We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost changed reservations due to bad reviews I read on hear..Thank God we didn't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost changed reservations due to bad reviews I read on hear..Thank God we didn't”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Going to try and make this short and simple.
A couple of us go away once a year w/OUT the kids. We have stayed at several Marriott properties because we are Platinum members. Ok with that said. I love this site and read several bad reviews on this property which made me so nervous we almost switched hotels last min.... Ok Thank God we didn't because this hotel was great......
It's not super big and yes the pool is small (never used it once) but let me tell you the location is great and beach is beautiful! We had 6 of us in our group and every morning we found chairs together. Breakfast buffet was great and I barely ever eat breakfast. Lunch at the outside bar was great! Tuna salad..yum..Staff was so nice ZORTAN my buddy was very friendly. Hotel room wasn't as bad as everyone says. The beds and sheets were super comfy! You could walk to the store stock up on alcohol or anything else you need. Which we did.

I would wake-up in the morning go down to the beach grab a Bloody Mary then walk out YES walk out in the water/ocean without getting face wet to the floating raft and pass out until everyone else came down. The water and the weather was BEAUTIFUL!
I was a huge fan of the floating rafts and the 4 circular floating loungers. We were all in the water sometimes until 6:00 drinking snorkeling and just having a great relaxing time. Oh and the sunset was Awesome.
You could also snorkel right off the beach. 15.00a day to rent "used" snorkel gear or 40.00 to buy "NEW"snorkel gear. Just buy it. I used my husbands every day. They have a really cool man made reef with cool fish too.

If you want to just chill out in the ocean on a raft w/a cocktail at a nice hotel this place is for you. Yes the food is a little pricey but are on vacation so if your going to COMPLAIN about the $ money go eat at the Wendy's down the street.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Juli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,015
    1,425
    316
    154
    70
See reviews for
1,617
2,145
126
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southfield MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel delivered a "wedding to remember". Staff is the most international we have encountered and they were all outstanding. One of our group had a "housekeeping" issue but otherwise we were extremely pleased with the level and quality of service. The "Kids Program" was great for the little one. The rooms could use a little updating, particularly for the price, but the overall property is beautiful. We would definitely add this to any "Bucket List"!

Room Tip: Oceanfront top floor give you the least amount a traffic around you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAGladySouthfieldMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

In years of international travel and many trips to Grand Cayman I have never encountered such a universal attitude of hospitality and service from a hotel staff. In every area from front desk to food service to housekeeping the staff was friendly, accommodating and solicitous
The hotel's physical attributes are not extraordinary but offer good value for money in an expensive area. The location is very good. It is close to Georgetown but far enough out on Seven Mile Beach to be remote from the downtown environment. Food was high quality.

Room Tip: First floor rooms pool side are extremely convenient with ocean views and easy access to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Check in procedure is lengthy. It took over 3 hours and would have been longer if I didn't complain.

Aside from that everything was fine. The hotel could use some upgrades such as new Chaise Lounges and Umbrellas on the beach. They should also rake the beach and remove rocks that have come ashore. On many islands the beaches are groomed earyy in the day. The rocks are uncomfortable to get to the water. Once in the water, it is great.

We were celebrating our 45th anniversary and on arrival went to see Arlene Sperandeo who is the Vacation Planner. What a sweetheart she is. SShe made arrangements for a tour, rental car and best of all our anniversary dinner at Casanova's in Georgetown. All of the above were perfect. To top that off, she had champagne and strawberries sent to our room to celebrate. ARLENE YOU ARE SPECIAL.

All in all, we would recommend this hotel. It is on a beautiful beach with great sunsets, and the staff is 1st rate.

Bill

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The resort is comfortable and relaxing, with sizeable guest rooms and patios. Even though the resort was nearly full, there were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beautiful beach. Beachside food and beverage service was excellent; with great attitudes, prompt delivery, and nicely prepared food. Additionally, the entire staff was outstanding. The only reason for the four star rating, rather than five stars, is due to the less than savory food and long wait time from inside the hotel. My husband and I tried the restaurant for dinner twice, the lounge area for sushi once, and a final lunch in the bistro area, and all the meals were extremely slow to arrive, and the food sub par. However, the breakfast buffet is excellent, and the Manager, Carlos, took extraordinary care with us, including the server, Michael. On another positive note; it was our second wedding anniversary, and when I rang up to confirm the reservation, I communicated this, and we were delighted to find complimentary sparkling wine and strawberries waiting in our room upon arrival. This is a lovely resort with polite patrons and staff, creating an atmosphere where one can truly relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelingtutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stay in Marriott hotels for business, and this was my first stay in a Marriott "resort". If you are looking for a resort experience, this is not it. The property is a nice Marriott hotel with a beach; there are few resort-style amenities. Overall, I had a great four nights there, but I want to outline the +/- below.

Positives: The staff is, overall, friendly, helpful, and really fun to talk to (Daniel at the front door, Julie at the indoor bar are two that stood out). If you have platinum status, you receive a packet with some useful coupons for purchases on the property and some other deals. The tropical courtyard outside is lovely in the evening. There were plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas (May 24th weekend). The water is perfect, and the floats out in the water were so great to lounge in. I also loved that the hotel didn't play music super loudly around the pool area like some places do.

Negatives: If you are looking for an incredible room, this property isn't the right place for you. I heard rumor that the property will be updated in August/September this year, and the rooms could definitely use a face lift. The lighting in the bathroom is horrendous (it is very dark in there!). Rooms are a golden yellow color, the drapes are showing age. For being a beach resort, the decor doesn't suggest it. It's the same color palette as the Marriott in Houston or Detroit. The food and drink cost at the property was way higher than expected (especially since prices are listed in Cayman dollars, which are worth more than USD). Two mixed drinks on the beach was $30, and they were pretty watery.

The most frustrating and un-resort moment was when I asked for a bandaid and a few extra from the front desk. The guy (Nico) looked at me and said I had one extra which should be sufficient. I know I am 25 years old and don't look important, but you don't tell a platinum member who spends 100+ nights with your company a year she can't have a few bandaids. Regardless, we are talking bandaids at a place where one night is $250. Unacceptable.

Room Tip: I had a courtyard view room, which was lovely, especially at night. 505 faces inward to the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kait414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Most staff courteous; front desk very responsive. The property is a 'dive' located on the most rocky part of 7 Mile Beach. Our dresser drawers would not close completely, false panel in the bathroom fell out! Wall sconces in hallway have damaged shades and the whole place from the front door throughout the property is in very poor condition. Bathrooms are dim and ugly. Best part is free Internet access in the lobby. Solana Restaurant food is average but with very slow & inattentive foreign staff. The Asian greeters there hardly speak English. Breakfast (inside) is about $23.00 but cafe across the road to the left serves a great menu from $5.00 during the week that's just as good. Outside bar makes watery drinks (for tourists) and charges for xtra shot if you just want a 'standard' drink. I complained to the manager and they did adjust the bill. Their foreign barmen need to do the island course because they do NOT know how island drinks are supposed to taste. I would never recommend this property if aesthetics are important to you. The walls are paper thin and you can hear people in the next room and rowdy ones below your balcony, shouting as they pass. Not a place for R&R.

Room Tip: Not worth the extra $$ to face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing