We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 4, 2009

beautiful hotel, great location, staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,932 - 4,938 of 5,348 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2009

I read a lot of reviews before booking and was nervous about this property. We had a great time and great experience at this property. Room was above average. Moldy smell in air conditioner but every room ever stayed in in the Carib has that odor. I leave slider open and enjoy the fresh brezze etc. Food was flat out good at this place. We used points for all inclusive and ate like kings. Crab cakes and tuna as well as sea bass and grouper. Great food. service terrific also. I highly respect this hotel property.
Grand Cayman is a quiet place though. We dove each day and that kept us busy. If no diving only thing to do is sit on the gorgeous beach Marriott has.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank letsgetoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Although I live in Florida occasionally I like to travel to the Caribbean or South Atlantic islands for their clear water and beautiful sand to enjoy the beaches. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. Seven Mile Beach is the best on the island. This hotel sits right on the famous stretch of beach. A gas station, grocery store, restaurants, etc. are close by.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. The inner courtyard of the hotel has a nice garden with a pond that stretches the length of the building, running from the lobby to the beach. It is beautifully landscaped and has turtles swimming about. The resort offers complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas. The food was very expensive, as is typical of resorts and hotels, but was good. Drinks were okay but not very strong. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful.

My only complaint, and it is a troubling one, is their irresponsible behavior towards the environment. Unfortunately, many guests would put out their cigarettes in the sand and just leave them there. Many guests were European so there was quite a bit of smoking going on, this made for lots of litter on the beach at the end of the day. Plus, many guests just left their plastic drink cups, straws, etc. on the sand. Each evening we watched the tide roll in and all that trash get swept out to the ocean. One night when my husband and I just couldn't take it anymore we asked the beach bartender for a plastic bag and picked up a lot of the litter we saw oursleves, but obviously this is just a small portion. Given that many human beings are selfish and lazy and won't pick up after themselves despite the articles and news segments about the danger to oceans and wildlife plastic waste poses it falls upon the hotel employees to clean up after these pigs. Sad, but true. When Marriott puts a hotel on a beach, they are responsible for making sure litter isn't making its way into the ocean from THEIR guests. However, apparently Marriott could care less because no one cleaned up this mess on the beach. Each morning we'd find some remnants of the prior day's leavings. Guess the management figured the ocean did its job for it every night so why bother. It was really disappointing and disgusting to witness. Marriott ought to be ashamed!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 8Chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights with my 12 year old son. We went to Grand Cayman for the scuba diving and this hotel was certainly adequate for that. The hotel is a short drive to downtown and close to restaurants and a movie theater. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The room was typical Marriott, with comfortable beds, a clean bathroom, and an excellent (and quiet) air conditioner. The pool is quite small. My son and I didn't even put a foot in the pool but we did enjoy very good snorkeling at the beach. The hotel contains a Red Sail Sports outlet through which one can arrange any water sports, including scuba diving, parasailing, sailing, and water skiing. (I definitely recommend a trip to Stingray City, where one can swim, snorkel, or scuba dive with very friendly stingrays in shallow water.) Breakfast was not included in the room rate I got through Travelocity but some people had theirs included. At nearly $45 for 2 people, the breakfast buffet was not inexpensive. The variety of foods at the buffet was not extensive but was adequate. One thing I found annoying was the over $15 per day charge for WiFi access (it is free at the Comfort Inn next door).

The Marriott is definitely a good choice if you have your heart set on going to Grand Cayman. I personally would much rather return to the Riviera Maya in Mexico, an Iberostar all-inclusive resort in particular, because of the greater variety of activities.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ctmb-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We were surprised by other reviews. We thoroughly recommend staying at the Marriott. We had booked to stay at the Courtyard Marriott 3 miles down the beach but due to hurricane damage the Marriott changed our booking at no extra charge to the main Marriott. Our room was superb no problems at all. It was kept beautifully clean and we had a side view of the gardens overlooking the turtle pool. We had breakfast each day in the hotel which had a very good selection of food although a bit pricey (Food everywhere is quite pricey). The service was very good and all the staff were extremely friendly. We liked their badges which had their name and Country they came from. We ate dinner in the Solano restaurant in the hotel on our last evening. The food was good and service was very personal as we were the only couple apart from one other lady in the restaurant. We tried the buccaneers feast buffet on the beach on the Friday. It was great sitting on the beach watching the sun set as we ate. The food was very good but It did take rather a long time queuing for dessert as they made the crepes while you waited. Even though they were delicious.
The beach was well organised with plenty of chairs and umberella. Lewis was in charge on the beach most days and worked very hard indeed to supply umberellas and chairs for everyone. We also watched him one evening working into the night clearing up towels and rubbish(why can't holiday makers clear up their own mess!) and putting the chairs in order for the next day. He really earned his wages!
There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Our favourite was the Thai Orchid 10 minutes walk towards George Town. The food was fantastic. We went there twice. The pandan cake dessert is recommended , it had the most amazing flower pattern in the custard.
Deckers restaurant (about 15 minutes north) was good but quiet pricey. Coconut Joes just over the road is a bit of fun if you just want a steak, burgers, ribs or fajitas. No frills but great food. There are two large supermarkets within walking distance which have a better choice than some in the UK.
George town is within walking distance if you are fit but not much open when the cruise liners are not in. They usually arrive Tuesday to Thursday although on Easter Monday we saw four moored off shore from the hotel beach. Many passengers were taken by bus to the beach about half a mile from the Marriott but some walked to our beach and used the chairs. Staff were very vigilent and they were charged for the chair.
Snorkeling off the beach at the man-made reef is great, lots of fish. We saw a small stingray, angel fish, tarpon, barracuda, green grouper and many more we couldn't name.
We hired a car and drove around the island. Very easy if you come from the UK as they drive on the left. The roads are good. The turtle farm is very interesting and worth a visit. Pedro St James Castle is not very well marketed, but we had a great time being told the story of the castle by an ancestor of one of the slaves that built it in 1790 There is also a theatre/film show with some very special effects, it wasn't what we were expecting. A great visit.
Hell is a bit of fun. The Botanical Gardens are worth a visit and many Iguanas were wandering around. A very busy beach is Rum point on easter Monday where all the locals congregate.
The whole island is very flat, not as picturesque as other Carribean islands and quite Americanised. We felt very comfortable and safe here. The locals are extremely friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but be prepared to spend a lot of money on food and drink.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We just got back from a trip to the Marriott Beach Resort in Grand Cayman on 7 mile beach. We stayed there for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Overall, our experience at the Marriott was great, some pros/cons...
Good points...
--kind staff
--BEST beach/snorkeling right off the beach. Take your own mask/snorkel (we did), so you don't have to rent from the resort. We saw tons of fish, even a barracuda! Could walk as far up the beach we wanted!
--clean room
--walking distance to lots of restaurants
--beautiful scenery (turtle pond)
--gym was small but had enough equipment
Bad points...
--expensive food/drink at the hotel (which was probably the norm for all hotels, given that it's Grand Cayman)
--didn't get refills on soap/sugar on a morning or two
--construction noise on the beach during the week, none on weekend

Just some Grand Cayman tips (in General)...
--taxis are very expensive. we went to the bus stop across from the hotel and took the 'bus'--which were vans, come every 5 minutes and only 2.50 per person. Just like a cab but MUCH cheaper!
--downtown Georgetown closes when cruises gone, at 5:00!
--wanted to do the lighthouse restaurant but were told it would be $60 per cab ride!
--Good places to eat...Hemingways, Reef grill (great view!), Cimbocos for breakfast, Yoshi sushi. Also went to Coconut Joes--too much $ for what we got!

Overall, great trip!! We'd probably return!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank g2prince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Marriott Grand Cayman is a decent resort. The staff is friendly and the hotel is very clean. Like most resorts, any food or beverage purchases are very expensive. Many of the other guests went to the local markets and brought liquor/food back to the hotel. Everything on the island has a 15% gratuity added. Everything is priced in (KYD), or Cayman Dollars. However, if you’re from the US like we were, then they convert it to (USD) before they run the bill. The island uses a .80 to 1.00 USD. The Cayman Dollar trades at .82 and doesn't fluctuate daily like the Euro does. The only thing that upset us was that Marriott takes 12% of the 15% added gratuity and that is how the servers are paid their salaries. If you like your server, then give them an extra tip!

We traveled to Casanova's, Papagallo's, The Wharf, & The Ritz for dinner. Absolutely fantastic food! Again, be prepared to spend the money and it will be well worth it.

The weather was fantastic and the Marriott has a wonderful beach w/ snorkeling right on the water. There are many local stores in walking distance and George Town is about a $10 USD cab ride. If there is not a cruise ship in the port, then most of the shops are closed.

My wife and I aren’t scuba divers, which is disappointing in a beautiful destination like the C.I. We took the submarine ride that dives about 100 feet. It was pretty cool and you could see a lot of marine life. The cost was about $100 USD per person.

Overall, we would come back here in a heartbeat. We weren't prepared for the $75 breakfast and lunches, but everything was well worth it in the long run. We had no problems and the people on the island are very friendly and accommodating. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davemoore76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
397 reviews
19.2 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $472 - $998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort makes you feel right at home. All of the spacious 295 guest rooms at our Grand Cayman resort have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar - a perfect place to end the night in the Cayman Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing