We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Noticeable improvements.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Sound Golf Club

North Sound Golf Club
Book In Advance
$180*
and up
Cayman Islands North Sound Golf Course Package
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cayman's only 18-hole Championship Golf Course
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Noticeable improvements.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have made several trips to Grand Cayman since December and am very pleased to see the noticeable improvements made to the course and property over the last 5+ months. They have a new fleet of golf cars, the staff is attentive, and the practice area is very large and well maintained. Also, as mentioned in an earlier review, the greens are in very good condition and they have brand new rental sets. Feedback from the staff leads me to believe they are definitely on a good path to seeing further improvements to the property. I think this is a very good golf option for visitors and locals alike.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HBW-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    32
    16
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“only 18 hole course on island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I played this course in early february because it is the only 18 hole course on island.not cheap,with rental clubs for 2 was $450.the fairways were in very poor shape!but the greens and the green complexes were very nice. if you want to see iguanas up close this is the place to go...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Golf in Cayman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I played this course 7 times in February and March. It offers a nice challenge of both wind and water. The fairways could use a bit more grass in places but I imagine it is difficult to keep it up. The staff were friendly and helpful and the clubs for rent were excellent. It gave me a chance to try a few different types of clubs which will help when I buy my next set. Good fun and well recommended, bring lots of balls.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“North Sound Golf Club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The only 18 hole course on Cayman the North Sound Club has a superb design, with very good greens! Their fairways suffer from being a foot above sea level in many places, but overall this is a very sound golf course, with great potential. Both courses (Brittania and North Sound) just need some TLC and a little cash, but in the meantime, worth playing a vacation round on. Grand Cayman is a great destination, just not a golf destination (could be though).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Best" Golf in Cayman and getting Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

"Best Golf" is a relative term on Grand Cayman as there are only 3 courses, The private Ritz and public Britannia 9 hole courses are options. This 18 hole course is fun and greens are in great condition, the fairways not so much - mainly because carts are allowed all over the course... 90 degree rule and cart/ropes needed!! But the course is pretty and has enough water, doglegs, and directional winds to make for a fun outing. The prices are high but that is to be expected on an island where real estate is at a premium. Many iguanas roaming make for good photo ops. One true ocean hole but many lakes. The patio bar is nice has been renovated. The driving range is into water (floater balls) and the practice areas are nice. New ownership has made this a better place but need to drop the rates a little to get more weekend golfers on the course, get newer carts and a cart girl on the course to sell beer and snacks.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Sound Golf Club also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to North Sound Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing