We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not given what I had paid for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Paid for an oceanview room but was given a lean over the rail to see the ocean handicap room. Which was the view of the drive between the hotel and the condos next door used by the delivery trucks. When we went back to the front desk and asked to be changed to what we had paid for 3 different times was told they could not help us. Also asked to be moved to a garden view room and be refunded the difference that was also denied. This was a disappointment since these reservations were made nearly a year ago and paid in full in the tune of $2500.00 for 5 days just for a room. I was not happy with the Marriott Grand Cayman staff. I would rate the manager of the reservation staff a 1 out of 5. Once they have your money they are done. I would probably never pay in full again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phylliszak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,658 - 3,664 of 5,348 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Marriott Grand Cayman on Seven Mile Beach in Grand Cayman is a great place to stay! The hotel is clean and very current on decor. I loved the availability of restaurants and food stations. The grounds, pool area and beach were all beautiful and very spacious. Food was great too. But most of all the staff was beyond friendly. I have never stayed at a resort anywhere before where the staff was nicer and more polite than the staff of the Marriott and I have visited many places in the Carribean, Mexico and Hawaii, staying at big resorts. Everyone from the front desk, housekeeping, maintenance staff to the servers and bar tenders were as kind as could be. A friendly hello every time you would pass anyone of them. The servers at the Solana restaurant, the pool area and the bar in the main lobby were the people we came in contact with most and they could not have been nicer and more friendly. Their cheery attitude made our vacation even better. Two servers in particular were great and just wonderful to our family. Ollie and Hannah waited on us often and were nice every time we spoke with them. I know these servers work long hours (because we would see them both day and night a lot) and every time we spoke with them they were as nice as they could be. We really enjoyed visiting with both of them. They truly represented the Marriott Company well with their wonderful demeanor and kindness as did the entire staff for our stay. I would definitely recommend the Marriott and hope to someday return there again.

Room Tip: While our room did not have a good view (faced a hotel next door) I thought it was very accommodatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Marriott Grand Cayman Resort and couldn't be happier that we chose this resort. We arrived at the hotel late in the morning, and check in isn't until 4 pm. We were handed fruit punch to take the edge off of the check in process and were given a cell phone so that they could contact us when the room was ready. We proceeded to the one of the restaurants on the property at the beach, had a great lunch, and within 90 minutes or so, our phone rang--the room was ready. From this first interaction we knew that we were going to have a great vacation.

Overall, the best part of our vacation was a combination of perfect weather (mid 80s) and perfect treatment by the Marriott staff. From Davina (concierge), to Ollie who seems to work with ease in any of the resort's restaurants/poolside to Julie at Balboa's, to Ravi at the Red Parrot, the staff always had smiles on their faces and were ready to take care of us in every way possible. Unbelievable service from all of the above-named employees as well as countless others. Not once did we receive anything but "service with a smile."

Yes, as others have noted, the hotel is in need of an upgrade, which is scheduled to begin in August of 2013 and will take two years. However, the hotel is in fine condition, so don't let this imminent refurbishing lead you to wait until the upgrade is complete to visit here.

We liked that the pool is at the beach and it is all at the hotel. Very convenient. The pool is small and the number of lounge chairs which are at the edge of the pool and face the ocean are few (maybe a dozen). In order to claim one of these coveted chairs, we arrived between 6 and 6:30 am. However, if you are not up at that hour (we are early risers) there are plenty of other lounge chairs on the beach and at the pool for you. The beach is smaller at the hotel's location and widens as you walk along Seven Mile Beach, but that was fine with us. The water was warm and was great for snorkeling at Marriott's beach.

The food was impressive. We are picky eaters and ate most of our meals at one of the restaurants for every meal and never came away disappointed. Very tasty and fresh.

Davina, the concierge, set us up with Cayman Safari for a one day trip around the island. It was well worth the $94 per person as Mike, an American who has been on the island for twenty years, is great and knows the island like the back of his hand. What a fantastic day with him.

As we were on Cayman at the end of their dry season (winter, March 2013), there were no mosquitos-- a real treat since my wife seems to attract them with ease on nearly every holiday we go on.

That is our summary of the Marriott on Cayman. If you want to do anything else besides tanning at the beach, swimming, snorkeling, and scuba, Cayman might not be for you. We took a taxi to George Town during one of our first evenings ($9 each way) and found that the shops close at 5 pm! They are open mainly for the visitors from the many cruise ships which come to Grand Cayman. We returned the next day, to find souvenir shops mainly, with watches and perfume if that is your thing. Not for us. Not a town we would spend more than a few minutes in, which was a disappointment, as we do like to shop while on vacation. There are shops/restaurants at Camana Bay, which is a development across the street from the Marriott, which had nicer shops, but there aren't that many, so after a couple hours you are done. But, we went to Cayman for the sun, and this lack of shopping didn't matter to us much.

Visit Grand Cayman at the Marriott. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Our room had a partial ocean view which was great. With an ocean view, I think you would have to lis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bacchus711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent hotel with exceptional food in the Solana restaurant. The Grouper was my favorite and all lunches were delicious. Nice beach, but sometimes crowded around the hotel. The friendliest and most helpful staff we have ever met. A special thanks to the early morning team in the Balboa lounge serving the grab and go breakfasts (awesome banana bread) - Julie, Jennifer and Amy (especially Julie - your sense of humor was much appreciated!). Also, thanks Brando for making us smile. The Buccaneer evening was a really fun experience with interesting and tasty Caribbean food. A bit expensive but worth it watching the children have so much fun.

Our room was on the side of the hotel and we faced the wall of the next hotel. We could see the beach if we leaned over the balcony. Choose a courtyard or ocean side room if you can. However, the room was very comfortable with all amenities. The room was always cleaned promptly with friendly housekeepers.

Grand Cayman felt safe and was very easy to get around. The mini buses came every few minutes and were cheap with friendly helpful drivers. We enjoyed Camana Bay especially the restaurant Ortanique for a delicious lunch.

Great Vacation, perfect weather and superb location for the Marriott for all the tourist destinations such as the turtle farm, the museums and shopping. Would return....

Room Tip: Need to have a courtyard room or ocean view. Rooms on the side face the next hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraK97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is the place to stay on Seven Mile Beach! The Resort is simply fantastic for several reasons. The first is the Staff, the best I have seen anywhere and I've been everywhere. The second is the Food, the Best on the Island, no need to go anywhere else, we tried the other top recommended restaurants but the food and service at the Marriott were better in each category. The all-you-can-eat Caribbean Lobster night is phenomenal. The ocean front room we had was elegant and literally just about hanging over the ocean with a fantastic view of the beach and Sunset. Carlos, the F&B supervisor will make sure everything is perfect in terms of dining, he's the go-to guy for everything. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ocean View is exactly what the say and is worth the extra dollars. Don't do partial ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the staff is fantastic. We loved the outdoor restaurant with live music. It's walking close to other restaurants as well. Their beach has to be the best. We walked the entire distance of the beach from our hotel to Cemetary Beach & feel as though Marriot's man made reef provides the best place to snorkle. It was fantastic to relax on the beach & then jump in to explore some exotic fish just steps away all day long. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It has taken my a while to write the review, but I couldnt let another day pass without saying what a great experience I had at the Marriott.

The perception of what a hotel room should look like is based on individual taste. Are the rooms ultra modern and posh? NO
Are the rooms super clean, excellent bedding, high thread count sheets, soft pillows and good mattress? YES

The overall decor of the hotel is nice, safe, friendly staff, beautiful grounds.

Please note that I have been all over the Caribbean and hands down NO EXCEPTIONS 7 mile beach is by far the most BEAUTIFUL beach I have ever been to!!

Marriott has artificial reefs in their private beach so if you are not a good swimmer or not a swimmer at all, you can easily walk to the reefs and just sink your head down ( with a mask of course ) and be able to see all sorts of amazing fish. It is crazy beautiful!!!! The water is crystal clear just like swimming in a pool. The sands are white and soft. You can literally walk for blocks of what looks like desserted beach and for exactly 7 miles that is all you will encounter. CRYSTAL CLEAR WATERS just like in a beach commercial, except that this is not a commercial, it is real life beauty!

If you have never been to the Cayman Islands, I would highly recommend the Marriott...and will tell you to get ready for the most beautiful beaches in the world!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgeerosado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
396 reviews
19.2 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $473 - $985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort makes you feel right at home. All of the spacious 295 guest rooms at our Grand Cayman resort have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar - a perfect place to end the night in the Cayman Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing