We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel from April 25 to April 29 and we love it. We were able to either walk or catch the local bus to just about everywhere we wanted to go. The bus passed in front of the hotel and it was 2 CI each way (approximately $2.50 USD per person). Each night that we were there the hotel had different themed dinning nights. The hotel beach has its own man made reefs which is good for snorkeling. The rooms were as expected for a Marriott property.

Room Tip: If you are unable to get a beach front room, then request a court yard view. The other rooms look t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abrownkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,563
    1,342
    298
    141
    65
See reviews for
1,406
1,890
111
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife daughter and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Marriott (room 507- Courtyard View), and would like to share some points about the property, it's location, and the island in general. OK, here we go:

First of all, be ready for some crazy sticker shock on taxi fares!!! $20-$25 from the airport for a 10 min. drive!! The prices for cabs are outrageous in general, and they seem to change w/every driver.... Arrival was pleasant, cordial and efficient. The Property's location is on the far Southern end of 7 mile beach. In fact the sand actually comes to an end (as you enter the water) only a few steps to the left (facing the Ocean) from the Hotel. Having said that, you can walk just a few minutes to the right (facing the water) and enjoy wide and relatively peaceful beach, as there is only a small condo development adjacent to the property. Also Note: the beach gets significantly wider just a 10-15 min. walk to the right (where you'll find the Ritz).

Breakfast was EXCELLENT both at the buffet AND the Solana (outside ala Carte). Good selections of breads, cheese, cold cuts, fruits, juices, cereals, cakes, Oatmeal and Omelet station sure to satisfy every palate. If you opt to sit outside, and are health conscious, make sure to get the "Solana" juice mix, and the Egg White Frittata!!! Both were EXCELLENT. On this note, I would like to make special mention of LEO and his manager CARLOS. Both were absolutely delightful in the morning, and accommodated every request with a sincere smile and promptness/professionalism belonging to a 5 star property.... Great job guys!

Room was average but confortable both in terms of mattresses and temperature. Last evening did NOT get turn down service, so we had to make do w/semi-wet towels from the morning.... No chocolates, or slippers here I'm afraid :-)

If possible, please indulge in the Caribbean night! Excellent food selections (esp. the seafood), good entertainment/music and excellent service. In fact, they ran out of the "glutten free" choc. mousse, and the chef in charge (forget the name and misplaced the card :( made a point to send TWO to my room the following night w/a personal card attached. Gracious gesture, clearly indicative of pride in/and customer care... Bravo.

Do try snorkeling to the left of the property, as the rock formations just a few yards out (to the left), will give you some great surprises (sting ray, turtle, angel, clown, parrot fish etc..)

Courtyard rooms could get noisy, so if you can afford it, do Ocean Front. Do buy some rum cakes from the gift shop as the prices there are reasonable :-)

Hope this helps! KS

Room Tip: High floor Ocean View if Possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SayafK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with my husbands work for an Achievers Club trip for 3 nights in April. Coming from Seattle, it's a long way to go for 3 nights...but after getting there and enjoying the great service and beach we couldn't complain! The company my husband works for had worked it out to be an all-inclusive plan, and the Marriott did an excellent job! The service was amazing...and they pretty much brought you whatever you asked for. The same servers were there morning and night working extra long hours but always had a smile on their faces. It isn't a big resort, it's quite small. There is only one small pool, but we didn't use that anyway. The beach is small but beautiful. The beach is where we hung out. Beautiful sand and clear warm water...with lots of fish swimming through! My kids would have loved it! And they had plenty of beach umbrellas that a worker was happy to bring to you and put up. Our room was good size with a great view of the beach and pool. Our only complaint would be that we had 2 double beds instead of a King and the beds were a little too soft. BUT the view made up for it, and we didn't want to give up our view for a king size bed. The food was all very good too...really Yummy salads and shrimp! And try the Grouper, it's delicious. The location was pretty good too...easy walk to a mall or convenience store and probably about 20+ minute walk to town. Overall a super trip and I would highly recommend the Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWCW2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were very disappointed staying at this resort. For a Category 7 hotel, we felt like we were staying at a Courtyard. I don't know how they can say they have a spa. There is no locker room, no steam room, no sauna, no jacuzzi. You change in your treatment room. The masseuse decided to neglect my needs and just went about what she wanted to do. At one point I called housekeeping and the front desk and no one answered either call. Check in was slow. Not prepared for rush of people that come with flight arrivals. We left after one night to the Ritz Carlton. The bed and pillows sucked. The hotel truly needs to be given a face lift and renovation.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ritz Carlton for an amazing experience. Worth every extra dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It was our second stay at this hotel, this time it was fully booked and we got room 202, with rusted bath and paint in the bath top was pilling, I do not think that it should be normal for Marriott resort, I did bring this to manager's attention, we were transferred to another room 2 days later ( and we lost half a day waiting while new room will be cleaned, any other day our rooms were cleaned at 10-10:30 AM, but they made it ready only at 3 PM) and had to remind Angelica a few times.No proper apologies.
Beach not as nice as other places, rocks...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The reason this hotel doesn’t get 2 stars is for its staff, which is very nice, professional, and attentive, and the location on the 7 mile beach. The rooms are in dire need of updating. Our first room (200) was next to the stairwell with the doors slamming from early morning to late in the evening. The mattress was old and uncomfortable. The bathtub has chipped and rusting in several places. We asked to be moved to a different room, but it took 2 days and several reminders before this was done. Our new room (264) unfortunately wasn’t much better. The mattress was a bit better, however the bathtub was in a similar condition, the air conditioner didn’t function properly, and there was a smell of dampness. In fact, all of our clothes became damp after a few days, and nothing would dry off in that room.
On a positive side, both rooms were good size, with tables and sitting areas, a mini-refrigerator, a coffeemaker, and a balcony.
The breakfast buffet was excellent, and a small café next to the restaurant had a good selection of breakfast pastries, cereals, etc. They also make very nice pizzas at lunch time. Wi-fi internet was available everywhere (for a fee unless you are a Gold/Platinum member), although it was slow at times. There’re also computers with free internet available in the lobby, which was definitely a benefit for many. The hotel has an Avis desk in the lobby, and we were able to change our existing reservation from airport pick up to hotel pick up, and still drop off at the airport at no extra charge.
While the beach of this hotel is not very large, the artificial reef very close to the shore provides a nice opportunity for snorkeling, with fish often coming right to the shoreline.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel met our expectations. The staff was pleasant, the room was comfortable, and the food served on the beach was good. I had seen some complaints about the "ocean view" or lack thereof, so we opted for a courtyard view. This turned out to be an excellent decision. it doesnt appear that any room at the hotel has an ocean view worth the addd expense. or any expense for that matter. However the courtyard has a fish\turtle pond with lots of palm trees shading the area.

i also saw some comments saying there is little to no beach. There was plenty of space in our opinion, even though the hotel was full. Also, the hotel,sits on 7 mile beach, so there is alot of beach to walk upon. having sufficient beach access is important, because the pool is small and could not be more dull.

Room Tip: Dont pay the additional fee for the ocean front room. Also, although the ground-level rooms have sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#5 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,331 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
#4 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 389 WestBay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing