We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place for Our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place for Our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I spent six nights here on our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier about our choice of resorts. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We even got a complementary glass of champagne each and a cheese plate because it was our honeymoon. The restaurant (Solana) also gave us a few little freebees. The vacation counselor was great as she helped us arrange our trips out to the Stingray Sandbar and the Dolphin Swim. She also recommended a great restaurant (Agua). The front desk was great about making reservations for us so we wouldn't incur a charge for making phone calls.

The property was very pretty. The courtyard area is a really peaceful place to sit and enjoy a book or cup of coffee. There are tons of turtles and iguanas running around. All of them are friendly. We really enjoyed the beach front as wait staff from the Sol Bar came around and served drinks. The location of the resort is great as it is central to the west side and seven mile beach.

Overall, the staff was really nice, the property was pretty clean and welcoming, and each place we ate at on the resort had great food. The beds were so very comfortable and we slept well each night. I'd highly recommend this place when considering a vacation to Grand Cayman.

Room Tip: We had a beach view room, which was very nice. I think the view from the courtyard rooms would be re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jairy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Jairy G,

Thanks for sharing your kind comments about your stay at the Grand Cayman Marriott. Our Vacation Planners are fantastic and give great tips which helps to maximize your time and have a memorable vacation. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our upgrades. We indeed created the Courtyard for a place to relax and disconnect during your stay. Our French Chef, Anthony Le Pape puts a lot of focus and energy to provide great food (one of the best on island). I am happy to see that you enjoyed it as well. We appreciate your comments and looking forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,506
    1,319
    296
    140
    65
See reviews for
1,374
1,856
109
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We decided at the last minute to make a 5 day trip down to Grand Cayman. We booked with the Marriott because we have always had good luck staying with them in other locations. Our trip was fantastic! Rooms were nice and location on the beach was amazing. Nearly every morning, Marisela delivered our breakfast and she was so pleasant and kind. She set a good mood for our entire day. We also enjoyed spending time at the bar on the beach and inside the lobby as well. Lisa and Angela were our favorite bartenders and we looked forward to "bellying" up to their bar almost every evening. The employees level of service goes above and beyond. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pf8391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear pf8391,

Wow! What a title for your review. When we see comments like this, all the staff at Grand Cayman Marriott feels contented. We strive to provide optimal service and when we come to work, we endeavor to only deliver the best service to our guests. I will pass on your compliments to Lisa and Angela. They are great Bartenders and will be delighted to know you were pleased with their service.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Overall, this hotel is very nice- the service is almost flawless. One of the front desk staff learned it was our anniversary and had wine and cheese sent to our room. They all made us feel very welcome and were friendly. The hotel is clean, grounds are clean and pretty.

This is a very expensive island due to the exchange rate and taxes. I thought that the food and beverage prices at our hotel were horribly inflated compared to other Marriotts we've stayed at, so we ventured out for meals. Fortunately the resort is located close to many other more reasonable restaurants and bars. We were able to leave the resort beach for a reasonable and healthy lunch in under an hour.

The size of the grounds and beach versus the number of guests was a challenge if your idea of a beach vacation is pure solitude. Also, there were so many screaming kids running around that was very annoying to me. (If you prefer not to be around so many annoying families w/ obnoxious little kids, and you like a lot of space on the beach, check out the Marriott St. Kitts.) Part of the issue is that the beach was eroded during Hurricane Ernesto, but it is coming back.

Overall, this is a very nice property and some of the best customer service we've ever had. We would like to come back after the renovation and will be careful to book during a time when it's not so crowded.

Room Tip: Partial beach rooms were good for us. The full view rooms were very close to the pool and beach, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerzeeeyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear JerzeeeyGirl,

Thank you for sharing your review. I am glad to see we made your Anniversary a special one once we became aware of it. We empower our staff to find out the purpose of our guests stay and make the occasion memorable. The Front desk staff sending you the complimentary amenity was just a special touch on our service. As you mentioned about our beach, which was an issue in the past is now getting bigger every day. Losing the beach during the Hurricane months is normal for Seven Mile Beach as we have several storms and systems passing through this area. As we enter the winter season, we will constantly receive strong currents and winds from the North West which will bring the sand back. As of today when walking the beach, we can already fit 4 rows of chairs on the beach and it will continue to improve. Our Hotel renovation will be done between September and October of next year. We look forward to share the exciting changes and welcome you back to enjoy the upgrades.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflintown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our week stay at the Marriott was nothing but wonderful!!!! The staff was so friendly and helpful;really felt like home away from home.It was very clean,food was good and so was the service! We arrived days after Hurricane Sandy came through and the beach in front of the hotel had almost knee deep seaweed on it. The staff at the hotel worked for 2 days,all day bagging this stuff and hauling it away.They did an awesome job cleaning up the beach and should be applauded at their hard work! Our trip was also a business trip and they did a great job with our banquet,etc. I have to say a big thank you to Mary,who was our waitress numerous days during our stay.She was so sweet,friendly and great service.I miss seeing her smiling face! Thank you Marriott for wonderful memories that will last a life time,your hotel is beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunri68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear sunri68,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful and kind comments about our staff service. We invest almost 90 hours of Customer Service training for each Associate and I am glad to see the results in the reviews.They consistently deliver friendly and outstanding service, smiling faces and genuine hospitality. We will pass your compliments to Mary and rest assured that she will be happy that you recognized her.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Marriott in Grand Cayman, we felt like old friends. The front desk staff were amazing....very attentive and personable and responsive to our every need. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view room on the fifth floor. Our check in package included free Internet, as well as other coupons and offers especially for Marriott Elite members. Special thanks to the delightful vacation planner Genova who surprised me for my birthday with complimentary bottled water, Cayman taffy and chocolates. What a special, personal touch.
The location on Seven Mile Beach is perfect. There is no need to go anywhere else to snorkel. There is great snorkeling right off the beach. Take some bread crumbs into the water and watch the angelfish swarm to you. You don't even need to snorkel!
We did dine a few times at the beach bar, but found the service a little slow. Perhaps we were spoiled by the front desk staff. There are plenty of options within easy walking distance. The concierge is also available to make reservations. You can take a taxi to more distant restaurants or rent a car from Avis who has a station in the lobby. There are also many tour options available to see and experience more of the island.
The room was clean and comfortable. We loved the balcony with The great view, even though it was small. The beds were amazing...we both slept great. There is a small refrigerator in the room to use for drinks and snacks.
The bathroom is large, but surprisingly there are no drawers or doors that open so you can out away your toiletries. There is a hair dryer and it is plenty powerful.
We started most mornings with a walk, the enjoyed the beach and pool area for the rest of the day. The sunsets are beautiful from the beach. We also loved the courtyard with its turtle lagoon. Very peaceful with plenty of seating to enjoy the surroundings.
Overall, we were most impressed and could not have asked for a better experience for our quick sister's getaway to celebrate my birthday. Thank you, Marriott, for showing how customer service should be done!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank KSMcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear KSMcruiser,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We will pass on your compliments to Genova. I am happy to hear that she acknowledged your birthday by providing the complimentary amenity. In our upcoming renovation for next year, we are planning on addressing the drawers’ situation. We currently have 2 show rooms and we encourage our guest to have a quick peek and see what our rooms will look like. We appreciate your comments and looking forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
228 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and i just stayed at the Marriott in Grand Cayman and had a fantastic stay. It's a quick 15 minute, $20 USD ride from the airport. Requested an early check in prior to our trip and our room was ready at 1pm when we arrived. The rooms themselves were nice. It did not face the water or the atrium. I don't think i would like the Atrium because it's the main walkway to the beach and always seemed busy, and if you're on ground floor, definetly would lack privacy. The staff was very friendly and from all different areas of the world. It was shared with us that this past week and perhaps for a while they are short staffed, as they had a bit of turnover recently, but we couldn't tell. We tipped our house cleaning staff in person on our 2nd day and we had extra towels, bath mat (not towel), shampoos and lotions for the rest of our stay.

Breakfast in the hotel was good if you need traditional eggs, bacon, pancakes, ect. We didn't eat at the hotels main restaurant. Everyone's tastes are different, so i won't leave reviews. I'll just say that you must venture out and try all the different opportunities that are available. Our favorite was Agua, down the road about 1/2 mile.

When we weren't exploring the island, shopping in George Town ($12 USD taxi or $2 CID bus ride), snorkeling, jet skiiing, or hanging out with the Sting Rays, we were at the beach. Apparently the beach area at the hotel use to be much bigger, but Hurricane Ivan did a lot of destruction to the island and its beaches. Only Cayman residents really notice. To us it was paradise, 7 Mile Beach is beautiful. I recommend walking down the beach to at least where the Ritz / Westin are and then appreciate how good the Marriott is. If you want 5 rows of beach chairs and a circus like atmosphere, stay down there.

The pool is ok, plenty of chairs around it and a hot tub next to it. Most folks were on the beach. The service on the beach was awesome. If you needed an umbrella in the sand, all you have to do is ask. The wait staff on the beach was around often but not overly in your face. We always had a snack or drink by our sides when we wanted something.

The hotel does have a Spa. Ladies stuff with hair, nails, ect as well as massages. The Caymans are expensive. $1 USD = $0.80CID. Whether you're in a store, restaurant, liquor store, or taxi they'll quote you both. Every bill you get at your meal has a 15% gratuity already added. You have the option of adding more. Plan ahead and know what activities you want to do so you can stay within your budget. A Jet Ski / Snorkel safari trip rental at the hotel was $135 USD or $195 if you were to share for 1 1/2 hr excursion, just as an example. The conceirge was awesome for planning trips and making dinner reservations. Well worth working with them and providing them a nice tip. You'll get what you want for sure.

We'd go back to the Caymans in a heartbeat. What a beautiful country and wonderful people. And we'd stay at the Marriott again, no question. Hope this review helps, Enjoy your trip !

Room Tip: If you don't need an ocean / atrium / scenic view, save a few bucks and book a tradtional king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdsbiz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear jdsbiz98,

Thank you for your feedback. I agree with you, while our beach in the hurricane season is not as wide as others (but in the winter months like what we are experiencing now it gets bigger), our guest still enjoy our Artificial Reef ball which is just steps away off our property. Our guests always enjoy this amazing snorkeling activity and as previously mentioned in another review, you can take some bread crumbs and feed the different school of fishes that will surround you. We appreciate you sharing your comments and looking forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stopped here for a few days before flying to Cuba, and again upon our return from Cuba. The hotel staff were excellent, very efficient and friendly. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a sea front room for no extra charge, which had an an amazing view, especially at sunset. As other have mentioned the beach has suffered, but we found plenty of room around the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loki9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman M, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear loki9,

Thank for your kind feedback about the staff. We take pride in providing memorable stays for our guests. I am not sure if you have noticed, but most of the reviews commented on the excellent service and the friendliness of the staff. We appreciate you sharing your sharing your review and looking forward to serving you well again.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
0.9 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#4 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,297 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
Grand Cayman Beach Suites
#5 of 11 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 389 WestBay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing