We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Caribbean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Typical Caribbean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My experience here is probably best described as indifference. Would I remember anything about this place? Probably not. I was here for three weeks on a work assignment. The hotel is not far from George Town. Westin and the Ritz are further but there are more restaurants by those hotels and the beach is nicer. My room didn't have a kitchenette so it was not good for a long term stay, and the Internet was expensive. I can't believe that we still have to pay for the Internet in this day and age.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Nakara,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our hotel is indeed conveniently located on Seven Mile Beach and very close to the many shops and Corporate Business Offices in George Town. We understand that Internet should be complimentary in this time and age, and we are still awaiting directions from Marriott Corporate to extend this amenity to our guests. In the meantime, we have upgraded our bandwidth and dedicated 40megs solely for our guests. Thank you again for sharing your comments, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for either leisure or business so we can prove to you we strive to deliver optimal level of service to all of our customers.
Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,973
    1,413
    316
    153
    70
See reviews for
1,599
2,118
125
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,465)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The idea of the Cayman Islands (at least the TV ads) and the Marriott website pictures were enough for us to click on this hotel based on a lot of prior Caribbean and Marriott experiences. But it was at best an OK visit. The Caymans are nearly devoid of any local culture and all the staffs of everyplace were a melting pot kind of like being on a cruise ship. So nothing all that charming about the facilities anywhere. You could have been on any island. The Marriott itself is tired, a bit dark and crowed in terms of the pool area and beach. The pictures are very well done but don't convey the 'real' picture. The water off the beach was very shallow so OK if you wanted to snorkel but you have to go out over a reef to get to water you can't stand up in. While the staff tried we seemed to experience more than our fair share of minor inconveniences like our electronic door pass not working almost every day. The Gym area has decent equipment but is very limiting in terms of what you can do...most aerobic only. Unless you really like to hike along a busy roadway (with sidewalk) there is really nothing to walk to that's close. Any cab ride <1mile is $10 USD. The entire property is a bit worn (in good repair) but in need of a facelift. Room Service turned out to be the best part of the entire visit. Very good food, generous portions, well presented and a value relative to eating elsewhere. The hotel tries to have themed events but everyone is a bit stuck in a deep groove on them and they were pricy for what you received. In fact everything at the hotel was pricy and they could give you he room for less and still make out.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel unless you can afford an ocean front...the partial views are weak and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear John L,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. I am sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and your stay was not what you had anticipated. I agree with you, we do have a diverse team which actually set our unique service experience apart from the others. As you can see in many other reviews, all of our Associates have 1 thing in common despite they are from different backgrounds and this is their passion to deliver exceptional service to our valued guest. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to serve you again.

Sincerely
Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I joined my girlfriend in GC as part of a recent conference. I have stayed in many Marriott/Ritz Carlton Resorts and found this one to be below standard. The rooms were ok and of a good size but the overall service levels were lacking. Check in took far too long and requests that were made had not been properly documented. In one case we had to request a shower chair 4 times before actually receiving it. We had paid up for the "all inclusive package" however the restaurant with outdoor seating has theme nights that involve a surcharge. My GF and I joined friends on the patio for dinner unaware that it was lobster night. We were not interested in lobster night and our friends had already started their lobster dinner so we asked if we could order from another menu of even the small bar menu. The answer was no and we were forced to move about 20 feet over to the bar area where we were ignored by the barman. He indicated that he is not allowed to leave the bar if there is a guest standing at it. The other restaurants at the resort do not have outdoor seating - and we really did not want to spend such a warm and lovely night indoors. The hotel had the chance to wow us by accommodating our simple request but instead found reasons to say no.

Finally our hotel bill (and the bills of other in the conference) required careful scrutiny as there were many errors. Overall many of the staff there were quite pleasant however they didn't have a problem saying no. The food was decent and the beach lovely but narrow, super crowded with too many beach chairs in close proximity.

Room Tip: We asked for a poolside room which they said it was at check in, but it didn't face anywhere nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMtorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear SAMtorontoON,

I regret to learn that we did not meet your expectations and you were not pleased with the service provided. Rest assured that guest satisfaction is our top priority and we will review the service points you cited and try our best to improve them in order to avoid them from happening to our future guests. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd trip to Grand Cayman - staying with Marriott. They did not dissapoint....this time we also brought along out 3 adult children and they just loved it. During the tail of our trip, Storm Nemo blew into JFK and cancelled our flight out for two days. The Marriott was so helpful in extending our stay and helping us get in touch with our airline - they turned a stressful situation into an easy fix. We just love how accomodating everyone is, from the front door attendants, to the check-in clerks, to our room attendants and the all the guys & gals on the beach and bar. We just loved them all. A special shout out to Courtney & Dexter for making sure I never "fried" on the beach - making sure I always had an umbrella! Thank you to everyone for making this another memorable trip! See you soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrzeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had the most wonderful time at the Marriott Resort Grand Cayman. From arrival at the front desk to the staff all around the hotel, everyone takes pride in what they do. We had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean. Just perfect. Davina made our anniversary special by just remembering and sending us Champagne and strawberries, Courtney has great knowledge of the island and its environs,we cant wait to come back and check out the places he recommended.
Kathryn has such a love of what she does, her enthusiasm is infectious!I look forward to someday bringing our grandson so he can be a part of her kids activities (even though us adults got involved as well... Great smores and fireside evening Kathryn and Courtney!!! ) The buccaneers night was great fun, the food was delicious and the staff must be commended on all there hard work and the pride that they showed Even coconut man!!!!.
Mornings getting coffee from Julie... she always knew we needed "two to go" so we could take our morning walk on the beach. the staff around the pool, Dexter, Ariel, courtney I wish i could remember all of your names, and the those working the towel hut and snack area. the waitresses serving drinks poolside and beachside always a smile!!
It was a pleasure to walk or take buses everywhere on the island and know we had a perfect place to come back to night or day and day after day. We look forward to our next visit real soon!!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront was great but the courtyard rooms are very nice as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2rove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at this Marriott before and after our trip to Cuba. We were upgraded to an oceanfront room on the 5th floor on our last night - wow, what a great view over the Caribbean and the most beautiful sunset! The hotel is not the youngest, but staff work hard to keep it in tip top condition. The complimentary rum punch upon arrival is a nice touch. The staff were so very friendly - especially at reception, the housekeepers and the bellmen. The spa staff were friendly and chatty - had a good laugh whilst getting a pedicure. We like walking and was able to walk easily to George Town and the nearest supermarket, Kirk. The food & beverages were a bit on the pricey side, but pretty standard for any hotel in Grand Cayman. The beach was nowhere to be found due to severe erosion, but there were plenty of loungers scattered around the pooldeck and a very handy cold water station for all to use. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Oceanfront and high up - if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaLisa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Marriott / Cayman the week of Feb.2, The staff could not be more welcoming from the moment we arrived, and bent over backwards to address any concerns we had. The room was comfortable, could use some updating, the mattress was very comfortable. We found Davita, Reservation Agent, most helpful, she is a wonderful asset for Marriott and all the guest that stop at her desk. Her restaurant recommendations were always spot on, she made all of our reservations for the week, since we did not rent a car she mapped out the best way to get where we wanted to go. On our day of departure we had flight plans during the blizzard, she helped us get another flight to a city accepting flights. I look forward returning to this wonderful resort again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mct12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 389 WestBay Road, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing