We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bottom Choice for Brunch”
Review of Hemmingway's

Hemmingway's
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Grand Cayman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bottom Choice for Brunch”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After sampling most of the brunches on island, I was very disappointed about the brunch at Hemmingway's. First of all, the food was pretty sparse in comparison to other places. The service was substandard. Our table was against a wall that made it difficult for the servers to get behind our chairs to serve our drinks. The waitress actually swore as she tried to get behind one of us. The food itself wasn't tasty at all. The roast beef was really fatty and tough. The pasta station was average. There was limited sushi. It was cheaper than other places, but I would have rather paid the extra 10 dollars to go elsewhere where the food and service was better. I was also suprised that they served Freixenet Brut, which tasted cheap and nasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Excellent”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Best dinner on the Island! My husband and I went here when we were vacationing and it was our best dinner. Very romantic atmosphere. Service was great and food excellent! I highly recommend this place. It is expensive though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunflower418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkmichael, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Great champagne brunch, whilst not up to Singapore hotel brunches standards this one was fine, great food and lots of variety champagne glass was never empty and at about forty five dollars a piece great value, excellent location we could see the sea and beach, great friendly Caribbean atmosphere with genuine Caribbean staff and not the ubiquitous Foreign staff

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed Due To Menu Change”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This one was one of my favorite breakfast spots! Not just b/c on the view but b/c the menu was a bit different then everywhere else. Unfortunately, they changed the menu, drastically and took off all the good stuff, the only thing left are the basics, that you can get everywhere else. Still a wonderful spot for sipping on a coffee or juice and gazing out into the gorgeous SMB and Caribbean waters. Good service too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cosmo189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“5 star evening”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Still very surprised this restaurant doesn’t get more accolade than it does. We dined on Saturday May 4th and have dined there on a number of occasions in the past few years. We both had the same starter and main course – a black bean/cumin combination, which was excellent. Followed by a walnut crusted snapper with warm roasted apple – outstanding. The service was very good, attentive but not overly so and the whole meal was accompanied by Mainstream [a trio of very professional musicians, who perform regularly on a Saturday evening]. Being able to dance to their music during, or after the meal made the evening even more special. The group perform at just the right kind of ambience for eating. A very talented musical trio. There is a great choice of fine dining on the island, all of which we have tried, but actually keep coming back to Hemmingways. Cost is very much south of their rivals and we have to say the food far north of what any of them can produce. On our particular night – the high tide and cool breeze made the occasion even more special [at times can be warm eating on the outside – but you can choose to eat inside]. The only disappointment for the evening was that not many people were dining – but the excellent food, entertainment and overall experience made up for that. Thank you Hemmingway's for a most lovely Saturday evening

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemmingway's also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Hemmingway's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing