered me a bigger car for $10 more than what I was going to get at Budget and there were no hidden fees or holds. So make sure you check into that when renting a car. Other than that slight snag--our overall vacation was the greatest--can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suprmdl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

The hotel itself, was nice enough as was the staff. There is a condo being built next to the hotel so there is construction noise. We knew this coming in so we were pre-warned. We were placed on the side that was next to the construction but the room was nice and big with a view of the ocean so we thought we deal with it. On the same side there is also a Comfort Inn that can get pretty loud from pool parties, DJ's and live bands, this was enough to keep us up at night . With all of the noise, our relaxing vacation was not so relaxing. I did talk to management and they were very helpful and gave us a court yard room. This room was much quieter but somewhat smaller and had a slightly musty smell. The hotel was full so we decided the slight musty smell was better than the construction and hotel noise. Food on the island is expensive so be prepared. The dollar is worth eighty cents to the the Cayman dollar so that made food even more expensive. The are several places to eat with in walking distance with fairly reasonable prices but no really stand out places. The beach itself in front of the hotel is gorgeous . Great snorkeling right out front and we enjoyed morning strolls every morning on the beach. Word of warning- do not order frozen drinks at the Marriott bar. I am a light weight when it comes to drinking but my margaritta was like drinking a very expensive slurpee- no alcohol!!!!! If you truly want a frozen drink, make sure you watch them make it so you can see what is put in it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkles59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed at the Marriott from August 5th to August 10th, 2009. The hotel itslef is nice. It is definetly the best location on the 7 mile beach. We have been to many islands so we know our way around. This island is dead - it is a rock in the middle of the caribbean. It does not have any personallity at all. Now as far as the Marriott itself - its nice. The rooms and the lobby and the beach are just great. The food is so overpriced I almost had a heart attack. CI dollars are 120% more than American dollars - so be careful. The food and resteraunts are the most expensive that I have ever experiened. If you value a dollar and hate to spend money on food - DO NOT GO THE THE CAYMAN ISLANDS. I am not cheap but I was getting in figjhts with my family about the prices. One night my wife finally convinced me to eat at the hotel. We had the Caribbean night out on the beach for 4 people - my wife,two teenage sons and myself. Buffet - decent food. How much do you think it costs? ------ $285 american for average food. Stupid. I will never go back to the Ci because 1. not the interesting 2. way way way overpriced. If you do go - go to stingray city - the best deal on the island and really the only thing to do outside of the hotel that is worth it. Its not even worth it to rent a car - which we did and drive around the island - dead - georgetown - dead. If you do go - eat breakfast across the street at Cocunut Joes - 5.75 CI for a good breakfast - vs - the marriott rip off for 16.95 for a very basic buffet. - Now I have read many reviews on this site and would not BS anyone. I am fair and telling the truth. Do not go to the CI>>>>> ps. internet wifi access is 15.95 CI perday - crazy...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kctkruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing