We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacked up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jacked up”
Reviewed May 26, 2008

I booked a rate of $128 a night and when I got there they jacked it up to $260 and no apology. In addition there was going to be no power on the day I was to get married. You think they would let you know that kind of stuff in advance.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wmannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,185
    1,453
    326
    156
    74
See reviews for
1,726
2,214
128
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,548)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Great location, on the beach, far enough way from George town to be relaxing but not so far it is a drag to get in. There are a number of good night life spots and restaurants nearby. The hotel is very clean they have kids programs, and a theme each day. The internet access is good, actually if you are on one side of the hotel you might be lucky enough to pick up a free internet point from across the road. The beach in front of the hotel changes size after each near miss hurricane but it's white sand and beautiful. They have placed artificial reef pots in the sea to attract fish so there is nice snorkling to be had very close by.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsy-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, TN
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

I returned from Grand Cayman May 11th after 6 nights. My room at the Marriott was on the 4th floor facing the Comfort Suites. I still had a nice view of the ocean from the balcony. The room was above average. I thought it had a large bathroom and a nice sitting chair. The pool area and beach were great.

My purpose for this trip was snorkeling. I thought the beach in front of the Marriott and then up to the Treasure Island resort was the best place to snorkel in front of hotels. The rocks in front of Treasure Island is where I saw the best stuff. Along this area I saw several barracuda (one over 4 feet), a peacock flounder, porcupine pufferfish, queen angelfish, among others.

Governor's reef was just OK, I found better snorkeling at other locations. Cemetary Beach along seven mile had really good snorkeling. This was the only place I saw a spotted eagle ray. The reef goes out really far; it's a long swim but worth it. Here sergent majors and other fish swim right up to you and they were even hitting me in the legs. I didn't think Eden Rock was that good. Maybe I never found where the really good part of the reef was. The only interesting thing I saw here was an octopus. Smith's Cove was a really good snorkeling spot. Lots of coral, fish, and squid. You just snorkeling along the rocky shoreline.

One day we drove to Rum Point. There is almost no snorkeling here, so I really didn't care for it, but it was nice to drive all around the island. The views were amazing. I also took Captain Marvin's boat trip to sting ray city. Of course, the best snorkeling on my trip was from the boat at the barrier reef. I highly recommend Captain Marvin's.

Ranking the best snorkeling spots from shore: 1) Marriott beach to Treasure Island 2)Cemetary Beach 3)Smith's Cove

I also ate at lots of great restaurants. All the reviews I read were true; Calypso Grill is the best place to eat. I got a great seafood entree there and had the sticky toffee pudding. It was probably the best dessert I have ever tried. I can't describe how good it was. It's severed warm, so get it with ice cream.

Ragaozzi was the second best place I ate. Once again good seafood and bread.

I also tried Papagallo's. I really didn't care for the black and yellow pasta with scrimp and scallops, but the apple tart dessert was really good. Casanova's was good too. I really liked Cimboco across the street from the Marriott. The pizza and ceazer salad there were so good. I highly recommend going there. I also ate twice at Eats; it was very good too, but I liked Cimboco better.

We rented a car for 4 days and had no problem getting around. You really need a car if you are an avid snorkler like me. Also, the airport was not a zoo on my return flight home. We got there 2 and half hours before the flight and that was more than enough time. We had to sit around close to 2 hours.

Overall, the snorkeling was very good and I had lots of fun. But I do think snorkeling was better when I went to St. John.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

I have been also at the other (cheaper) Marriott on 7 mile beach, during the same trip, so you can compare my reviews.

This Marriott is on the more crowded part of the beach, where the big condos are. It is okay, but I would expect a bit more from a 4 star hotel. The furniture in my room looked a bit dated, particularly the bathroom. My balcony had a view over the construction site that others have mentioned, but I did not complain as I was staying only for a couple of days.
Breakfast had a good variety of delicious pastries, fruits, and savoury food, but was a bit expensive. Internet access with the hotel's computers was also charged.
Access to the beach is through the nice courtyard, populated by some iguanas.

If you are on a business trip, ask to get booked to a better hotel. If you are on holiday, try to get a discount, otherwise look for another hotel!

  • Liked — breakfast and courtyard
  • Disliked — room furniture and view
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotourist75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte,nc
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Our time at the Marriott was fabulous from the time we arrived until the moment we left. My husband and I where traveling with 2 other couples who this was their first time to Caymans. We where greeted at the front door by Lamar who picked up right away that our group was there for some fun!!! While we where checking in, Larmar went and got Champagne for our group on the house. Wow, What a way to start our vacation!!!!!! Check in was a breeze and our rooms where all ready . The rooms are nice size rooms with a small balcone with a garden view. We booked our rooms thur Priceline and got a super deal. All of the staff at the marriott was very friendly and willing to do anything they could to make our stay the best. There was plenty of room on the beach with most days 4 rows of beach chairs. Sarah rocked on the beach to ensure we had a great time. Each day they have a drink of the day on special and then Happy hour from 4-6pm everyday with 2 for 1 specials. Strawberry Shortcakes are the best drink on the islands. Service was excellent all throught the Hotel and our stay. We had a blast during our stay. Thanks to the staff at the Marriott for great times.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank islandbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Grand Cayman is a great vacation spot. The water is crystal clear. I suggest purchasing snorkeling equipment because you can jump in the water any place an be near a reef. There is pleny of snorkeling along the Mariott beach but I suggest traveling to Cemetary Beach. It is a few miles down the road but it is well worth it. Don't forget to visit Stingray City. It is a must.

Staff at the hotel was nice. Breakfast is pretty expensive. I suggest eating outside of the hotel.

Stayed April 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

My Husband and I stayed here in the middle of March 08. We stayed 7 nights in a king courtyard room. I found the courtyard to be more lovely than I expected. Quite a few nights we enjoyed cocktails on our balcony over looking the palm trees, tiki torches and turtles that live in the pond. I would stay in the courtyard even if I was offered a full ocean view. My only complant about the property was the smell of the AC unit. I didnt realize the island would be so humid being that it's so flat. The air unit smells a little musty but they must battle it constantly down there.

I loved the beach!! We would just walk for hours at night. The snorkling right off the beach was so much fun, but we went down the street and bought our own stuff for 30 cayman dollars because Red Sails gear was pretty bad.

We ate in both the resturants at the hotel. Both did a fabulous job. The food was great.

Drinks are pricy so we went to the store and stocked up our mini fridge.

The only draw back I could see would be getting a room on the construction side. If you want a great time confirm your reservation directly with the Hotel (I heard lots of room mix ups) and avoid those negative people who complain. Because this place is lovely and small and romantic and if you dont love it then it's you.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — smell of the ac unit
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GophMoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
311 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing