We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Amazing!”
Review of Sunshine Grill

Sunshine Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy world-class casual dining with true Caribbean flair for breakfast, lunch, dinner or drinks. Our colorful poolside restaurant with award winning food at an affordable price has made the Sunshine Grill a favorite for local residents and international visitors alike. Everyday favorites include the BEST angus burgers, award winning fish tacos and island specialty drinks.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small and Amazing!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recommended by a friend, we wandered to the Sunshine Grill for lunch. It is a tiny place next to the hotel pool with screens, a few tables and a bar. There was a wait for tables so we sta at the bar to eat. The bartender was friendly and funny, trying to teach us the ins and outs fo cricket. The drinks were so well made, we each had two. We ordered the Tres Tacos which was Chicken, shrimp and fish. Each had slaw and a different sauce on it. The fish taco included meaty fish and a sweet sauce. The shrimp was slightly spicy and the chicken grilled. All three were fabulous. W cleaned our plates. If you find yourself on Seven mile Beach, this is a must stop and eat place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StacyGwendolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,204
    1,048
    254
    51
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Incredible food and really cool atmosphere”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had heard so much about the Sunshine Grill before we arrived in Grand Cayman. It did not disappoint. We ate there the most out of all the restaurants we dined during our 10 day stay. The decor was pretty cool, lots of orange, yellow and green throughout the restaurant and the waitstaff was friendly and fun to interact with. Breakfast was very good with good portions at a reasonable price. Their pancakes were excellent, the home-style potatoes were delicious. They had about 10 different types of hot sauce to choose from for your eggs. For dinner the portions were gigantic as well ! We had the Havana Chicken (which was the best chicken dish I ever had) and Chicken Quesadillas, which were very tasty. On another visit we had the Kingston Burger with the Sunshine Scramble (an deliciously inventive mixture of sweet potato fries, fried mushrooms, fried jalapenos, fried onions and french fries) and the Tostado Chicken Salad. All good ! And don't forget the mini ice cream cones after every meal. Pumpkin Ice Cream, Raspberry Ice Cream, they change flavors everyday and it's not your ordinary run of the mill vanilla and chocolate. It's a great touch at the end of a tasty meal. I recommend Sunshine Grill to anyone looking for a casual cool atmosphere with great food at a reasonable price !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qbchiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

when I arrived here I thought, omg how over rated but boy it is not, the best food and FISH TACOS EVER, the most comfiest bed and pillows and the staff are GREAT, my only minor grumble is that the bar closes at 10pm but at 9.40pm you really are made to feel that you should be leaving NOW! Highly Recommended though :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bramblelodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Terrific as always”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is our 5th trip to the Caymans and we have made it a tradition of having lunch at the Sunshine grill soon after our plane touches down.
The fish tacos and fries were excellent and paired with a caybrew Is a perfect way to start your vacation, although it's tempting to go here a few times.
They also give you small soft ice cream cone before you leave which I must say is fantastic- in fact my son passed on his so I got two- so excited!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy Tacos!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great casual restaurant to get island tacos! I love the fish tacos, blue cheese ball appetizer and calamari! It's a smaller place so it can get busy. If you don't mind waiting you are fine, but if you don't want to wait go for an early or later lunch/dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunSandStyleSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Sunshine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing