We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican sunset”

Coccoloba Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Description: In the mood for a margarita and ceviche with a side of ocean breezes? Say hola to Coccoloba, a mash-up of culinary influences from our own island and coastal Mexico. Here on Grand Cayman, it's rare to find a restaurant situated in the sand - and yet there you are in your swim suit sipping tequila and snacking on the best guacamole you've ever had, watching waves gently crash onto Seven Mile Beach. It has that casual flair you wish every place had, and when we amp up the music at sundown, don't be surprised if you feel like dancing on the beach.
Restaurant details
Description: In the mood for a margarita and ceviche with a side of ocean breezes? Say hola to Coccoloba, a mash-up of culinary influences from our own island and coastal Mexico. Here on Grand Cayman, it's rare to find a restaurant situated in the sand - and yet there you are in your swim suit sipping tequila and snacking on the best guacamole you've ever had, watching waves gently crash onto Seven Mile Beach. It has that casual flair you wish every place had, and when we amp up the music at sundown, don't be surprised if you feel like dancing on the beach.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Margaritas and Tacos........A lovely spot to enjoy the sunset. We had a lovely visit to Coccoloba. The perfect bar on the beach. We were taken care of by Lindsey, and Fernando. Very welcoming and great service. Drinks were very good. Fish tacos were amazing and the seafood misto was very tasty. Highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank caymananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimanshuJethi, Director of Food and Beverage at Coccoloba Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi caymananna,

Tacos, Margaritas, Beach, Sunset, Live Music. Need i say more
Seems like you and your friends had a great experience at Coccoloba and we look forward to welcoming you back and raise a toast to yet another amazing sunset.
I will definitely pass on your compliments to Lynsey and Fernando who are our stars and we are proud to have them on our team.

Regards,
Himanshu Jethi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We love coming to Coccoloba for the sunsets! Beers are $6 and you can get fancier drinks in the $10-$14 range. The dip trio is so good with salsa, guacamole, and a lime creme. I also got the seafood trio for dinner (listed as an appetizer) and I could have split it with someone else. It came with fried shrimp, calamari, and fish. It was absolutely delicious! The views are hard to beat and everyone that works there is so nice! Most entrees are around $20 or so, but appetizers are around $10.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teachersonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimanshuJethi, Director of Food and Beverage at Coccoloba Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi teachersonatrip,

Thank you very much for dining with us at Coccoloba. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and breathtaking views of Coccoloba.
I will be certain to pass your compliments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back for yet another amazing experience.

Regards,
Himanshu Jethi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

We ate here for lunch just about every day that we stayed at the Kimpton. It was very convenient if you were on the beach. Great tacos, drinks, and a terrific view.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank wamzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimanshuJethi, Director of Food and Beverage at Coccoloba Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello wamzie,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful shout out. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the experience at Coccoloba.
Hope to see you back during your next visit to Cayman !!

Regards,
Himanshu Jethi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

We showed up on taco Tuesday and unlike other restaurants that have this, they only served tacos. The tacos were unique, but very good. Service was on island time, but we weren’t in a hurry. Seating is right on the beach and there is live music. I would go back to try their full menu.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank joannea344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimanshuJethi, Director of Food and Beverage at Coccoloba Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi joannea344,

Tacos, Margaritas, Beach, Sunset, Live Music. Need I say more
Seems like you and your friends had a great experience at Coccoloba and we look forward to welcoming you back and raise a toast to yet another amazing sunset.

Regards,
Himanshu Jethi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

I frequent this restaurant when I am staying at Kimpton. This time I had the delicious ceviche two dinners in a row (prepared fresh taking into account my food allergy and arriving in its own cute bowl of ice to keep it very cold), elote, veggie wrap with salad, and pork belly tacos. Love their pina coladas and skinny margs. The service is always fast and friendly. Beautiful sunset views as well.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 474elizabethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HimanshuJethi, Director of Food and Beverage at Coccoloba Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello 474elizabethm,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful shout out. We are very proud of our Mexican cantina on the beach and fun, lively ambiance of the same.
I will pass your amazing compliments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Himanshu Jethi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coccoloba Bar & Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Coccoloba Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing