We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great job and lot's of fun”
Review of Indigo Divers

Indigo Divers
Ranked #5 of 29 Tours in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: So you're wondering why we're not #1, right? We only accommodate six divers. Fewer divers mean less reviews - simple. A luxury dive boat, first class service, unrivalled comfort & relaxation. Everything about Indigo is handled with the care & attention to detail, that you'd expect from a truly owner-operated company. We get to know all our customers, their needs & concerns, as well as their favourite fish & critters! Fresh fruit, sodas, bottled water, cookies, towels, & blankets for those chilly surface intervals. All the extras add a touch of class to an already stylish dive trip. We strive for excellence and cater to certified scuba divers of all experience levels. Our resident instructor is Bec - with a professional yet relaxed attitude, she will work with you to overcome your fears, develop a strong skill set, & give you the confidence you need to become a great diver. Chris, Kate & Bec, love what they do and it shows - sharing their enthusiasm and comprehensive knowledge of the best dive spots Grand Cayman has to offer. Each has an excellent eye for spotting underwater life, which will satisfy even the most demanding underwater photographer. We feel that we have a top of the line operation, driven by one thing - a friendly positive attitude! So before you book that "smaller groups" dive shop - ask them 'smaller than what?'
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great job and lot's of fun”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Kate and Chris are wonderful to dive with. They are a font of information about the local area as well as the various creatures, both large and small, that you can encounter diving in Cayman. The Indigo boat is far and away the most comfortable dive boat I've even been on. And they keep to small groups making for wonderful service. I highly recommend Chris and Kate and will be diving with them again next time I visit Cayman.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodivers, Owner at Indigo Divers, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi Jim - many thanks for the review - glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing
you again next year, & hopefully we'll be able help your wife get back into diving with a little more confidence! Have a great Christmas! Kate & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome personal service”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We dived with Chris and Katie for three days over Thanksgiving and they were exactly what we were looking for. Great service, groups never over 6 people, varied diving and they changed their schedule to accommodate what we wanted to do. On top of that, their equipment is all in great shape and the boat lovely and comfortable - we'd dive with them again in a heartbeat!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendyhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodivers, Owner at Indigo Divers, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello Wendy,
It was a pleasure to dive with you, Matt and Joe. Made a nice change to have a a British majority on the boat! We'd be delighted to take you diving again, although we know you have a long 'bucket list ' of other destinations to get through! Take care & happy diving! Kate & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Most recent dive in Grand Cayman”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We dove once again with Katie and Chris of Indigo Divers! This was our 4 th excursion with them and we had an amazing time. They are unfailingly professional, safe and fun! Can't wait to go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolinadiver58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indigodivers, Owner at Indigo Divers, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for posting - Pam & Kenny! As always, its a pleasure to have you join us on board the "Cats Meow". Great diving & great company! Hope to see you next year, & bring the girls along!
Very best wishes, Kate & Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ingigo way to go”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have dove with chris and Kate several times and never disapointed,always a new adventure,this couple extremely knowledgeable of sites and diving,they make our vacation the best ever...hpoe your toe is doing better!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank froglover071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply a first class dive operation!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent 6 days diving with Chris and Kate Alpers towards the end of September, having read rave reviews about Indigo Divers. I wasn't sure whether Indigo could live up to my hopes but it exceeded them, comfortably.

Kate collected the divers each morning from our various accommodations on Seven Mile Beach and was always cheery. We then boarded Indigo Divers’ excellent dive boat, The Cats Meow, either at the Yacht Club or the West Bay dock. Kate and Chris are happy to rinse and stow their divers’ gear overnight so there is minimal lugging of kit involved.

The Cat’s Meow is – in my experience at least – an unusual dive boat in that it is small, fast, immaculate and super-comfortable. With a maximum of 6 divers on board Chris can make great time to the chosen dive sites and we were always early into the water. Entry to the water is an easy forwards or sideways roll from the back platform, and at the end of the dive Chris lifts your gear back onto the platform leaving you to climb the couple of steps up the ladder with ease. The post-dive towels/soft drinks/cookies were top notch.

In the water both Chris and Kate are excellent dive leaders – calm, relaxed and highly observant. As well as keeping a good eye on their divers, they both pointed out numerous fascinating creatures – especially the small stuff that is so easy to miss. Once they had the measure of divers’ competence they were happy to let us dive our computer restrictions/air supply without imposing fixed dive times. Being a small operation there is a flexibility and understanding of each diver’s needs that can be missing from larger outfits, however well intentioned. During the week my fellow divers ranged from newly qualifieds to some with many hundreds of hours of bottom time – Chris and Kate were unfailingly helpful and courteous to us all, offering advice and tips when appropriate.

I am already looking forward to coming back to Grand Cayman next year to dive with Indigo Divers and would heartily recommend them to divers with any level of experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dolphingirl_144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo Divers also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Indigo Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing